We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2007

We wanted to get away from the kids for the weekend but take our dog with us. We wanted somewhere that would be good for us and her, good food, nice surroundings, relaxing and we stumbled across the Ivy House Country Hotel website.
What can I say, from the moment we arrived and was met by the friendly receptionist, who actually took us to our room, to the accommodation, to the food - it was fantastic - couldn't fault it at all. The buildings have all been restored/rebuilt with great care and the restaurant is a beautiful barn complete with fairy lights. Our room was spotless with a huge ensuite, homemade biscuits left with the tea & coffee - yum! Everything that you could possibly want had been thought of. Good quality bed, crisp linen and furniture, a beautiful view over the garden, locks on the windows, so that they could be left ajar whilst you were at dinner, and felt safe doing so, even the dog had her own welcoming pack, including a map of the grounds showing poo bins etc. We thought that we would be on tender hooks with the dog but she was made most welcome. Then to cap it all, the food in the restaurant was amazing - we couldn't believe our luck, the head waiter/maitre'd who took our drinks and dinner order was very professional in his manner but made you feel welcome. The waiting staff were very friendly and efficient, and the food......well it was really really good. A lot of local produce was used by the chef, we ate from the ala carte menu the first night, but then selected from the set menu the following nights as the selection was so good, choice of three starters, main and desserts. We had fillet steak, monkfish, halibut, Roast Rib Eye beef, smoked salmon, goats cheese (not all on one night!) and if the opportunity comes up try the homemade Banana Ice Cream! All I can say is that I am only glad that we were only staying 3 nights as I wouldn't have been able to fit in my jeans hadwe stayed any longer.
The grounds were beautiful and afternoon cream tea in the summer house overlooking the lily pond is a must .
The gardens are spotless, and well cared for.There is a back gate that joins the Broads and it is an easy walk from the hotel to Oulton Broad and hiring of a boat for a few hours.
Keep up the good work - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Baldrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank petirrojos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roz1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthNorfolklass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnylass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank skybod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
0.7 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
513 reviews
2 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
434 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
348 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
22.1 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy House Country Hotel

Address: Ivy House Farm Ivy Lane | Oulton Broad, Lowestoft NR33 8HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lowestoft
#1 Family Hotel in Lowestoft
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range: £129 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy House Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Ivy House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Country
Ivy House Country Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing