We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night midweek stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Two night midweek stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

A 2 night relaxing break, currently in a new Garden Lodge room after asking to pay for an upgrade. We were in a premier room . It was very tired rail in wardrobe held up by string, noisy heater, mouldy bathroom blind and wardrobe top cupboard door nearly fell off. It needed a complete refurb. Reception staff very helpful and we have paid extra to upgrade well worth it ,I would have scored higher if we hadn't been in a premier room (Elmtree the furthest away). Spa staff wonderful!
Used warners for many years but this is first in chalet accomadtion. Would recommend the best you can buy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear “Sandra”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your holiday at Gunton Hall. I am pleased to share the news we are currently spending in excess of £0.5 million on bedroom refurbishments during 2014 and the feedback from the guests so far has been hugely positive. I am glad we were able to problem solve on site and you enjoyed our garden lodges which were built last year.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    365
    140
    59
    39
See reviews for
137
592
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just a 2 night break but well enjoyed,excellent meals, friendly staff, Katie our waitress was excellent! Very enjoyable entertainment. The chalet was clean ,warm and comfortable overlooking the lake with plenty of ducks for company. Just one small gripe, if you close the coffee shop at 4.30 don't start cleaning tables and hoovering the carpets at 3.30, it can be quite annoying to say the least.

Room Tip: D block is excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ady-ze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear “ady-ze”

Thank you for your posting and I am pleased you enjoyed your short break at Gunton Hall and will make sure Katie receives some reward and recognition for her service. The constructive comments about the coffee shop have been noted and passed to the retail manager to implement a new cleaning schedule.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I booked for a weekend break in a Premier Plus chalet. This was by no means the bottom of the range but the chalet was the furthest away from the main buildings and quite small. We had numerous problems, the main radiator didn't work, the bed swayed side to side, there was no extractor fan in the bathroom so having a shower meant the whole chalet filling with condensation, there was mold around the bathroom window and the electrical connector on the bathroom towel heater was broken. We stuck it for one night and complained. We were reassigned a different chalet which was fine. As regards the restaurant, the food was quite basic, you could expect better value down the pub. The entertainment was OK, too many silly games, but the main entertainment on Saturday night, Eddystone Lighthouse was a bit grim

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pehu44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear “Pehu44r”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your holiday at Gunton Hall. I would like to get more detail about your experience as this does not sound like the high standards we have at Gunton Hall. At your convenience please ring Gunton Hall on 01502 730288 and speak to Carrie Ann who looks after guest liaison.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

stayed here from 7th -10th feb with hubby and my elderly mum ,she had standard room that was in ash block really close to main building ,only downside was if 2 people in it you would be pushed for room ,myself and hubby had a premier chalet in elm block ,it was fab ,clean ,tidy and very warm ...great for feb break .
robbie tribute was good,take that not so great as kept bursting into motown songs ???.
entertainments team worked really hard especially hayley who clearly loves her job
food was nice ,could sometimes do with being bit hotter ,and thankfully the salads are no longer drenched in oil .
being a drinks inclusive weekend it was great to try new drinks and re visit some old ones , im now very partial to a martini .all in all a great weekend ,good value,and we will back next year ,probably with a few friends in tow .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorrainesawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear “lorrainesawyer”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent holiday at Gunton Hall and I am pleased you had a nice time with your husband and mum on holiday. I was particularly pleased to read your comment about bringing friends next time as you will only advocate a product if you truly value the experience.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Not sure what to expect on arrival at Warners Holiday Village having memories of
1970's holiday villages/camps. The check in took a long time and we discovered
that our "lodge" was a long walk from the main house. Looks are deceptive because inside the chalet was warm clean and comfortable, with full size bathroom and tea/coffee facilities. The amenities were excellent, especially the extra large indoor swimming pool. The grounds are pleasant, even in winter. The breakfasts and dinners are only available over one hour, but the service and quality of food was excellent. There are plenty of activities so one can do as much or as little as one likes. This was good value for money, as Warners were offering a very good discount during February.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normaedwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear “normaedwina”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay and I am pleased you enjoyed your “mini two day break”. I am very proud of the facilities at Gunton Hall and I also enjoy swimming therefore I am glad we have the largest pool in the Warner brand (23m)
Kind Regards

Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a weekend at Gunton Hall as we got a really good price for the break and after enjoying ourselves at other Warner's properties we decided to give it a go. After reading some of the reviews on trip advisor we were slightly nervous but given that it was a cheap break we went for it anyway. We booked a premium chalet in Greenwood and I must say the standard of accommodation was surprising good as our chalet was modern, quite spacious and looked like it had been recently refurbished. The weekend was very wet and windy but our chalet was plenty warm enough. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and quickly rectified a mix up with the concierge club booking. The food in the restaurant was piping hot and there was plenty of choice both in the evening and at breakfast. I think our table number was 126 and our waitress, Olivia, was one of the nicest and most helpful people you could wish to meet. Seeing her at mealtimes was an absolute pleasure.
The entertainments team all worked very hard and Hayley was a star. She was bubbly and fun and her solo performance in the late lounge was brilliant. She even managed to make me want to join in the pop choir!
The site could do with some money spent on the restaurant, coffee shop and the entertainments area as they need an update but the staff around the site more than make up for anything the buildings lack.
Warner's has an image as being an old persons holiday but at 46 I didn't feel out of place and would recommend Gunton Hall to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kinex22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear “Kinex 22”

Thank you for lovely feedback and I am glad you had a “Cheerful Weekend” and in particular the service from the team. I will make sure Olivia reads the lovely feedback for her level of service and friendliness. Unfortunately Hayley now works in Cyprus but I know she is in contact with all her friends back at Gunton Hall and will get to know about the great comments.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We (31) of us have just got back yesterday from Gunton Hall, we stayed in Premier Rooms,Premier Suites and Garden lodge Suites. What can I say, all rooms were fantastic especially the Lodges, wow they are brilliant with great view over lakes. We booked to play bowls on sat which everyone enjoyed and we were looked after by Kevin. On Sunday Lewis took a large group of us for rifle range which was brilliant, then we had a break then off he took us for Archery and Cross Bow. Well all I can say is fantastic he looked after all of us very professionally, and we all had such a laugh he needs a medal for putting up with all of us.
Trevor the restaurant manager was fab, we had him last year as our waiter and this year was pleased to see he had been promoted! he even got us fresh mushrooms when we complained they were tin ?.
Robbie tribute was ok but not brilliant,TakeThat tribute was brilliant and we had a fantastic night dancing the whole night away.
Sunday we took part in Horse racing again this was very good as well.
Only had a few complaints ? Downstairs was not open anymore seems they do training down there now, which was a shame as last year we used this area a lot ie killer darts but now we have to use dartboard next to main bar (not much room) and bar was not open, also people moaned about noise as they were watching a film in main hall,main bar did not open lunchtime which meant we was waiting a long time to get drinks in regency bar with only one barman on, eventually we did get a second barman?
Overall we did have a brilliant time and will be going back next year for our 3rd weekend break with all our friends and family, shame we could book the deal they had on offer,as they didn't do group offers on site, shame as there maybe 40/50 people next year.

Room Tip: Garden Lodges or premier rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear “Sue W”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent holiday at Gunton Hall and I am extremely pleased you had a “brilliant time” with your friends. I will make sure Kevin, Lewis and Trevor receive the positive feedback about their customer care. I am pleased to share the news that the next time you return to Gunton Hall we are able to look after group bookings on site.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
2.9 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.3 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
467 reviews
6.6 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Address: Gunton Avenue, Lowestoft NR32 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lowestoft
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every break at Gunton Hall includes hearty hot and cold buffet breakfasts and delicious three-course dinners. Lots of daytime activities and leisure facilities including swimming,archery and salon spa.A unique and dazzling schedule of entertainment and dancing is also included in your holiday.The Hotel organises shopping trips to Nowhich, Bure Valley steam trains and Broads cruises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunton Hall Hotel Lowestoft
Gunton Hall Lowestoft
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing