We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location first class service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2009

This was our 4th visit to this hotel, and as it had been some time since we had last visited, we had forgotten how great it was. If you want superb, spacious bedrooms with every amenity, a Restaurant where the quality of food matches the service, you will not be dissapointed. Four acres of wonderful gardens are free to roam in, and there is a great summer house to have a coffee or cream tea in. There are great walks from the hotel around Oulton Broad, and the hotel provides a key to a gate giving you exclusive footpath access.If you are a Dog owner there is a dedicated area for you to exercise your dogs.I travel extensively for business and leisure, and cannot reccomend this Hotel highly enough, nothing is too much trouble.The Dine and Unwind Breaks make amazing value too. We cannot wait to return to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gskontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2009

My husband and i are in our late 40's and stayed for a two night winter jolly £99.00 per person for a two nights B&B and set two course evening meal.
The room was clean and spacious, the location quiet and very pretty. The staff were attentive and friendly. The food was well presented and there was a good choice. We found the portions a good size.
Although i think this is a hotel primarily for adults our daughter and grandson, 10 months, joined us for one evening meal and he was made most welcome and a high chair provided.
All the dogs staying were were well behaved.
The leisure centre was a five minute walk away and could be used at a reduced rate by showing your room key

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fisher25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We stopped for one night prior following a long journey from the Midlands.

The room was very clean, large and tastefully furnished. It had a separate seating area with leather sofa and single seater, plus a large bath room with bath and separate shower.

The grounds were pretty and the staff were pleasant and welcoming.

We had the evening meal which was included in the room tariff. The food was good and the service excellent. The breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

We stayed for a night's dinner, bed and breakfast. Our room was in the farmhouse and was very clean and spacious. It was extremely quiet and had lovely views. The staff were friendly and efficient. Our dinner was very good as was the full English breakfast. The grounds were very attractive and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammy1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2008

We booked this hotel after reading reviews on this website.
Maybe we were unlucky with the cleaning plan but our room was NOT clean with dead (large) insects on the floor of our bathroom
and hairs on the WC.
On this basis we decidet not to eat in the (very expensive ) restaurant and went to Lowestoft town centre instead. (a 20 min drive)
Not for the faint hearted.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank speckboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Stayed one night. The grounds are extensive and well-maintained. They advertise a weddings service and it would make a lovely setting. Breakfast and lunch fine, with the local source of all food displayed on the menus.

Rooms were big, clean and comfortable. You could walk through the gardens to Oulton Broad. No traffic noise - only birds and horses.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Peterscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2008

This place is ok but not as good as some other reviewers suggest especially if you have been led to believe it's in Lowestoft.
In fact the taxi from Lowestoft station was £14 and took 25 mins!!
I was late for my meeting the next morning because of the traffic.
Maybe the head chef was off but the food was too salty and overcooked.
Never again, there are some very good hotels actually in Lowestoft with free seaviews and good food.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank chrispenny68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
513 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
9.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
342 reviews
22.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy House Country Hotel

Address: Ivy House Farm Ivy Lane | Oulton Broad, Lowestoft NR33 8HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lowestoft
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
#1 Family Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range: £129 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy House Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ivy House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Country
Ivy House Country Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing