We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again in November.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Back again in November.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

In November we took our first ever break at a Warners resort.We chose Gunton Hall as it is only an hour and a half drive from our home.It was a Turkey and Tinsel break where the staff provide their guests with all the trimmings of Christmas and New Year(complete with cards and a gift)The accomodation,a suite in the Lodge House ,was very clean and comfortable.The dining room was in the main building and provdided us with excellent food (including a wonderful Christmas lunch on the second night )throughout our stay.The entertainment was also very good.We went back in January of this year into a premier room and had another great time.Thus our forward booking for November this year.Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Premier rooms are a bit bigger than standard with more sitting space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review for Gunton Hall. I will make sure the relevant teams get the excellent feedback and I look forward to seeing you back in November.

Michelle Holdsworth, Guest Relations Manager posting on behalf of the General Manager, Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    353
    137
    55
    39
See reviews for
132
560
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Attended a reunion here in April, fantastic, good food, good service and excellent entertainment. Wew hired the whole place for the weekend, 400 plus of us and I can recommend Gunton Hall for a reuion type event, where 400 people attend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle H, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
It was a pleasure hosting H.M.S Ganges Association and your members were a delight to serve. I look forward to 2014, when we host your event again.

Michelle Holdsworth, Guest Relations Manager posting on behalf of Simon Haslam, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

came back from gunton hall on 1oth june this year and had a very enjoyable time. we had a standard room opposite lake. lovely view. the room had been refurbished to a good standard but we found it very small. would upgrade if we went again. as for the food. it was lovely so much to choose from and well presented and nicely cooked. you had a job which to choose. the meals served to your table or the carvery. brilliant.

Room Tip: we had rooms 8 and 9 and view wise think they are best on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brenda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle H, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and I will make sure our Head Chef (Jason Howitt) and the brigade of chefs receive the positive feedback. Recently we have built 25 luxury lodges so if you want to upgrade your accommodation in the future we have several options for you to consider.

Michelle Holdsworth, Guest Relations Manager posting on behalf of Simon Haslam, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night break. On arrival we were disappointed with our Premier Chalet it was small and very dated, it smelled musty and the hinges on the bathroom door were rusty. According to the brochure we should have had "Classy furnishings and extra space" a 26" TV and the photo showed a 6ft bed(super king) The room was smaller than we expected and did not in our opinion have classy furnishings, they were very basic. The bed was on a 4'6" (double) and the TV was only a 19" When we reported this at reception a replacement TV was provided the following morning. The manager said the room was to small to take a larger bed (so were was the extra space?)
When we went to the Restaurant things just went from bad to worse the crockery and cutlery were dirty, you had to sort out the plates on the carvery to find a clean one, and other people were doing the same, when we reported this to a supervisor he just agreed with me and did not seem at all concerned which I found a little strange.
The staff were all very nice but the place is let down by lots of small things that could easily be remedied eg litter that remained in the same place all week.
I don't think we will return to Gunton.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USAdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience, it does not sound up to our usual high standards and therefore I apologise.
Thank you for the review on your stay and I will pass your comments to Housekeeping and the Food & Beverage team. We constantly strive to improve standards and take on all feedback to improve the product. I am glad we were able to swap your TV for you and hope you found some positives to your holiday.

I hope to see you back again.

Michelle Holdsworth, Guest Relations Manager posting on behalf of Simon Haslam, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Although a fair attempt has been made to update this resort has a distinct feel of a 1960's holiday camp. Chalets a distance from the main dining room, Chalets a little cramped and some decoration issues. Some of public areas need further updating to be of a modern standard. Entertainment was good and food was average with an obvious staff shortage in dining room with a full resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle H, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
I appreciate your comments about Gunton Hall and therefore delighted to share the news that in a couple of weeks we have finished painting and fitting a lovely new carpet in the Rosewood restaurant. This follows on from the refurbishment of reception and the Regency Bar. We are constantly looking at improving the product and take on board all feedback.

Michelle Holdsworth, Guest Relations Manager posting on behalf of Simon Haslam, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

we had a great weekend on the 14th June. The new garden lodges are really nice. only one thing to think of in the winter could be a little far to walk in the cold. The food not quite as good as last time but we did enjoy ourselves and are booked to go back in October. The staff are helpful. any problems and they deal with it asap . Altogether a very good time .

Room Tip: premier lodges in garden look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 56maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle H, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about the new lodge development which have had rave reviews from new and existing guests to Gunton Hall. I look forward to seeing you in October when you come back for a second holiday.

Michelle Holdsworth, Guest Relations Manager posting on behalf of Simon Haslam, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Beds
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and I have just enjoyed a 2 night midweek break staying in Lodge 4 nights of 12th & 13th June 2013. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful although I did have to wait a considerable time at check in whilst the one and only receptionist was on a lengthy booking telephone call. I said to her that this should be done by someone in the "back office". However this was soon forgotten. The food was good and plentiful. It was the entertainment on both nights that made this stay memorable, particularly on 13th, when 2 male singers and about 8 girl singers/dancers, all very good, gave a selection of most entertaining extracts from various musical shows.

Room Tip: The Lodge stairs to the two upper suites are quite steep, I would try for the ground floo in future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSAP4853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle H, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
I am really pleased you enjoyed your holiday experience at Gunton Hall. I will make sure Anna and the entertainments team receive your positive feedback. I totally agree with you “A night at the Musicals “is a great showpiece for the talents of our in-house entertainment team.

Michelle Holdsworth, Guest Relations Manager posting on behalf of Simon Haslam, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
3.0 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
2.4 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Address: Gunton Avenue, Lowestoft NR32 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lowestoft
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every break at Gunton Hall includes hearty hot and cold buffet breakfasts and delicious three-course dinners. Lots of daytime activities and leisure facilities including swimming,archery and salon spa.A unique and dazzling schedule of entertainment and dancing is also included in your holiday.The Hotel organises shopping trips to Nowhich, Bure Valley steam trains and Broads cruises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunton Hall Hotel Lowestoft
Gunton Hall Lowestoft
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing