We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£170
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Priceline
£170
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
£168
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Rebecca G

Very welcoming and friendly staff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Apr 2024
I have just spent a wonderful five days at The Ivy House Country Hotel. I was on holiday with 9 friends and we were all very happy with our experience there. From the moment we arrived, the staff were very welcoming and friendly and they all did everything they could to ensure our stay at the hotel was enjoyable. We were very well looked after by everybody and in particular, Carenza who made sure that we had everything we needed in our conference room. The food was excellent and the rooms and ensuite bathrooms very large and comfortable. We have booked our next visit there and hope to make it a regular event.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£80
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £80
  • Skyscanner.com
    £79
  • Agoda.com
    £80
1.9 miles from Ivy House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£97
  • Expedia.com
    £98
  • Hotels.com
    £97
  • Agoda.com
    £98
2.0 miles from Ivy House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
£83
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £75
  • Agoda.com
    £69
  • Expedia.com
    £80
1.4 miles from Ivy House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£105
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • Skyscanner.com
    £96
  • Hotels.com
    £105
0.7 miles from Ivy House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Best Western The Hatfield Hotel
Booking.com
£64
  • Priceline
    £77
  • Expedia.com
    £69
  • Hotels.com
    £69
2.1 miles from Ivy House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
£69
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £57
  • Agoda.com
    £54
  • Hotels.com
    £58
0.7 miles from Ivy House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn Lowestoft hotel exterior
PremierInn.com
£49
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.5 miles from Ivy House Country Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£58
  • Agoda.com
    £63
  • Vio.com
    £63
2.1 miles from Ivy House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£51
  • Priceline
    £62
  • Expedia.com
    £58
  • Hotels.com
    £59
2.0 miles from Ivy House Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lowestoft
Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveller rating
570
254
104
45
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
570
254
104
45
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room travelzoo deal oulton broad nature reserve converted barn extensive grounds lovely grounds lovely hotel room was large evening meal good size wedding venue waiting staff kippers short break full english enjoyable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2024

A group of 9 ladies have just had a 4 night stay at the Ivy House Hotel and it has been an excellent experience. The most helpful and friendly staff were always available to help us and ensure we had everything to make us comfortable. The food is of a very high standard with plenty of choice.
The experience was so good we have booked our next stay.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2024

First class hotel in a rustic setting. Food excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. Our room was enormous, as was the bathroom. Even the toilet paper was of the highest quality. Only a short walk to Oulton Broad where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants. We enjoyed the one and a half hour boat trip on the broad.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Q6682SUjohnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2024 via mobile

Really lovely couple of nights stay. Heather was so friendly and welcoming. The room was nice and it opened up to the courtyard which was handy as we had our dog with us. We ate at the hotel the first night and as it was Good Friday they were doing a special of £20 for fish and chips for two. The food was delicious and portions were huge! I had the pate for starters and my husband had the soup which was also very nice. We slept well and the area was very peaceful. Hearing the wildlife in the morning was so relaxing. It’s situated about a 10 minute walk into town which had lots of nice pubs and restaurants to choose from. We also got the train into Lowestoft one day which took around 5mins. Breakfast (and dinner) were served in eve’s bar as this area was dog friendly and it had a lovely view of the grounds, we even saw deer chasing some ducks the first afternoon. If you haven’t got a four legged friend with you, you can sit in the crooked barn restaurant which looked nice too. Plenty of parking too. We had a very enjoyable Easter break. Thank you!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cassie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2024

January is a quiet time for Ivy House but this suited us on this occasion, securing a good deal and good service. Breakfasts and dinner were excellent and the rooms clean and comfortable. Rooms could have been warmer at times but, to be fair, we did not mention this until check out so we gave the hotel no chance to remedy. We have been many times and will go again when in the area.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RunnerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2024

What a gem of a hotel. Off the beaten track and quiet but within walking distance of Oulton Broad.

Our room in the courtyard was clean and comfortable with a spacious bathroom.

The restaurant and bar are superb - the food is to die for.

Full marks to supervisors Matthew and Carenza - their customer service skills are excellent and they are courteous, knowledgeable and efficient.

We'll be back soon.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank killemall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews