We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somerton Guest House
Ranked #3 of 28 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

we stayed at somerton house as we were going to a family wedding,ursula and brian couldnt of been more helpful and friendly if they tried,excellent seaview room clean and tidy with a few extra complimentaries which was lovely,we had the full english breakfast which was brilliant.We would definetly recommend somerton house to everyone,as for ursula and brian you are a credit to your profession and we hope you do very well now and in the future.We will hopefully see you agin soon

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scruffydog06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J, Owner at Somerton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

We thank you very much for your review we try to make each and everyone feel welcome as guests of ours. We are pleased you enjoyed your trip and your

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Brian and Ursula most welcoming and felt like we were staying with friends. Fantastic breakfast and the many extras in our room made our stay. We would recommend to anyone visiting the area to stay with them. They wouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J, Owner at Somerton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

we like to thank you for your comments .We do like to make each one of our guest feel they are very special, by making there stay as comfortable as we can, also providing as many home comfort as they need, once they have visited leave us we hope our guest return as friends, be it for business our pleasure everyone welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My son and I used Somerton House a few months ago at very short notice after a mix-up with a booking at another B and B. Brian and Ursula were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable, but not necessarily to everyones taste. A bit old fashioned and fussy maybe from a single man's view of things. Brian and Ursula had only recently taken over the property, so there was much "work in progress".
Being really positive though. Breakfast was a delight. And all down to Brian!
I hope Brian and Ursula can make a success of their venture. And maybe my son and i will revisit them in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J, Owner at Somerton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review, we are in the process of decorating our rooms to bring them into the 21st century although keeping period pieces. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the full English breakfast and we look forward to seeing you in the future to see if you like what we have done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here during a week long course at Petans Lowesoft, was very welcoming and the standard of the rooms and service was excellent. A very good range of items available for breakfast each morning, and the food and service was excellent. Overall, the best value for money I've encountered with a B&B. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J, Owner at Somerton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for the review, we are pleased you enjoyed your with us and we hope if you require accommodation in the area in the future you will stay with us again.
Good luck for the future working offf shore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A lovely guesthouse,very clean and tidy,brian an ursula are a friendly couple and very helpful,would recomend anyone to stay here, good value for money! Wil defo stay there again, they have a good breakfast as well if you want it

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J, Owner at Somerton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you soon don't forget your pound coins !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Repeat visit was just as welcoming as the first. Ursula and Brian are perfect hosts. Their guest house is very clean and comfortable, and there's a good selection for breakfast. Great location with wonderful sea views from the front rooms.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, ask for a front room - but it's quieter at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J, Owner at Somerton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your review I'am so glad you were not disapointed and we look forward to seeing you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here over the August bank holiday ,ursula greeted us after our 7hour road trip,the room was very clean with tea coffee facilities ,our breakfasts were lovely thanks again , would recommend this guest house to all .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J, Owner at Somerton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

So glad you choose us to stay with, and also glad your stay with us was a good break for you too, we look forward to see you can next time you are down this way, and after our room up grades,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lowestoft hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britten House
Britten House
#4 of 28 in Lowestoft
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clyffe Hotel Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerton Guest House

Address: 7 Kirkley Cliff, Lowestoft NR33 0BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range: £66 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerton Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerton Guest house is a beautiful Victorian home which looks out over the award winning south beach at Lowestoft. The house contains many of the original features. We offer single,twin,double and family rooms all with en-suite or private bathrooms,some with sea views. All our rooms have TV, free Wi-Fi, hospitality trays and numerous other accesories to make our guest stay comfortable.A full English breakfast, lowestoft Kippers or vegetarian option using locally sourced produce inclusive in the room price. We accept all major credit debit,cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Somerton Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerton Guest House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing