We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable find”

Lowestoft and East Suffolk Maritime Museum
Ranked #4 of 29 things to do in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable find”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Nice small museum but with lots of information and displays. Lovely staff who were very helpful and told us all about war time Lowestoft. Ideal for older children and adults - Thank you for a nice few hours.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    26
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great small museum”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Small but great maritime museum which is well worth a visit where you can easily spend anything between 1-3 hours depending on your level of interest and age of any children. The curators are very friendly and knowledgable with a passion for the local maritime heritage. We have visited several times and each visit has been a pleasure. Highly recommended with added bonus of it being close to a nice park with small children play area and nearby refreshments.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank busygirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Comprehensive collection”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Little gem of a museum.
Excellent displays of the town's long history of fishing and the sea.
Very knowledgable curators and showed me their original George Vempley Burwood paintings to me with pride(even more so when I pointed out I am a Burwood)
Don't miss it if you are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank beefy1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Day trip to Lowestoft”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Saw the museum as we drove past and decided to visit. Very glad we did as it was truly an excellent little museum with lots of information on the history of the fishing past of Lowestoft. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“really great museum”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

we visited this and it was a great to bring back memories of the old vessels and fishing vessels and to see the cramped conditions theyt workd in

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lowestoft and East Suffolk Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lowestoft and East Suffolk Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing