We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4night break in January2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Slough UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4night break in January2013”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Very friendly staff, nice warm room,food excellent, service second to none, if they could only have had a say in the weather! We left a day early to get home before the snow started coming down heavily. It would have been helpfull to know that there was quite a distance from the chalets to the restaurant, maybe this could be in the info of the hotel so you can take suitable shoes and clothing.But have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzilizzi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very pleased to read your comments and am genuinely pleased to hear you enjoyed the entertainment and food so much!

Thank you for bringing to my attention that there is no mention of the room distances in the Warner brochure, I will feed this back to my Marketing team.

We hope to welcome you back again soon

Regards,

Petrina Simmons

Petrina, General Manager
Posted by Michelle Holdsworth on behalf of Petrina, the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    365
    140
    59
    39
See reviews for
137
591
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We recently attended a '50's sounds' weekender. This was not our first such break with Warners at this location. Overall we felt that the food and resturant service was on par with our expectations, although they appeared to be scrimping on items such a sugar, tea, coffee etc; at the tables, which almost semed to be rationed.
Live entertainment on the Fri and Sat nights was excellent and as we had anticipated (ie: 50's), the big disppointment was on the Sun night, when we had to endure a combination of games (which would have done 1970's Butlins proud!), followed by a lengthy musicals production from the sites entertainment team. This meant that one third of the weekends live entertainment was not as advertised (ie: 50's sounds). We received very little recognition from the site staff regarding this problem. One redeeming factor was the excellent DJ who played on all nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
I appreciate the time it took for you to leave us your feedback so thanks for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment, unfortunately the weekend was not a totally themed weekend around the 50’s and I sincerely apologise that you were led to believe otherwise.

The main 50’s entertainment was based on the Saturday evening which is when we have our main visiting cabaret. I must apologise in regards to the complimentary tea, coffee and sugar, this is not usual practice for Gunton Hall and I do hope that it was satisfactorily replenished for you.

We do take all comments on board, they are taken seriously and shared with the team.
I do hope this has not put you off booking for Gunton Hall again as we would love to welcome you back.


Regards,

Petrina, General Manager

Posted by Michelle Holdsworth on behalf of Petrina, the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Gunton Hall Near Lowestoft is a great place to get away from the hussle of daily life. The hall itself is nothing special and from the outside looks a little ordianary however the facilities of the Warner Complex were really good if you want to have some time away from home. We stayed in a premier Chalet called Labernum and this was a little walk away from the main complex so would not recommend if you find walking difficult. We had a little lounge area and seperate bedroom and bathroom. All very adequate for short break and roomy enough for two. The decor was basic but clean,not luxurious but very comfortable.The food was carvery or a few Al a Carte choices and was like home cooked, very easy to eat and nothing fancy.You have to report for breakfast between 0830 and 0930 and everyhing was hot and well cooked, the evening meal was from 1830 to 1930 .The evening entertainment was basic fun and the entertainment staff were always friendly and happy. If you ar expecting West End then its not for you, if you like to go with the flow and are not too judegmental then you will have fun. The do you Warner Dance workshops were great at going over basic steps , if you are an experienced dancer then they are fun but you will not learn much. The pool was large and not overcrowded, the gym had enough pieces of equipment to keep you busy for an hour and the grounds are worth a walk.Generally the fellow holiday makers were of retired age but being slightly younger we still had a good time and met some friendly people. This is not a cruise on land but good fun if you have an open mind and do not expect too much. There are some good cheap deals to be had too.

Room Tip: As for near to the main hotel. go cheap as there is not much in paying more and if you like the acti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2013

East Suffolk Blind (Reg Charity No 206886) held a fundraising gala night at Gunton Hall on 21st December 2012. We can only praise highly the professionalism of all the management and staff during the planning stage and on the night. The evening was a great success and we would love to do it all again!

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank EastSuffolkBlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We really enjoyed our stay over Twixmas and New Year. Ths was the third year that we had been away at this thime of year at Gunton. The entertainment and accomodation was excellent. The food and service was also very good. Although most guests took trouble with their apearance and looked very nice we were surprsed to see a man in the dining room in the evening wearing shorts and think you should have an active dress code for the eveing. We have booked to come to Gunton Hall for the same period in 2013. 4th Year running. Well worth our 170 mile jouney.

Room Tip: We have been in many different rooms over the years and think the new lodge rooms look very nice but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M85W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at Warners for Christmas 2012 we could not fault it, staff food entertainment and accomodation was excellent, and overall holiday was even better than we expected we did upgrade our rooms when we booked and it was well worth it.

Room Tip: be prepared to upgrade to get best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Having stayed at Corton & Lakeside on several occassions decided to give Gunton Hall the once over. My weekend break was 4th - 7th January.
First impressions were that it looked a bit drab and could do with a makeover.
From my arrival to my departure i found the staff helpful, cheerful and efficient. Very welcoming and approachable.
The chalet accommodation was exceptionally clean and comfortable even though the adjoing chalet wall was paper thin. Just as well i had considerate neighbours .
Facilities were of a good standard especially the swimming pool.
Entertainment was first class each evening, but the day time activities programme could have been better implemented.
Food was of a very good standard and the service was exceptionally good.
If i had to nominate a member of staff that intereacted with with the guests and was a more than competent entertainer, it would have to be Carl Hemling. A very talented compere and singer. The best one so far at any Warner i have frequented.
As they say nothings perfect, but Gunton Hall should be proud of their guest relations and service, which certainly stands out from the crowd.
I for one will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maidstonetony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
2.9 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
396 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
465 reviews
6.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Address: Gunton Avenue, Lowestoft NR32 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lowestoft
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every break at Gunton Hall includes hearty hot and cold buffet breakfasts and delicious three-course dinners. Lots of daytime activities and leisure facilities including swimming,archery and salon spa.A unique and dazzling schedule of entertainment and dancing is also included in your holiday.The Hotel organises shopping trips to Nowhich, Bure Valley steam trains and Broads cruises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunton Hall Hotel Lowestoft
Gunton Hall Lowestoft
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing