We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour Lights Guest House
Ranked #10 of 28 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Review”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Found on the Internet and a great find. We has the the ensuite overlooking the sea, the room was ideal for the rate they charge and truly comfy beds, I must compliment the spotlessness of the entire guest house, a credit to the owners.
Francis and Michael are a welcoming couple who could not do more to be helpful and without being over fussy with visitors.
Breakfast? A delight! Could not have been better, freshly cooked, excellent choices and very filling! What a lovely 2 night stay and we shall certainly return next time we are in the area. Fantastic value for moneyand A1++++

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 and ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
35
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We found this guest house after receiving advice from a full-up Lowestoft Premier Inn receptionist and we could not have had a better welcome anywhere. The welcome was enough to make us want to stay even before we saw the room. Everywhere was spotless and the room was very comfortable with all the amenities we needed. Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of cereals etc and a great full English.
The locality was wonderful as it was overlooking the sea front gardens with only a short walk into the town centre, the dancing water fountains and a variety of eating places. Car parking is free and right outside the guest house.
It was all so good we booked a second night when we had breakfast.

Room Tip: The sea view at the front is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Nice clean rooms. We had ensuite option. Bathroom was on the small side but I imagine that all the B&B's will be the same along the front, given the style of house. Breakfast was very nice and had the usual range of cereals, toast, full English. Very helpful and welcoming host. Nice wine bar just around the corner. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtterHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clacton on sea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We found this hotel on the internet when we were looking for a b and b to stay for a weekend away. What a good choice. The welcome we received from Francis and Michael couldn't have been warmer. We were asked what time suited us for breakfast the next day and shown to our room. This was overlooking the sea and beautifully decorated. There was a large double bed and a smaller one in the room, plenty of space in the wardrobe - with a number of hangers. Also a tray with coffee, tea, hot chocolate and biscuits.
The breakfast the next day was brilliant, a good choice of cereals, fruit juice, and a lovely full English cooked, followed by toast and jam.
The hotel is central for beach, harbour and town. Parking is outside the hotel or right opposite.
We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adictedtoholidays98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

What a pleasure it was to be greeted by a very friendly couple in Frances & Michael nothing was too much trouble .Bedroom spotless along with tea making facilities topped up every day if you req. more you only had to ask & there it was , modern TV with digital already converted & WHAT A SUPERB breakfast it really set you up for the day .So this review has been a real pleasure to write.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COLIN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Although there isnt much happening in Lowestoft it's a handy spot for the Norfolk Broads and Norwich. The hosts Frances and Michael are very friendly and helpful and make suggestions on where to eat etc.
The parking is on the street but we had no problems getting a spot directly in front of the house.
The breakfasts are huge and well presented with ample selections of cereal and hot breakfasts.
The room is clean and adequate with tea and coffee making facilities.
Would recommend this for people wanting to explore the Norfolk Broads very good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Lovely place, helpful and friendly owners. Breakfast was great. Location opposite the promenade and pier with free on street parking outside (but get there early). The only negative in my room was the TV but this will be changed in time for switchover.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy504022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lowestoft hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerton Guest House
Somerton Guest House
#4 of 28 in Lowestoft
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kingsleigh Guest House
Kingsleigh Guest House
#21 of 28 in Lowestoft
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sandcastle
The Sandcastle
#11 of 28 in Lowestoft
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homelea Guest House
Homelea Guest House
#17 of 28 in Lowestoft
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lights Guest House

Property: Harbour Lights Guest House
Address: 43 Marine Parade, Lowestoft NR33 0QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harbour Lights Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Lights Guest House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing