We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good B&B in an excellent location with very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beach House
Ranked #14 of 29 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good B&B in an excellent location with very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

My friend and I enjoyed a two night stay at The Beach House in August. We each had our own rooms which I felt were very reasonably priced, especially for peak season. My friend's room was much better than my own, mainly because she had double glazing (this was room 1) so noise was minimised, her bed was comfortable and she had a blind AND curtains, so light into the room was also minimised. My first night's sleep in Room 3 was not as good as I didn't find the mattress comfortable and there is a lot of noise and light. The room would benefit from a blackout blind or thicker curtains due to a bright street light directly opposite. Also this room is single glazed and there was a lot of drunk people walking around outside until about 3am (admittedly this was a weekend), as well as a fair which created noise during the day and obscured the sea view. Also we had to use shared bathrooms - and walking to the loo in the night certainly wakes you up. BUT ... don't let these things put you off staying at The Beach House if you are looking for a budget B&B in a good location. After the first night, I got used to the room and had a good nights sleep. Warwick is a wonderful host, and is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent - couldn't really have been better. Both of our rooms were decorated tastefully and were modern and clean. And best of all is the location - although being central means you do have more noise, you are also just 5-10 minutes walk from many restaurants (we ate at the new Wetherspoons both nights - The Joseph Conrad - highly recommended) and the gorgeous beach which is just opposite the B&B. So overall, if you are on a budget and you don't mind sharing bathrooms then stay at the Beach House. Just be careful which room you book and take your earplugs with you!!

Room Tip: Ask whether your room has double-glazing as these will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ywamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Warwick is a very welcoming owner of this lovely B & B situated very close to one of Lowerstoft beautiful sandy beaches, an extremely clean and well run Hotel . Nothing too much trouble will be booking again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Basic, value-for-money bed and breakfast. Easy to find and park (either on-street or pay and display opposite b and b). Large room with sea view. Nice TV and free wi-fi. Friendly owner. Delicious breakfast served in pretty seaside-themed room. There was even home-made bread! These are the main plus points.
So, now the not-so good. The b and b is clearly a 'work in progress' with much of the work still to be be finished, and indeed started. Our room was very old-fashioned and dated. The curtains were useless as a means of keeping out the light. The shared shower facilities were either a flight of stairs up or down. The 're-furbished' shower room looked nice but is in the basement and I didn't fancy the trip down in my nightie! The one on the top floor was ok but I was reminded yet again why wet-rooms are, generally, a very bad idea, especially as there was nowhere to hang anything up.
The toilet cubicle on our floor had no hand-basin; I can't believe this is even legal! The towels were very old and dingy, and the bedding 'tired'. There were various cleanliness issues and the housekeeping patchy.
Having said all this, none of it ruined our stay or caused major problems. Most of the issues could have been resolved at minimal cost to the owners ie. a few hooks and a bin in the shower room, some new towels and bedding whilst the rooms are awaiting re-furbishment.
As I mentioned, the breakfast was delicious and definitely the best bit of our stay.
If you want and expect 'boutique luxury', look elsewhere. For basic bed and breakfast, then certainly don't rule out The Beach House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Lovely warm welcome by Warwick, the Proprietor. Shown to Room No.1, very chic in all black and white, bling duvet cover, cushions, chandalier, etc. Tea/coffee/biscuits, flat screen wall tv, very comfortable bed and this was just one of the standard rooms ! Apparently you an pay more and have better ! They had a special on at breakfast. Besides the usual full English, they were serving creamy scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - guess which one I had ? Got parked right outside, although there is a car park right opposite, very near the centre of Lowestoft, reasonably priced - I don't think I have any negatives at all. Thank you Warwick and we hope the rest of your good work continues ! Regards, Vanessa & Bob.

Room Tip: Can't really help as we only saw one room, No.1. was not a sea facing room ,but then we did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessymoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked through Booking.com. The pictures and reviews were very flattering to this place. We arrived to find the place, not ready, very dark and literally if not fit for habitation, definitely deceiving to the public. The floors creaked, the bathroom had no ceiling due to an apparent flood a few days ago. The shower which looks good in the photo is downstairs. To get there means a sticky carpet walk. not good. The owner was very apologetic and I said to him that it was nt ready for someone to live in and to charge £70 a night. We left not having stayed there.

Room Tip: Really look very closely at what you are booking and don t always believe on face value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhivago132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We are a family comprising of 2 children of 2yrs and 4 yrs and we really loved this B&B. It was good value with really clean rooms and a lovely home cooked breakfast. There was homemade bread and jam too! Really recommend this!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at the Beach House back in October and had a brilliant five night stay!
Very clean, modern guest house. Very friendly staff. Home made bread and jam. Full-English breakfast using quality ingredients. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room. Wi-fi and Freeview. The owner responded immediately to our requests but was respectful of our privacy. We were able to come and go as we wished. I would absolutely recommend this place for anyone staying one night or five. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Request rooms with a sea view, they are to die for! Well worth a little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeniHumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Clyffe Hotel Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Sandcastle
The Sandcastle
#11 of 29 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#10 of 29 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: 15 Marine Parade, Lowestoft NR33 0QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing