We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th birthday celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“50th birthday celebration”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great weekend. Great welcome on arrival, given keys and welcome pack straight away and then straight away into restaurant and shown to table. Given tasters on wine before we chose the wine for our evening meals all weekend. Room was clean and had a great view even had a long deep bath. Entertainment was good all weekend and weather brilliant. Yet another great weekend delivered by Warners!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to have a great outlook but if you have difficulty in walking ask for one near comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharron t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear “Sharron T”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent holiday at Gunton Hall and I am extremely pleased you had a “great weekend” for the special birthday celebration. We hope to see you soon again at Warner.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    370
    142
    59
    39
See reviews for
138
601
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I booked this as a 40th birthday present for my husband and we had an amazing time. When we arrived we were shown to our table (no.40) and then directed to our suite. I booked a v.I.p evening for a surprise and a cake I was confused how it works so when we went to our room I went to sort it out, the staff couldn't have been more helpful the v.I.p had been set for the wrong the night so they sorted it, unfortunately when it got to the night it wasn't set up so I spoke to the bar staff and they sorted it and gave us a bottle of champagne for the mix up. My husband was so surprised when his cake was bought to the dinner table by 4 waiters and the whole room sang happy birthday. We were the youngest ones there but it didn't bother us as the staff were all very young. We loved all the activities and were very lucky with the weather, the entertainment was above what we expected. We encountered a young man named James green he wasn't our waiter but helped a lot through our stay and spoke to us every morning. The premier suite with lake view was gorgeous, the food was lovely with a different menu every night, the singer Emma from crackerjax is amazing and all the entertainers made you feel welcome. Thank you very much for an amazing holiday we will definitely be back again

Room Tip: Premier suite or garden suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tilly83uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear “Jacksy53”

Thank you for your review and I glad you had a “fantastic” time celebrating your husband’s 40th Birthday. I will make sure James and Emma receive from reward and recognition for their excellent service. I aslo love the photos you posted of the wildlife found at Gunton Hall.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked a weekend at Gunton Hall with friends for our Silver Wedding anniversary. We were initially unhappy with the allocated accommodation because the chalets were in different areas of the site. However, the Manager quickly resolved this for us and we were happy with the alternative chalets.

Overall though, we were a bit disappointed with the weekend. Our main reason for booking a Warner break was the evening entertainment and we expected a similar standard as we'd experienced on a previous break at Warner’s Bembridge Coast hotel. I’m sorry to say Gunton Hall’s entertainment bore no comparison. At Bembridge there was a choice every evening. As well as the show in the main hall, there was always an alternative in the bar/lounge; these were proper entertainers including a good young Country singer and a former member of the group “The Tornadoes”. Gunton Hall had nothing like this. There was a decent comedian/magician on Friday night for about 40 minutes and there’s no doubt that the main attraction “Showmaddymaddy” put on a great show on Saturday night, but apart from that it was just the resident entertainment team who can best be described as enthusiastic amateurs who only seemed interested in performing music of the 50’s and 60’s. I wasn’t even born in the 50’s and not very old in the 60’s so wouldn’t choose a 50’s/60’s weekend. The weekend was advertised as “70’s sounds with Showmaddymaddy”. I realise that the expression “70’s sounds” is describing the headline act but common sense should suggest to whoever plans the entertainment programme that people booking something described in such a way must like 70’s music. Sadly apart from Showmaddymaddy, the only attempt at 70’s music was the last half hour of the final night when two of the female entertainment staff sang a couple of Abba and Candi Statton songs at the front of the stage whilst the resident bands equipment was cleared behind the curtain. By this time there was hardly anyone left in the room to hear it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Carol

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor and I am pleased I problem solved the accommodation with an upgrade.
I am disappointed that you didn’t enjoy the entertainment however music preferences can be subjective to taste and we did receive a lot of positive feedback from the weekend. I know you booked on the internet but a suggestion going forward is you ring the hotel direct and the advantage is they can give you a full breakdown of the entertainment product for the break.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

As usual another very enjoyable stay at Warner Leisure . We have stayed at several Warner Hotels and now we have added Gunton Hall to out list. We have always found members of staff very helpful. Top marks to Toni for keeping our chalet "spick and span" and restaurant staff for always being cheerful. We look forward to another break in the near future. Top marks to all concerned for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank constance l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear “Constance”

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay and I am pleased you enjoyed staying in our refurbished “Woodlands” accommodation. The chalet is kept pristine by the housekeeper “Toni “and I will make sure your lovely comments are shared with her and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have just spent a weekend with friends at Gunton Hall and found it a rather mixed experience. Our main focus was to enjoy a weekend of entertainment, and that went rather well. The food was unexpectedly good and the staff we encountered were excellent. However, the accommodation leaves a bit to be desired. The chalet which we occupied was dated and tired and rather small. Our friends' chalet had been refurbished and was of a much higher standard and they had paid the same price as we had - surely the substandard older accommodation should be let for a lower price?

I also echo the comment of others who have noted that the pricing and accommodation options on the Warner website are confusing. The website needs some tidying up to make it more user friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hairyscot1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear “Hairyscot 314”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay and I am pleased you enjoyed the food and the team looked after you.
I have passed your comments to our marketing department who are currently working on our 2015 holiday brochure and web design about accommodation options and pricing. Our aim is to make the booking journey clearer and user friendly going foward in the future.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I don't think I remember one pleasant member of staff. Rather than dealing with a problem they kept shoving you off with another person. No one is helpful or understanding. The food was awful. Either cold or tasted bland. Not recommended at all. The restaurant team constantly messing around and not paying any attention at all. The entertainment team wasn't to bad but a few singing lessons wouldn't go a miss. Good voices but none of them knew how to harmonise. The only decent part was the band and the young lady singing for them. Disgusted!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Musicalmadness1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear “Musicalmadness”

Ay your convenience please contact the hotel on 01502 730288 and speak to Carrie Ann , who looks after our customer care, as I am most surprised at your comments and would like to discover more detail to problem solve your issues.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from May break at Gunton Hall. We have never been to a Warner's resort before and we're very impressed with our stay. The food was both delicious and presented with style----well done to the Chef and the waiters were very efficient. Loads of activities to get involved in and the best swimming pool . Lovely grounds to walk around and the entertainment team were enthusiastic and put on very entertaining shows. Premiere chalet could not be faulted. All in all a very pleasant stay , will book again. Brenda B

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear “Brenda”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent holiday at Gunton Hall and I am extremely pleased you were impressed with your stay. In particular this was your first visit to a Warner Hotel so we hope you see you again soon or visit another Warner hotel across England and Wales.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
2.9 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#4 of 10 in Lowestoft
336 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
400 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
477 reviews
19.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Address: Gunton Avenue, Lowestoft NR32 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
#6 Family Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every break at Gunton Hall includes hearty hot and cold buffet breakfasts and delicious three-course dinners. Lots of daytime activities and leisure facilities including swimming,archery and salon spa.A unique and dazzling schedule of entertainment and dancing is also included in your holiday.The Hotel organises shopping trips to Nowhich, Bure Valley steam trains and Broads cruises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunton Hall Hotel Lowestoft
Gunton Hall Lowestoft
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing