We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Carvery”
Review of The Wherry Hotel

The Wherry Hotel
Ranked #9 of 173 Restaurants in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

On first walking in thought we'd not get a table. Wrong.

Thought the Carvery would be average (as most are). Wrong

Thought the service would be naff. Wrong.

Thought I'd leave feeling received poor value. Wrong.

Great location. Good food. Good beer. Good service. Great value. Not often I praise anything but in this case The Wherry deserves great praise indeed. Cracking job guys

Helpful?
Thank gileshankinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    183
    62
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“impressive place, shame about the food”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Because mooring was tight we booked into the Wherry Hotel. This is a carvery and I am afraid the food must have been out for some time. To be honest it was late in the afternoon there was plenty of choice but it was dried up and I did not enjoy it. Perhaps if you arrived earlier it would have been much better. The hotel was impressive with stained glass windows and lots of room.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good fayre”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place is a long established restaurant in Oulton Broad. It has great views of the water and boats. The food is served quickly and is good but its not always consistent. One day great, the next mediocre. Vegetables can be rock hard, seriously. Theres also an odd set up re ordering at the 2 bars with little organisation and staff not knowing what each other are doing. We can thoroughly recommend the chips and the ice cream sundaes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank edithcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Moored the boat here. 6 of us went for dinner. Good food plenty of choice.service was good , would recommend a visit if your down this way :)

Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The man with the clipboard!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As usual at the wherry we weren't greeting at the door so we took it upon ourselves to find a free table. After a good search we finally found a table without a reserved sign so I took a seat while my daughter and husband went to the bar to get drinks and tickets for food. While I was sat there I asked a member of staff to give the table a wipe and for some cutlery she was nice and friendly. After this a man with a clipboard wearing a checked shirt and glasses stormed up to me very aggressively and stated 'is there a reserved sign on that table because I will be kicking you off if there is'. I was shocked, I informed him that I had sat here because there wasn't a sign. I will not be returning after being spoken to in this way.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wherry Hotel also viewed

Lowestoft, Suffolk
 
Lowestoft, Suffolk
 

Been to The Wherry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing