We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somerton Guest House
Ranked #3 of 28 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here the 8 august for 2 nights. Guest house was lovely and clean with great views of the prominade. Service from the owners brian and Ursula was everything , always on hand and very friendly. Breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked. Would strongly reccomend anyone to stay here as I would look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J, Owner at Somerton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to write the review, we try and help our guests enjoy their stay with us as much as possible. Once again thank you, kindest regards Brian and Ursula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and found the owners very welcoming and hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend. Location great for seafront and walking distance to town and many restaurants Jenny & Ian Bennett.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J, Owner at Somerton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we try and make all of our guests feel welcome. We look forward to seeing you in the future, Kindest regards from Somerton Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Though we only stayed for two nights, we were made most welcome. Nothing was much trouble for Ursula and Brian. They treated us as if we were their personal friends. Our room had a fridge with complimentary drinking water and a ceiling fan...which were most welcome, as we were lucky to visit Somerton House during a very hot period. We will certainly visit again, as a matter of fact we are going to recommend Somerton House to a relation of ours. What can we say about breakfast......just superb! Thank you Ursula & Brian. With best wishes from Praful & Taruna.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praful S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J, Owner at Somerton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Had a lovely 2 night stay here last weekend, a warm welcome from Ursula & Brian who manage to be super efficient without being 'in your face'. Our family room was spotless, beds very comfy and a stunning view of the nicest area of Lowestoft. Breakfast was spot on, loved the coffee :) We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClairePaulLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J, Owner at Somerton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful family room we agree the views from this bedroom are great. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kindest regards Brian & Ursula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I have recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at Somerton. I received a lovely warm welcome from Ursula on my arrival. The room was lovely and it was very nice to have my own private bathroom only a few footsteps away. Breakfast was lovely, especially the kippers, I highly recommend! Both Ursula & Brian were very helpful and couldn't do enough for guests. I do hope to return soon.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Mouse116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J, Owner at Somerton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for a taking the time to write such a wonderful review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased you found our newly refurbished bathroom to your taste. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards Brian & Ursula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for one night but wish it had been for longer!
Lovely warm welcome from the owners, Ursula and Brian, who were very friendly and helpful.
The room was beautiful - lovely furniture, period features, a four poster bed, brand new bathroom and beautiful sea views.
Very comfortable night's sleep, peaceful and quiet room. Great to have a mini fridge too! Lovely cooked breakfast in the morning (and great to have a full veggie cooked breakfast option too).
Great value for the high quality of the room and service. Super lovely owners, a little gem.
Highly recommended, would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDee-Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J, Owner at Somerton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review we do appreciate all the comments our guest' s make. We try and make all our guests comfortable and welcome in our home as far as possible. We try and take on board any constructive comments to improve our facilities we offer to guests. Once again thank you for such a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Did a last minute trip to the coast and picked this B&B from late rooms website, saw that it had good reviews so booked it up.
Although it was just an overnight stop the hosts were so helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure all our Ned's were met.
Breakfast was amazing too with a choice of cereals or cooked meal with optional extras like freshly smoked kippers being my highlight.
Overall if your looking for a good place to stay a stones throw from the beach in Lowestoft then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee7706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J, Owner at Somerton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and the kind comments you have written we try to make all our guests feel at home and comfortable. We cannot take credit for the Kippers ( the Anchor smoke house in Lowestoft I must say they are nice ) we just cook them. Again thank you for the kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kindest regards Brian and Ursula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lowestoft hotels
0 mi away
Coventry Guest House
Coventry Guest House
#16 of 28 in Lowestoft
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#2 of 28 in Lowestoft
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britten House
Britten House
#4 of 28 in Lowestoft
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chiltern House Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
The Clyffe Hotel Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Sandcastle
The Sandcastle
#13 of 28 in Lowestoft
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerton Guest House

Address: 7 Kirkley Cliff, Lowestoft NR33 0BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range: £64 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerton Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerton Guest house is a beautiful Victorian home which looks out over the award winning south beach at Lowestoft. The house contains many of the original features. We offer single,twin,double and family rooms all with en-suite or private bathrooms,some with sea views. All our rooms have TV, free Wi-Fi, hospitality trays and numerous other accesories to make our guest stay comfortable.A full English breakfast, lowestoft Kippers or vegetarian option using locally sourced produce inclusive in the room price. We accept all major credit debit,cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Somerton Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerton Guest House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing