We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Nearby Hotels
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winelodge Hotel(Lowestoft)
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel(Lowestoft)(Great Value!)
US$98
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Parkhill(Lowestoft)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wherry Hotel(Oulton Broad)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,222)
Filter reviews
1,222 results
Traveller rating
521
423
165
67
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
521
423
165
67
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden lodgepremier chaletour waiterroyale roommain buildingoverlooking the lakerifle shootingentertainment teamevening entertainmenttribute bandin housecoastal villagegreat weekendindoor bowlsswimming poolline dancingnight break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
852 - 857 of 1,222 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is the second time we stayed at Gunton Hall and thoroughly enjoyed our break. The facilities are excellent and the staff are really hard working and friendly. We had a Premier room, beware if you are given a Premier room which has extras like a larger television but is still very very small and cramped, ours was great. The food is excellent, freshly prepared and offering a good choice. James our waiter was charming and very accommodating - good luck to him raising money for the Royal British Legion in the London Marathon. Kevin who was in charge of the bowling was always pleasant and helpful and organised a fun tournament very efficiently. My only tip would be to take your own pillows as the ones they supply are very hard.

Room Tip: Premier rooms in Hawthorne are lovely
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear “Barbara K”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent holiday at Gunton Hall and I am extremely pleased you had a “Relaxing Break”. I am immensely proud of James and his quest to raise £2,000 for the Royal British legion by running the London marathon.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I think we have finally had enough. On previous occasions Warners Gunton Hall has provided us with the following memorable experiences:

- unclean room on arrival (sanitary items still in bins and dirty bath)

- housekeeping staff clearing our room and leaving our room unsecure, prior to our allocated check out time and with our luggage still in the room!

- inaccurate descriptions of entertainment line-up in advertisements

- and only last week - Whilst attending a weekend stay, we heard a rumour that the itinerary for an October 2014 event (that we have paid a deposit for) had changed.
Thinking it strange that we had not been formally informed of this by Warners, we questioned the Gunton Hall reception staff, they denied all knowledge of any changes.
Then lo and behold next morning we all had adverts on our breakfast tables, confirming our suspicions, and advertising the changed weekend (that they claimed to know nothing about).

Note:Forget registering your complaint with their on-line email service - we have tried this twice regarding the latest fiasco, expect only a corporate automated reply message in return

The only redeeming factors for this site are: they have a great dancefloor, good sound in ballroom, overall food quality is satisfactory and their restaurant waiting staff are really hardworking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear “globe 28”

May I take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of Gunton Hall that you were not informed of the entertainment change later in the year. The advertised brochure break of “Rock N Roll” is now replaced with the Tremolos and Marmalade. I understand your disappointment and maybe you might consider visiting our sister hotel Lakeside, who are hosting a “Rock N Roll festival” with Monica Madwick in July.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have just got home after having a great weekend with friends at GH, 17-20 Jan 14. this follows our first visit which was in January of last year at that time we were a party of 12, this year there were 23 of us and we all had a great time, there were a couple of small issues but nothing that would put us off from returning again next January, all the staff were very good and in particular our waitress "Tammy" she was exceptional, at every meal time a constant smile and nothing was to much trouble, a credit to the team, a good people person. One down side for me was this weekend was a "Motown/Soul" theme, there were approx 100 people from a dance club there who were only dancing to the beat and not connecting to the theme ! shame but l'me sure they enjoyed it. This hotel offers a good value for money break and look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear “Clive N”

Thank you for lovely feedback and I am glad you had a great weekend”. I know Tammy has read your great comments about her service and she was delighted that she made a difference to your holiday experience.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have just got back from a 5 day break and like the first time thoroughly enjoyed our stay so much so neither of us wanted to come home. We stayed in one of the new garden lodges so comfortable all mod cons, overlooking lake. Very spacious so different to the chalet we stayed in 2 yrs ago which we found unfortunately very dated and cramped but still we enjoyed our stay. I'm disabled and use a mobility scooter so the garden lodge was just right. The staff are all very friendly and couldn't do more for you. Food brill. good selection for both meat lovers and vegetarians. The chef done a great job putting together a different menu for every day. Would go to say food first class. Hope to go back at the end of the year. Our waitress Kristel was lovely keeping me topped up with drink (only water may i add im teatotal. Keep up the good work Gunton Hall.

Room Tip: recommend garden lodge ok slightly dearer but well worth it especially if you have mobility problems
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear “jem b”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay and I am pleased you had a “great time at Gunton Hall”. I am delighted you enjoyed staying in one of our new lodges and I will make sure Jason Howitt (chef) and Kristel receive the great feedback on service.

Kind Regards

Simon Haslam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

visited 10 Jan 2014 challet 19 sycamore.
Been to Gunton Hall many times always first class, but things have changed.
our premier challet was in need of refurb items of funiture missing ie. dressing table stool missing,
cushions missing, drape on bed missing, rusty towell rail
Food bars running short of food had to wait for top up. roast potatoes reheated , not very nice
room service poor bed only half made, cleaning items left in challet

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear “Ken”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay and I am pleased to share the exciting news that we start an extensive refurbishment programme of Sycamore 16-30 on Monday morning. In addition to decoration works the baths are being replaced with showers and the surrounding gardens are being beautifully landscaped. The programme will take approximately 12 weeks to complete and I would love to host a visit for you to see the improvement works and have some lunch with me. If you are interested please ring Gunton Hall on 01502 730288 to arrange a visit.

Kind Regards

Simon Haslam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews