We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have always avoided this hotel chain, wary of the 'budget' tag which conjures up images of Ryanair style service levels. I booked this time to attend a wedding in the area and chose this hotel as a last resort.

However, I was pleasantly surprised. the room was large (we had a family room), clean and well equipped. There was 30mins of free wifi after which I paid an extra £3 for 24-hour access.

The only down-side was that there is terrible mobile phone coverage hence the rating of 4 (although this seems to be the case generally in the area).

The big bonus is that there is a Tesco within walking distance so we could by provisions to eat in our room. The reception were also kind enough to lend us a corkscrew!

The staff were amongst the friendliest I have ever come across and I would consider using this chain again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole-Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    273
    101
    27
    10
See reviews for
283
299
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

we booked this hotel for 7 nights with our 4 children with high hopes after staying at Premier Inn at Old Trafford in Manchester back in May. our stay then was wonderful and Lowestoft had some big shoes to fill...which they very nearly did!!!! we arrived at the hotel long before the check in time initially to get a drink from the adjoining Beefeater and get a feel of the surroundings whilst we waited for our rooms to be ready. to our pleasant surprise the reception staff juggled things around to find us 2 rooms side by side that were ready and we were able to check in 2 hours early. the reception staff throughout the entire week were wonderful, we were always met with a smile and they were all more than happy to help/advise when we bombarded them with questions regarding place worth visiting, local launderettes, quiet times in the restaurant ect.
the rooms were both lovely, very clean and spacious but were a tad on the warm side, not helped by the unusually warm temperatures outside (air conditioning would definitely be a welcome addition here) and the housekeeping staff were also very courteous and respectful of peoples privacy and belongings.
we were advised soon after arriving that booking a time/table for our evening meals each evening throughout our stay is definitely recommended which we duly did (and looking at how busy the restaurant became each evening im very glad we did otherwise i fear we may have had a long wait for a table with 4 hungry children in tow). the food was lovely each mealtime and seemed to find its way out of the kitchen reasonably quickly avoiding large gaps between courses. and staff, like the reception staff in the main hotel, met us with a smile each time and were all incredibly polite and very good with our children. Breakfast was of the same high standard we've come to expect from Premier inn's and the hot food arrived very promptly. it is worth noting that there are 5 floors to this restaurant, each floor with a small flight of stairs to access it so extra care is definitely needed particularly when it comes to collecting food from the buffet and negotiating stairs and hot drinks/glasses of juice...especially if you too have children as eager to be independent as ours are.
all in all we had a wonderful week, visited some beautiful places and enjoyed 7 days feeling well fed and well rested and were sorry to go home. my one and only small niggle if i were to find anything is that house keepers on one occasion failed to re-stock my coffee sachets in my room and did not leave me any clean glasses after removing my dirty ones....the advantage of booking two rooms however is that i was able to borrow a couple from hubbys room next door.
will definitely be booking again for next year and are looking forward to it already. Thankyou very much Lowestoft, see you soon :-)

Room Tip: only pack light sleepwear...the rooms are very warm!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemma1981anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittlesey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Hotel was immaculate in appearance, the rooms were spacious, the staff were friendly and very knowledgable about the local area and ammenities of the local areas sites and how to get there. The breakfast was fantastic , value for money exceptional, very Family Friendly and Disabled friendly also .

Room Tip: THe rooms are mostly very good, but if you had small children would be able to use a family room, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The staff at this hotel are very friendly, more so than at a lot of hotels that belong to a large chain. Our room was exceptional, roomy and comfortable. Staff had put an additional fan in the room too help with the unusually hot weather. Breakfast was also very good as the hot food was cooked to order rather than being kept hot, this is not served in the hotel itself but in the Beefeater, The Foxburrow, which is at the front of the hotel. The prices for breakfast were also reasonable compared with the last hotel we stayed in Staverton Park, this cost £15 from what I remember and we were charged closer to £8 at the Foxburrow, there is a cheaper breakfast option too.
We had friends that stayed at the Travel lodge, we intend to return in late October, Travel lodge is £31 per night and Premier in £67, but on the feed back our friends gave us, I think we will still use Premier Inn, however it is something to consider if you are a budget traveller and are not bothered about the added extras that Premier Inn offers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayleywincott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We often stay at PI around the UK for short stays of 1 or 2 nights This one was booked as it was the nearest one to Great Yarmouth. We were a bit concerned about the negative comments on this site regarding the breakfast set up but we decided we would not make it a deal breaker. The first eye brow raiser was the price... just under £120 for a night.. I have noticed the price growing in previous trips to PI's but it’s a brand we trust and we could not be bothered to shop around on this occasion.

Now to the hotel... it was clean and tidy but perhaps starting to look just a little jaded in areas... the receptionist could not have been more helpful with the booking in, and advised us to book for breakfast which we duly did. We got to the room it was spacious and very warm... but a nice fan stood in the corner waiting to be plugged in... we did and it made a very loud grating, rattling noise so we turned it off and reported it to reception, Not a problem we were told it has a silent mode on it and the man would come down and sort it in a minute... (Silent mode on a fan!... must be a new setting for those who do not prefer a noisy fan.. scratch head)... Good to his word he arrived within minutes turned it on and said mmmmm that broken... took it away and arrived back 2 minutes later with 2 new fans... so top marks for customer service.
Good night’s sleep, nice hot power showers in the morning and off for breakfast at our booked time… none of the drama that other people had suffered, shown straight to our table by nice friendly staff and had the typical PI breakfast with no fuss… be aware though that the breakfast place is on multi levels so you will have a good workout with the stairs getting your toast etc .
All in it was a good stay and worthy in our opinion of a very good rating overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanDavison59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review and for your great comments. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with the customer service you received from the Team. I'm also pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to our Foxburrow Beefeater Restaurant.

Please do check our website for prices, our Premier Savers are available throughout the year but these are on a first come, first served basis, so I'm sorry you didn't get one this time.

If you would like any further information on this, please don't hesitate to contact me on 01603 760260 and I'll be happy to help.

Kind regards, Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very clean, tidy and comfortable, the staff were generally professional - to which the ratings given apply.
The evening meals at the Beefeater was good value for money and delicious and the waitress who looked after us was very friendly. In complete contrast to the evening meal, I would avoid the breakfast - not very organised, not very friendly, not very clean and not very tidy (spillages had not been cleaned up, crockery, plates and glasses needed to go through the dishwasher again!). It took 25 minutes and 2 requests to get a cooked breakfast order taken. When we got up to use the buffet for the cereals on returning to our table another party had been seated there. Needless to say the breakfast booking we had made for the following morning, we promptly cancelled.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

In my view the premiere inn brand of hotels are always clean well locked after hotels, but this is ment to be a cheap hotel. For example £29 we stayed for 1night & it was £99 need to lower the prices, as this will put us off using this brand of hotel in the future. What is a shame as we have stayed in the premiere inn every time we have gone away all over the u.k

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#4 of 10 in Lowestoft
336 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.5 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
400 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
477 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
Address: 249 Yarmouth Road, Lowestoft NR32 4AA, England (Formerly known as "Travel Inn")
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
#2 Family Hotel in Lowestoft
#3 Business Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the aptly-named "Sunrise Coast" with Pleasurewood Hills theme park just down the road ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel Lowestoft
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing