We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkhill(Lowestoft)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Potters Resort(Hopton on Sea)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Winelodge Hotel(Lowestoft)
View Hotel
Wherry Hotel(Oulton Broad)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,220)
Filter reviews
1,220 results
Traveller rating
521
422
164
67
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
521
422
164
67
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden lodgepremier chaletour waiterroyale roommain buildingoverlooking the lakerifle shootingentertainment teamevening entertainmenttribute bandin housecoastal villagegreat weekendindoor bowlsswimming poolline dancingnight break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
995 - 1,000 of 1,220 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2012

we have just returned from a weekend at gunton hall, although i am not a rock and roll lover i went to make up our family group, everybody seemed to enjoy the music and it was very well organised with a mixture of bands and a resident DJ.
our chalet was pretty basic and very cramped but was warm and comfortable.
the food was excellent with a good choice and excellent waiting staff, i would go again but defenitely not for a rock and roll weekend.

Room Tip: defenitely upgrade to a better chalet, the basic ones are very cramped
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigted2879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your review and booking for Gunton Hall, I am pleased to read you had such a lovely time with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon but not for a Rock 'n' Roll break!

Petrina

Posted by Michelle Holdsworth on behalf of Petrina, the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Had a midweek break recently and although we really had a good time i think we chose the week where the average age of the guests was around 70-80 years old. We did go last year for a weekend break and there was more guests our age which is mid 50's. Having said that we still had lovely food and the premier suite chalet was lovely and clean. We stayed in laburnham area which is quiet. I think next time i would choose a themed weekend perhaps soul or motown which would suit us better. I think we got a good deal though. Staff were friendly bar was a bit pricey but we have a few in the room first so its a cheaper night. Tesco store is just up the road so you can get supplies easily. Facilities are good, my husband did archery shooting and crossbow. We did swimming sauna etc...had the pool to ourselves. All in all a nice break.

Room Tip: Laburnham area is quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzieessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your review and booking for Gunton Hall, I am pleased to read you had such a lovely time with us. We do take all comments on board and they are shared with the team.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Petrina

Posted by Michelle Holdsworth on behalf of Petrina, the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Went as a couple. Stayed in Historic room/suite.
Very comfortable with separate lounge, parking space
Food and entertainment very good.
All staff very friendly. We had no complaints with anything.
We did not use many facilities, instead used the place as a base to tour around the east coast.

Room Tip: worth paying a bit extra for the better rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petbar285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you had such a great stay with us and not only did you enjoy what we offer you were able to take advantage of the local area. We are so lucky to be so close to the beach and broads, neither is more than 5 miles away.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

King Regards,

Petrina Simmons, General Manager

Posted by Michelle Holdsworth on behalf of Petrina the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed at Gunton Hall over a weekend starting 19-10-2012 Did not stay in a chalet we had an upstairs suite in the Lodge ,very clean warm and comfy. Pleanty of room large bathroom and separate shower room.Parts of dining room were quite cramped but managed to change table after first night.Two reasons for picking Gunton which is a 4 hour car journey from home.TheBarron Knights were the main entertainment on the Saterday and they were fantastic.Second reason Gunton boasts a fishing lake on sight and as my husband is a keen fisherman it was an ideal weekend but on arrival we where told the lake was closed as it was contaminated so that was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sewing1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrina13, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We welcome all feedback good or bad, it helps us to see where are we are doing well and perhaps where improvements can be made. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your break with us. We try so hard as a team to make sure that our guests are welcomed and comfortable from the moment they arrive which includes the housekeeping team, kitchen team preparing the food and our fabulous entertainment. We do sometimes have to cancel an activity or close part of the location due to circumstances beyond our control for which we apologise. It is always our aim to keep the guests informed of what’s going on and we would only prevent a guest if we had good reason to do so. In this instance, unfortunately the lake contamination was beyond our control. We had an unexpected leak into the lake from a nearby site to us which meant the lake could not be used, but I can confirm it has now been rectified. I will take your feedback on board regarding your seating options and pass this on to the relevant team manager.

I do hope this has not deterred you from visiting Gunton Hall as we would love to welcome you back to us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We decided to take a last minute break here and selected Gunton Hall as we had been before. I booked online 3 days before and received confirmation by email, but on arrival they were unable to find my booking even though I had a confirmation number. When we got to our chalet it was very clean and comfortable but we although we paid for a premier chalet the extras advertised weren't there, the shower was a trickle and the bathroom dated, In the restaurant we went to our allocated table only to find that it was already occupied and the occupants reluctant to move! eventually we were seated but the wine we pre-ordered did not arrive and then when it did it was the wrong one, and that was the first night! However after that the rest of the weekend was fine. The entertainment is as expected from Warners but that has never bothered us and the people we met there very friendly.

Being located close the the sea there are a number of seaside resorts close by, which are ideal for a visit.

We will be back at some time but only if we can get a very very good deal not too sure if paying full price is value for money




tip - there is a Tesco's a 10 minute stroll away which is useful

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beswickbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrina13, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thank you taking the time to write a review, we are very sorry to hear that you did not have such a good start to your break. We do have a check in procedure that should have all of our guests welcome packs ready to check in numerically, in this instance it seems that your welcome pack could have been placed in the wrong order which we sincerely apologise for along with the mix up with your table and wine. This really is not normal practice for Gunton Hall. Our aim is to make sure each guest is happy and that we exceed expectations. In regards to your shower and bath water pressure I do hope that the maintenance team came along and rectified it for you. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the remainder of your break with us and so much so that you will return, we do have offers available and one very good one that we have at the moment is our 50% off when paying in full.

We would love to see you soon so we can give you the true Warner welcome.

Regards

Petrina Simmons General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews