We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Great Food”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Lovely hotel in well maintained and extensive gardens. Very spacious rooms and excellent bathroom which included both a bath and separate shower. Most of the actual rooms are recent builds, however the restaurant is based in a converted barn, which still shows a lot of the original features. The menu is not extensive, but should cater for most tastes and the food ordered was excellent. Service was first class all round from reception to the restaurant and nothing was too much bother. Would second previous comments, that it could possibly be better with a bar area, for drinks after the meal. This is a little gem and would certainly recommend it. Stayed for two nights on the June break tariff. Pity more people were not taking advantage of this. I suppose its a sign of the times.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    120
    32
    3
    7
See reviews for
68
224
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Spacious well presented rooms, both times I've stayed rooms I've have had large bathrooms i'm not sure if all rooms are the same as the hotel is actually an old building not a modern hotel build. Restaurant very nice and quiet with a good choice. No actual bar area to relax and have a drink the reception/lobby is the bar area, with the actual bar (tap/optics) in the restaurant.
The food is very nice but very pricey. Service is a little slow but the staff are very helpful and nice.
Restaurant price and lack of bar area stop me give 10/10.
Would I recommend it to a friend yes.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulsufc1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is a gem of an hotel located in tranquil broadland surroundings and a great base if you're exploring this part of East Anglia. We stayed for one night on a DB&B special offer during May which we thought represented very good value for money. The staff were at all times welcoming and courteous; the courtyard bedroom spacious and well-appointed and the ensuite facilities spotlessly clean. The restaurant is set in a converted thatched barn which has a very relaxing atmosphere, with pre-dinner drinks brought to table in an adjoining conservatory. The food and wine presented at dinner and the breakfast next morning were all of an extremely high standard, and the service was on-the-ball and very friendly. This establishment stands out from the crowd in many ways and is highly receommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGH27Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

This is probably the eighth or ninth time that we have visited. Idyllic surroundings, lovely food, spotless all round and with attentive staff who go the extra mile and remember details of your likes and dislikes. If you want calm, peace and quiet then this is the place to head for. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judelat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

After reading the reviews on TA I decided to book a night at the Ivy House, I wish I hadn't! The rooms are set in very pleasant gardens and are lovely and quiet. Sadly the curtains in the rooms let in light, so it's an early morning call regardless. The rooms are of a good size but could do with a bit of love. Clean, tidy and very warm.

Sadly the restaurant is where it all goes wrong for me, I am quite fussy, so when I order, I like to specify what I want, I don't think that - very rare with no tomatoes or dressing is that difficult, it appears it was! the service was slow and I'm told the Beck's was flat. Breakfast was no better, in fact it was worse, there was so much oil on the plate America would consider invading! Thankfully we were not paying the £125 per night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. Every member of staff was superb, a different class from most hotels. The restaurant was the best meal we have had for a long time including a month in Florida and a month in Palm Springs. The crooked barn restaurant is a delightful setting with exposed beams and fantastic lighting. The staff were great in organising flowers for my mothers 88th birthday.
Could not recommend this place more highly. The winter special of a 'free' dinner allowance is a great deal not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yeldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Excellent accommodation, with food to match looking forward to visiting again soon. The hotel makes for a most relaxing getaway.The hotel is situated in a very quiet location within walking distance of the broads, with an award winning restaurant which once you have tried you will definatly want to visit again.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
0.7 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
9.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy House Country Hotel

Property: Ivy House Country Hotel
Address: Ivy House Farm Ivy Lane | Oulton Broad, Lowestoft NR33 8HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
#1 Business Hotel in Lowestoft
#1 Family Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy House Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ivy House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Country
Ivy House Country Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing