We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst service ever!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hatfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hatfield Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Worst service ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Popped in for a bit of late lunch and experienced the worst service ever! Only one guy behind the bar who had two speeds - stop and slow. No other staff in sight anywhere. I waited 15 minutes to be served and would still be standing there if a waiter hadn't come past.

After he had told me he wasn't allowed to work behind the bar I told him to go and find someone who could - and as if by magic another person quickly appeared. It then took another 20 minutes for my food to arrive at a not very busy time of the day.

The meal was nice but was not worth the hassle or the wait. Interior of the dining area tired and in need of refurbishment, tatty and worn carpets, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    147
    77
    43
    55
See reviews for
114
168
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

To start with there was no parking and the receptionist advised me to go down the road where there was a paying park. I had specifically asked about parking before making the journey. The hotel room was the Ryan Suite at £95 per night. The main door had the internal lock missing and the door framework was all split around the area concerned. We couldn’t lock the door at bedtime and anyone could have a key cut. We were considering wedging an armchair under the handle but it was becoming easier just to go home.
The curtains were all ripped and torn. The bed sheet was so creased and crumpled it was obvious that other people had slept there without the sheets being changed. My wife lifted the sheet and was almost sick at the condition of the mattress. The material was missing in large areas exposing the stuffing. It was disgusting ! We checked the other side of the bed and the mattress was even worse ! Great areas of material missing (probably rotted away). How old was this filthy mattress ?
At this point we called the General Manager who was embarrassed at the condition of the room and could only offer the excuse that the hotel was being refurbished and this was the last room. What a coincidence ! They should not have continued to use this room as it was not fit for purpose. I hasten to add that the bed was a four poster with material draped over the top. God knows what was living up there !
We had a meal earlier in the day and we thought that steak and chips with a bottle of wine should be a safe bet and the wine was OK but the glasses were filthy. They were both cloudy which was acceptable due to a dishwasher but the objects stuck on the outside of both glasses was not acceptable. The food arrived and was no better. The chips were the grottiest that I have seen.
We turned over one after another and they were all black and nasty on the underside. The chef
must have spent ages preparing them good side up.
To sum up, we travelled home on the same day arriving at 11.15 pm. I did not look forward to the journey but there was no alternative. Where else would we sleep ?
I would suggest that the Hatfield should stop letting any rooms that have not been refurbished,
The hotel should be sprayed internally from top to bottom. A handyman should be hired to fix all of the complaints including the plumbing, and finally a huge sign should be erected outside stating
“Under New Management.”

Alan Mills
Managing Director Almec EAS Ltd.

Room Tip: Try the Swan Hotel at Southwold
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at The Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your comments I would however like to make some things clear. We do have restricted parking at the hotel which is rarely full, however, on this occasion it was. The receptionist was attempting to solve this issue by informing you of alternative parking in the area. As far as the locks are concerned. The internal lock has been removed as you were informed to ensure fire regulations are adhered to. All our keys are security keys and cannot be cut without a passcode. This was also confirmed to you before you left.

This room is next on our list for renovation which is why we charge a lower price for it than our sea view doubles which are half the size of this suite. I guarantee as I said on the night in question that the sheets were clean. It was in investigating this I discovered that they had in fact not been ironed which is something I have rectified immediately. The mattress has been replaced and once the room is renovated so will the curtains. I must however confirm hat the mattress was completely covered in a protector and was in a state of disrepair and not filthy as you have stated.

The material over the four poster bed is completely clean as was the general state of the room. Regardless to this you, as per your rights, decided not to stay in this room. As a gesture of goodwill I offered you a different room which you could inspect before staying, completely free of charge. This offer you refused which was disappointing as you failed to give us the chance to rectify any issues.

Once again I thank you for bringing some issues regarding our Ryan Suite to my attention and I have rectified these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lowestoft hotels

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Went to the Hatfield for fish & chips which were excellent we have been several times and have always found them consistently good the fish is very fresh with lovely crispy batter and nice chips, decided to have salad instead of peas and the dressing was delicious would certainly recommend them

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ladybird622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

stayed in a single room (in the area on business) which i think was also above the kitchen (after reading the comment below) and was the worst room I have ever stayed in (for the cost £66 for the night). dirty pillow case, no hand towel and extremley warm. Had to sleep with the window open (although not open enough due to the pigeons outside the windows) and fan on and still too warm to sleep.
The worst part was the shower as was just a trickle and had to fill the sink with water and use the plastic cup provided to wash myself. This was not due to pressure from other uses using the showers at the same time as I was using this at 6am and was only 1/4 people in the breakfast room first thing.
the room itself was dirty and dust and debris all around the skirting board, tea stains on walls, desk/dressing table covered in sticky stains, wallpaper peeling off.
When I told the receptionist all this in the morning there was just a "sorry" and that was it. Will not be staying in this hotel again and have told other memebers of my organisation not to stay.
the facilities outside the rooms such as the newly refurbed bar/restaurant are great but the rooms are a massive let down and I would not be happy spending more than £20 on the room in question.
these rooms should not be let out due to noise/heat due to their placement and should be used for storage.

Room Tip: do not stay in the single room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R123452014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at The Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. I must start of by saying that the hotel is currently under renovation and that the single room you stayed in must have been one of the four that are awaiting this. They are being renovated very soon and the issue that arose will not be the same after this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed in a single room on the first floor. The room was very grubby, definitely needs freshening up or a seriously good clean. Only one towel which had stains on it. A sign that said complimentary water-but there was none. The room was over the kitchen and was very noisy until about 10pm...you could hear the noise from plates etc over the tv. When the tv was off you could actually hear the staff talking. I asked to move rooms because of the noise. There was only one other room available but the receptionist said it may have a problem with the toilet but i was welcome to have a look and swap if it was ok. I looked at the other room and was greeted by a bathroom full of dirty wet towels on the floor. So back to my noisy, dirty room it was. The only upside to this hotel is that the staff are friendly but the single room was shocking, i wouldn't be prepared to pay more than £25 a night for it. Nevermind the £60 to £100 that these rooms go for. Worst nights sleep in a hotel I've ever had and also the first time in my life I've ever complained in a hotel and asked to ne moved. Not impressed and wont ever stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at The Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. I must start of by saying that the hotel is currently under renovation and that the single room you stayed in must have been one of the four that are awaiting this. They are being renovated very soon and the issue that arose will not be the same after this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I was taken here for lunch on Wednesday by my fathers cousins who I was visiting for a couple of days. What a lovely place, excellent location right on the sea front and close to the town centre. The bar and restaurant is large with plenty of seating inside and outside on the terrace. It was slightly too cold to enjoy a meal outside so we opted for an inside seat! The menu is quite extensive with plenty of homely, freshly cooked meals to choose from as well as a carvery option with the normal fare! The staff were welcoming and friendly and the service was good considering how many customers were visiting. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deborahk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at The Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for such a glowing report. It is great to see customers enjoying our service and our surroundings. Hopefully soon the weather will improve and we can all be out on our sea view terrace bathing in the sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The location was excellent,on the sea front only 10 mins walk from the station and the town centre. The room was a little dated with the bath enamel chipped but it was a good sized bath with hand held shower. Plenty of towels and nice toiletries. Another good touch was 2 bottles of complimentary water by the well stocked tea making facilities. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The terrace was lovely for sitting with drinks or coffee. All of the staff that we met were very pleasant and friendly. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, Manager at The Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Many thanks for such a positive review. We are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so you should be more satisified with your bath on your next stay. Your comments will be past onto the staff, who love hearing that their hard work does not go unnoticed. We look forward to your next stay.

Regards, James Roberts (Hotel Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
22.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chiltern House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatfield Hotel

Property: The Hatfield Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Lowestoft NR33 0QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hatfield Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatfield Hotel Lowestoft
The Hatfield Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing