We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT ENTERTAINMENTS TEAM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT ENTERTAINMENTS TEAM”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our first impression of Gunton Hall was not good. Only one car park, and our chalet was the furthest distance possible from it. The chalet itself was adequate, but by no means luxurious. This impression changed when we had our first meal. The service was excellent, the choice good and the food was varied, well presented and tasty. For our four night stay the Entertainments Team worked incredibly hard and had a good mix of dancing,quizzes, bingo,cabaret, to keep everyone happy. The swimming pool was good, though the changing facilities are poor, but overall we had a very happy stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrighty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear “Wrighty 50”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay. I am pleased to share the news that we are updating all the car park lighting and changing the flooring in the leisure changing rooms in January. Also, that you enjoyed the entertainment product and your dining experience.

Kind Regards

Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    365
    140
    59
    39
See reviews for
137
592
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have been mob handed ( 22 persons) from our sailing club for the last three years and based upon what we have experienced our numbers continue to grow. especially as when there is drinks included. Food is average to good with a number of options and the entertainment is good value. Where else can you learn to shoot,fence and bowl all in a three day package at no extra cost .

Room Tip: some have been re-worked and are draught free and very warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear “Gerry A”

Thank you for the review and I will pass your positive feedback onto my management team at Gunton Hall. I agree with you that Warner holidays offer exceptional value to our guests.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

As an experienced magician and entertainment agent how can you book 6 bands to play non stop for 90 minutes each 2 per night? A structured evening with an mc and better disco sound would help. Have meal times set differently would also help. Also plan a better programme of evening events. Maybe some thoughts about extra types of entertainment and decor and lighting would also help. If you really want a rock and roll band or event give my office a call!

Room Tip: depends what you want walking or near to restaurant maybe a room with a parking space as parking is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear “Magicnic”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I will pass your comments to Monica Madgwick, who is the third party organiser that hosts the “Rock ‘n Roll” festival weekend. Please e-mail me your details of your entertainment agency so I can look for future events.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

second time this year at Gunton Hall . this one was Concierge break 11th October. we had premier suite with lake view once again a great room lovley shower and spotless.the entertainment staff first class and so friendly went around and spoke to the the guests. food also very good.. good choice and hot and fresh. could do with some fresh paint here and there . we will always return its so relaxing ....

Room Tip: go for premier suite or garden lodges with lake views .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear “56 Maz”

Thank you for the review on Trip Advisor and I am pleased that you enjoyed our concierge break at Gunton Hall. Loyalty is the cornerstone of any business so I am truly delighted, as a concierge guest, you had “another great time”

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just returned from a 4 day stay in one of the new garden lodges at Gunton Hall. We thought we had got a good deal but when we arrived we found out it was a line dancing week (definitely not our favourite pastime) and so there were no shows that week so think it could have been a bit cheaper. The garden lodge was beautiful, a cosy sitting area, a massive bed and a large double shower. However the whole place was very dark even when the sun was shining outside which made it a bit dismal. In fact all the interiors at Gunton are very dark and cheerless which was probably the reason why there were a lot of people sitting sleeping so for us this is not the most stimulating place to be. The entertainment hall really needs some refurbishment, the chairs were very badly stained and it appeared to be very cold as we saw people sitting with their coats on. Once again it had a very depressing atmosphere so we never bothered staying but went back to our accommodation after dinner. We decided to go swimming one afternoon but that was not a very good experience either, the pool had lots of foreign bodies floating about in it (plasters, hairbands etc.) and when we went to use the jacuzzi there was a grey dingy film about 3 ins wide all around the edge which we actually got a tissue and managed to scrape off. This pool looked like it had not been properly cleaned for a while so we decided not to stay. We love Warner holidays but will not be staying at this location again.

Room Tip: The best tip I can give is to stay at the other Warner site in Corton much brighter, friendlier with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolajonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear “Lolajonty”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay. I am disappointed to read about your experience and have fed your feedback to my leisure manager about the pool, which normally receives rave reviews from our guests. The holiday was advertised as a” line dancing break” therefore the entertainment was focused on that particular genre of music. I am pleased to inform you that we have added two new heating/cooling units into the Lakeview Pavilion this week which has helped the comfort of our guests watching and dancing to our live entertainment.
I am glad to read you “love Warner holidays” and I wish to thank you for your loyal custom for the brand.

Kind Regards

Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Booked a last minute 4 night break for my daughters birthday on 1st October. We had a premier chalet which was lovely and very warm. We took part in all the activities. Swimming pool was great lovely and warm. Food was very good plenty of choice Beds very comfortable. The shows were wonderful and considering the great staff who were teaching the activities were also dancing or singing in the shows in the evening they did a marvallous job and were all very helpful. Only two concerns. The lighting on the main path down to the chalets needs improving. It was very dark. We were in elm. We went and did the welly wangling. Which considering how many of the people taking part were in their late sixties and over was not a good idea. Several people fell over backwards doing it including me. At 65. I came down very heavily on my hand as well. Anyway apart from those two things we both really enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear “Carolyn D”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am delighted you came to Gunton Hall to celebrate your daughter’s birthday. I am pleased to share the news that in early 2014 we are looking to start a rolling programme of improving the lighting around the village to the guest accommodation.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just got back from Gunton Hall ,7 Day break, been to Warner's in the past , but what a change,
weekend part of the break great, but then came the mid week part of it,
Sorry but it changed into a nursing home simmer frames mobility scoters every corner you turn

My Wife and I are 58 and are young in our thoughts and in life, but sorry there were so many older adults there than we thought there would be,all moaning about the food and rude to the waiting staff etc, the shows and menus repeated it self as well, not all but 2 shows and 2 menus
Overall good place , but only good for a weekend break, as there is a lot more younger adults,
Also make Sure you have plenty of cash the drinks are well over the top on prices
Nice staff clean rooms, but just to many older adults for us,

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuser2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Fuser"2662”

Thank you for the review and I am so happy you enjoyed the weekend element of your holiday. With respect to midweek breaks we are currently reviewing our entertainment product. I am pleased to share the news, that in early 2014 we have a new entertainment product –“Party through the Decades” which celebrates the music genres of the 50’s,60’s and 70’s.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
2.9 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.3 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
467 reviews
6.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Address: Gunton Avenue, Lowestoft NR32 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
#6 Family Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every break at Gunton Hall includes hearty hot and cold buffet breakfasts and delicious three-course dinners. Lots of daytime activities and leisure facilities including swimming,archery and salon spa.A unique and dazzling schedule of entertainment and dancing is also included in your holiday.The Hotel organises shopping trips to Nowhich, Bure Valley steam trains and Broads cruises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunton Hall Hotel Lowestoft
Gunton Hall Lowestoft
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing