We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have visited this hotel several times in the past, celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversay there four years ago and had a superb meal. The hotel is now under new management and has had a fabulous refurbishment and new building work. It's wonderful.

On Saturday we had a lovely cream tea with our friends in the new Eve's bar. We were comfortable, cosy and relaxed and we had superb views overlooking the well kept grounds and lake.

We were there again with our family for Sunday lunch. Each one of us thoroughly enjoyed our meal, absolutely delicious and so well presented.

Each member of staff we encountered couldn't do enough for us, the customer service equalled the Ritz in London, the staff were magnificent, nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be visisting next time we are in the area. Sooner rather than later!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TootsyHarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just had a wonderful lunch and afternoon in the new Eve's Bar. The location is wonderful with beautiful scenery, so peaceful and tranquil. Eve's Bar is very light, airy, clean and comfortable. The choice of food is great and very tasty, all staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Couldn't fault it and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaymaker90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks for work, staff are friendly, food is very very decent with two menus which are both great with a nice choice, the hotel is really nice. If ever down that way again i will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbiec1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Arrived late after a very wet and windy drive. Staff very accommodating and prepared sandwiches.
Great large room, comfortable. Super breakfast with friendly and informative staff.
Menu looked good but arrived to late to sample.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

i went to the resturant 22nd of Dec 2013 and the food was nice but very expensive ,they forget this is Oulton Broad where alot of people are on minimum wage ,this is not London wages , and the menue said my vegi meal came with new potatoes ,but we didn't receive them ,when we asked why ,we were told they were already in the pie ,so for £25 i got a bowl of soup ,a small pie and a very small panacotta, i think this is why the resturant was nearly empty .i wouldnt go back .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandale h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have stayed at the Ivy hotel before, a couple of years ago on business . This time it was for pleasure. At £140 a night the courtyard room wasn't cheap, an the fusty 'old carpets' smell as we walked into the building was not that welcoming. Having said that the room was comfortable and the meadow view , a bonus. The shower was PITIFUL more of a dribble than a shower. On the upside the breakfast was excellent and inclusive and the hotels proximity to the Broad allowed for a great walk afterwards. The great weather certainly improved the whole experience!
On reflection, think the courtyard rooms could do with a bit of refurbishment to enhance the scoring!

Room Tip: Perhaps any room other than a courtyard one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Super hotel with fabulous restaurant with great food for both dinner and breakfast, friendly service, relaxed atmosphere. Hard to find, but lovely location, can walk to the broad, plenty of parking. Excellent disabled rooms suitable for elderlies. You can even bring your dog.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
0.7 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
525 reviews
2 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
446 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
699 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
380 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy House Country Hotel

Address: Ivy House Farm Ivy Lane | Oulton Broad, Lowestoft NR33 8HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lowestoft
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range: £119 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy House Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ivy House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Country
Ivy House Country Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing