We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic and well needed retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fantastic and well needed retreat”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We have just got home from this really wonderfully well run Hotel and cannot praise it more highly.the staff are outstanding, kind and helpful and unfailingly cheerful too!
The setting is truly beautiful and if peace and relaxation are needed please give this Hotel your custom.
If only all Hotels were as good as this and so accomodating of our needs (we travelled with our disabled son)and at short notice too!
We thought the food was good quality and with excellent service.
we will return soon.
Our thanks to all at Ivy House.
Siobhan and Karl Lyell.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    133
    34
    4
    7
See reviews for
71
248
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I have stayed at this hotel four times now, all on business. Wach time the quality of the accomodation and service have been first class. The rooms are very comfortable, and well stocked with tea and coffee. The service is second to none, with the highlight always being the 'performance' of Mr Clifford, the Maitre D' in the Crooked Barn Restaurant. He treats every guest as if they were the first and only guest; he is cheeky but respectful, with the ability to pitch it just right whether you're a businessman or elderly lady being taken out for her birthday.

Unfortunately, the foos at the restaurant is not so consistent. I've had some decent meals there, but some awful meals too - a particularly tasteless smoked haddock was the lowlight. As is often the case in Suffolk and Norfolk, cooked breakfasts often take and age to appear although when they do, they're pretty good.

In short, fantastic for bed and a leisurely breakfast. The restaurant is worth going to for the service alone, just be careful about what you choose and let them know if you don't think it's up to scratch.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SpecialAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

12 of us booked for a special cream tea and presumed we would be in the Crooked Barn as advised, but we were crammed into the pre dinner reception room. We had to eat from coffee tables and of our laps which was not easy. They produced the scones & tea with cream & jam before we had all arrived. We did not have enough crockery or cutlery and had to go to reception to get additional. There were 2 girls on reception, apparently doing nothing, but they did not come and ask if 'we were alright', but did ask when we left when they were told then 'it was a bit late'. The Crooked Barn is a lovely building and when we looked in afterwards, there was nobody in there. Two of us sent emails to complain, but neither had to reply

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tootsie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We returned to this beautiful hotel at short notice, the weather did make the stay more relaxing.
We were really looking forward to some well cooked meals, and we were not disappointed, in fact the food was better than last year.
The hotel staff are always willing to assist in anything you require, and the dog also gets a doggy box with goodies in for themselves.

Room Tip: The only downside was that the bathroom extractor fan would go on for 15-20mins after being in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Myself and my partner had dinner at the crooked barn restaurant on site at this hotel in January 2012 and everything about the experience was shocking. the place from the outside looks nice but the restaurant is plain, empty, dated and has absolutely no atmosphere or ambience other than a ghost town. the hotel/restaurant is owned by a husband and wife team. the husband is the host at the restaurant and when we were greeted he looked down his nose at us both and proved to be obnoxious and arrogant, his wife (who quite frankly does nothing) is equally as rude if not worse and swans arouns like shes lady muck.
More importantly, the food: Well the menu appeared to be lovely and we were really looking forward to it despite being pricey for the area. Sad to say but all the food was bland, tasteless, small and way over priced, i was expecting good things as they claim to use local produce throughout the menu but they obviously just dont know what to do with the ingredients. i had homemade burger for my main and the bun was just over toasted and had no relish, cheese or salad, just plain. and in it sat a measly little burger pattie which was just mince moulded into shape, i couldnt taste any seasoning or flavour, just mincedmeat. very boring. the chips were obviously done in a deep fat fryer and tasted greasy and there was nothing other than a little side salad on the plate. my other half had mackeral and he said the same thing about his, very bland and tasteless. neither of us smoke so we know our taste buds are still in tact! even dessert was disappointing, some how they even managed to make zesty lemon pancakes and homemade orange icecream tast of absolutely nothing! we also had to ask several times for our drinks and bread basket. Staff, food and atmosphere and prices all absolutely rubbish. i would even bother attempting a quick drink.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sally g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here on their stay and dine deal. Excellent value for money. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable and warm (we stayed on probably the coldest night of the year). We also ate in the Crooked Barn Restaurant attached to the hotel. The food was very good and considering that the restaurant was full, the service very good. We had the set menu as part of the deal which was well cooked and beautifully presented. The next morning we had a proper cooked breakfast ( not your usual help yourself out of a 'bain marie' ) they seem to use good locally sourced produce where possible. The walk in the grounds and down to Oulton Broad although cold was beautiful. Looking forward to returning in the summer.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunters53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We have stayed here once and also eaten in the restaurant on a seperate occasion. The rooms are lovely, The food really tasty, the staff really helpful and friendly. The winter jolly rate of £99.00 per person for 2 nights half board makes this a bargain.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCPoflondontown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
0.7 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
488 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
411 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lowestoft
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
22.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
661 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy House Country Hotel

Property: Ivy House Country Hotel
Address: Ivy House Farm Ivy Lane | Oulton Broad, Lowestoft NR33 8HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
#1 Family Hotel in Lowestoft
#1 Business Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy House Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Ivy House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Country
Ivy House Country Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing