We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Venue and Service.”
Review of Flax Cafe Bar

Flax Cafe Bar
Ranked #24 of 180 Restaurants in Lowestoft
Price range: US$4 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: FLAX Cafe Bar is a modern, contemporary venue that offers a range of lunchtime meals as well as a selection of wines, draught and bottled beers and locally roasted fresh coffee and tea. FLAX is also available for private hire during evenings and weekends for corporate and private events such as meetings, family events, birthday parties & smaller wedding receptions at very competitive prices. Hot and cold buffets are also available. We currently offer food menu service from 11am - 3pm Monday - Saturday and are open from 11am - 4pm Mon-Thurs and 11am - 6pm Fri-Sat.
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Recently held a Birthday lunch for my wife with her family. The food, wine and service was excellent. Very helpful that the personalised cake was made just across the road at there sister shop A Piece of Cake. We all enjoyed the atmosphere and very friendly staff. This would also be an ideal venue for a private function and I understand that they supply a very good buffet if required. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markflack, Owner at Flax Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Many thanks for your kind review. We're really pleased that you were happy with the birthday lunch and cake we provided for you. We look forward to providing the same service next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I recently attended a themed night at Flax with a group of friends. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The buffet provided was second to none and with plenty of choice for vegetarians. We will definitely be returning to Flax again and would strongly recommend to others.

Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markflack, Owner at Flax Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you Sally. It's great to hear that you enjoyed one of our events. Please keep an eye out for more great nights coming up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had a very pleasant lunch with a work colleague. I chose Tuna panini which came with tortilla crisps, salad & coleslaw, all very fresh and most enjoyable. The service was prompt and courteous, will definitely be going back. Good to get quality at a fair price and good service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luckystarSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markflack, Owner at Flax Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We're over the moon with the level of feed-back that we've been receiving and will strive to ensure that this continues. Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stumbled across this place while searching for a place to have lunch. What a lovely place. Food was very nice, well presented and plenty of it. 3 of us had different and all were just as good. Will definitely eat here again.
Staff very welcoming and friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank heidi-ann75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markflack, Owner at Flax Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We're really pleased that you 'stumbled' upon us and more grateful that you both enjoying your time with us and are happy to return. Many many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Thought we'd give this fairly new venue a try as had heard good reviews about the place in general. First impressions were of friendly bar staff and excellent standard of cleanliness. We ordered food which came out quickly (handy during work lunchbreak!) and was nicely presented. 3 of us had something different from the menu and all were excellent, as well as great value for money.
Looking forward to the summer as previous reviewer commented on it being a great place to sit with the patio doors open.
As I said, we'll be back - for definite!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChesterBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markflack, Owner at Flax Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your great review. The sun's been shining and our folding doors have been open! We're very grateful for your custom, kind words and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flax Cafe Bar also viewed

Lowestoft, Suffolk
 
Lowestoft, Suffolk
Lowestoft, Suffolk
 

Been to Flax Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing