We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bon-Ami Guest House
Ranked #22 of 28 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Fylde.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My Wife and I recently spent a long weekend in Lowestoft, we were guests at a wedding nearby, and decided that instead of driving many hundreds of miles we would make it a long weekend over 4 days.
Our friends booked us in at the Bon-Ami and we were overjoyed with their choice. We obviously had one of the best rooms as we overlooked the seafront and promenade gardens.
The room was quite large for a guesthouse with a four poster bed and an on suite with a rather small shower cubicle, but very clean and O.K. for us.
The owners Barry & Julie Bonnamy were lovely, nothing too much trouble and they also do a very nice breakfast. The other guests staying there were friendly although you only saw them at breakfast. I understand that many professional people stay there during the week as Lowestoft is mainly a Harbour Town and work offshore. If you are visiting the area we would recommend it.

Room Tip: We had room 2, beautiful bay window with seats to watch out over miles of sea, with a lot of ships a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardFylde_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
blackpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I found my self having to stay in Lowestoft over night .Bon-Ami Guest house looked good from out side with some very nice flowers looking well after all the sun we have had had been looked after very well. So I booked in the place was very clean and I was looked after as well as she had looked after the flowers so I was very happy to start the day so good luck to then keep up the good work.no swimming pool just the sea which looked very good

Room Tip: book first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billieblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at Bon-Ami as a last minute stay when we were touring the Norfolk coast. Julie and Barry were extremely accommodating and very helpful giving us local information about the lighthouses that we were planning to visit. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfast hot and delicious. The rate was very reasonable and would definitely stay there again :-)

Room Tip: We were in room 6 which was at the rear, so if you want a view of the sea and sunrise, opt for a fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

One of the best B&Bs we've ever been to. The cooked breakfast was gorgeous and the room was fantastic value for money, ensuite with a four-poster bed. Julie and Barry were very nice and friendly, and we'll definitely come here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We have been visiting Bon Ami regularly now for about 8 years, usually a couple of times a year. Julie and Barry always make us feel as though we are at home, or visiting family members, and remember things like my food allergies and what we like to drink for breakfast without any need for a reminder, and will do anything they can to make your stay just as you want it. The room with the four-poster bed is lovely, large and airy and comfortable with a tremendous view. An added bonus in my view is the fact that a freshly cooked breakfast comes on HOT plates! I would unhesitatingly recommend Bon Ami to anyone visiting Lowestoft and am already looking forward to our next visit..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed at the Bon Ami on a one night stop-over. Julie & Barry were very welcoming and friendly. Our room was nice & large, with a four poster bed and en-suite. There was plenty of tea & coffee making supplies including nice size mugs as opposed to tiddly cups you sometimes get! Breakfast was excellent! Lots of cereal choice, fruit juice, fresh coffee and a lovely cooked breakfast to follow. My husband is glucose intolerant and I had asked about sugar-free cereals, so he had a choice of weetabix or bran flakes.
Highly recommended! We will certainly go back if in the area again.
Easy to find with parking right outside

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana_Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed in the Bon Ami in August 2010 and had such a great time we stayed there again in August 2011. Both times we stayed in the best room with the 4 poster bed and the sea view and we found the value for money fantastic. Julie and Barry were great and even though Fried Bread wasn't on the breakfast menu, Julie did some for us and did it a treat. The Sausages were so good we even asked her where she got them from! Both times we found the room very clean. Parking is easy right outside and though the guesthouse is a 15 minute walk from the town centre it's along the sea front. We hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lowestoft hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sandcastle
The Sandcastle
#11 of 28 in Lowestoft
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britten House
Britten House
#3 of 28 in Lowestoft
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Somerton Guest House
Somerton Guest House
#4 of 28 in Lowestoft
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coventry Guest House
Coventry Guest House
#14 of 28 in Lowestoft
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highbury House
Highbury House
#20 of 28 in Lowestoft
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon-Ami Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon-Ami Guest House

Property: Bon-Ami Guest House
Address: 14 Kirkley Cliff | Lowestoft, Lowestoft NR33 0BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run bed and breakfast situated on Lowestoft seafront. A grade 2 listed victorian building has spectacular sea views of an award winning blue flag beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bon-Ami Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon-Ami Guest House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing