We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spooky”
Review of Parkhill

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lowestoft
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkhill
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spooky”
Reviewed 18 August 2008

The night I arrived down from Aberdeen, there was a mist in the grounds that sat about 3ft, giving the place a very spooky look.

I stayed here for 1 week my company tried to get me to go back to the same hotel the following week, I asked to be moved to another hotel.

The room was nice and large, but with a broken window, the staff were friendly enough but not happy in their work.

The breakfast was fine but the bar meals were pretty poor, I asked for a baked potato and got a shriveled up brown thing on a plate with an unrecognisable filling.

If you do not have a vehicle it is too far to walk to anything resembling night life, one night after working late, I had a quick meal and went up to get showered. I came down to the bar at 10pm for a nightcap to find the whole hotel in darkness and the bar shut, with nowhere to go without a taxi.

The other hotel I moved to, I was very happy with and stayed there for two months, whilst seconded to Lowestoft.

  • Liked — The room was a good size
  • Disliked — Evening meals not very great, bar was shut at 10pm on a friday night
  • Stayed October 2003, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ScottishFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    22
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
26
21
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2008

We had our wedding reception there! I had to chase them every stage of planning (and request various things several times)!

On the day, The marquee looked lovely, the food was lovely, service was ok! There were a few hiccups, i.e. they gave children i emphasised were lactose intolerant creamed mash potatoes! Despite my doing table plan with everyone's meal options clearly displayed, the meal was a littl eunorganised, and i'm sure they were serving peole wrong food as guests could not remmeber what they asked for!

Was a bit shocked that they never tidied up marquee between sit down meal and evening reception! The marquee is not so florally decorated on the day as they show on website and brochure (support beams left bare, no flowers around cake table, only tables used for sit down meal were decorated (giving it a half finished look!) Once meal done the staff were gone (heavily pregnant bride, and poor groom left to tidy away gifts, wedding cake etc at the end of the night as no staff to be seen (bar staff just cleared bar!)!

Mixed reviews from guests about rooms, family room was lovely! Bridal room, was a bit shocked fag burn in the bed cover (was old fashioned linen and blanket bedding!) Some guests said rooms were very musty, damp etc! Some guests paid more than others for their rooms! Breakfast was nice but very over-priced!

Some things were never returned - i.e. box of leftover bubbles, was given back less bottle of wine & champagne than bar staff said we'd not used! No follow up bill / letter to confirm re-imbursed some of the corkage paid etc! Or even for our feedback??

We had a lovely day regardless of these hiccups! If got to plan wedding again, certainly would have negotiated more on price for marquee, chased them on their "usual" toastmaster who'd never been to hotel before, and was not told anything about the wedding etc! Didn't meet him till at the church on the day!

We asked for tour of rooms after reding above people comments, was only shown the 4 rooms above restuarant area, it's the rooms down by the barns that need einspecting, as were ones complained of damp!

  • Liked — ours was free with hotel wedding package but was cheap for guests!
  • Disliked — guests complained of damp and charged various prices £50-£58! Our cover had a fag hole in it!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pregnewlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

Ok, this hotel has the potential to be a real winner.
Superb location, lovely grounds and what could be a superb hotel...however it falls well short.

Awful damp smell, food is average - with more than average price tag and drinks are well, overpriced...

Ok for £50 a night it's ok and you could make do with a room for a night or two, but don't eat here....

Shame...it could be a wonderful venue/hotel :-(

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoops1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2006

We stayed at the Parkhill Hotel as we were attending a wedding nearby.
It was like walking back in time 20 years and the whole hotel had a damp smell. It is in urgent need of a thorough clean, or even better, a full refurb. The breakfast is charged at £12 per person for a full English, a complete rip off and so we went elsewhere. Obviously at £50 a night we weren't expecting the Ritz but were shocked at the lack of care taken over the rooms. Ours was located well away from the main hotel and we had to go back to ask where to go as there was no signage. They look like they are repairing the outside of the building at the moment. I think they would be better off spending money inside first.
On a positive note the grounds are lovely, the staff were helpful and the hotel is well signposted from the A1117.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMIFFRIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
2.4 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
431 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.7 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
396 reviews
3.5 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhill

Property: Parkhill
Address: Parkhill, Lowestoft NR32 5DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Parkhill Hotel Lowestoft
Parkhill Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing