We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gutted!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pakefield Plaice

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pakefield Plaice
Ranked #85 of 169 Restaurants in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Seafood, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gutted!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I'm so gutted that my latest visit to pakefield plaice was disappointing. I live just outside London but travel to Lowestoft to see family often. I always go to pakefield plaice because it was so good. We went in July on a Friday evening. Maybe it was a busy day but the fish was overcooked and the curry sauce was like dish water.

Sort it out pakefield.... I'll give you one more shot. :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrummiePedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Superb fish and chips. Such a wonderful thing to have at the beach. And its always better at the seaside.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Only fish and chips...but”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I called in yesterday and bought cod and chips. The owners are always very friendly and generous with the portions sizes. Weather was great so ate them on the beach. The fish was excellent, chips were great too. If you are in the area and fancy fish and chips, try them, you'll be pleased you did.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deserttrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Freshly cooked, generous portion.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Good old fashioned chippy serving cooked to order fish and chips, quality is good - fish tastes very fresh and is moist and not too greasy. Chip portions are generous with nice sized chips and no dried up little one's you can sometimes get. Small seating area outside but nicer to walk a few yards and eat them on the cliff top. I have visited this shop half a dozen times this year and not been dissapointed, quality seems consistant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Seaside Supper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great value , great quality and friendly service . Excellent range of fish available good size portions and plenty of other choices of food to accompany your chips .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank anja l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pakefield Plaice also viewed

 

Been to Pakefield Plaice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing