We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic 4-Night Break!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic 4-Night Break!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here from 2nd-6th June. My husband and I had a fantastic stay. We were upgraded to a Premier Chalet (room Sycamore No:12) much to our surprise as we had booked a Standard Chalet. We found the rooms to be very spacious and spotlessly clean. There was daily room service with our complimentary drinks tray being replenished also. The setting is beautiful and tranquil as it is set on the edge of Gunton Warren Nature Reserve, so lots of abundant wildlife....we were even greeted by a duck on our patio in the morning.
The food on offer was very good, lots of choice, piping hot food, hot plates, excellent selection of desserts. Breakfast was delicious and my hubby is hard to please, so that just goes to show how good is was!! I was unfortunately ill during my stay but everyone was concerned and asked about my welfare. Nothing was too much trouble from the staff who made up a tray of food for me so my husband could bring it to our chalet.
The entertainment was great, so much to see and do. We went via GB Tours with Dave the coach driver and the group of people on the coach tour were fantastic, never stopped laughing! Great time had by all, even better was the price £166/person!! We would definitely recommend Warner Gunton Hall and we plan to return again.

Room Tip: We should have stayed in a Standard Chalet but was upgraded to Premier Chalet on arrival. Having sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    360
    138
    58
    39
See reviews for
136
579
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Suffolk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It was our first visit to Gunton Hall and although we only had a standard chalet, it was comfortable, clean and quite adequate for our needs.

There was plenty of activities if you wanted to join in and the evening entertainment was excellent.

The food was first class and plenty of choice. We found all the staff most helpful.

Hope to return again soon

Room Tip: All the chalets are well spaced out so don't think you can go far wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeptemberSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Kate

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay and I am pleased you had a “fantastic mid week break”

I will make sure Christine and Joe receive some reward and recognition for their excellent service in the restaurant and housekeeping department.

Kind Regards

Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just came back from a weeks break at Gunton Hall , food was very good especially breakfast with plenty to choose from only problem was Sunday night when was a foreign menu .Entertainment was very good and New Jersey Boys were fab. Staff all very friendly our waiter Gary even offered us his umbrella one morning when it was raining and was a good mix of ages on this break. Enjoyed all the wildlife we saw when there . Well done Gunton Hall

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear “Susan”

Thank you for the feedback about your holiday and I am pleased you had an “excellent break”. I will make sure Gary your waiter receives some reward and recognition for his excellent service.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Three family couples of mixed ages stayed in three of the new suites, and they are really lovely. It's so nice to have more than just a bedroom and bathroom, especially as the weather was fairly atrocious. There are some nice walks around the lake and grounds, and plenty of wildlife to observe. We saw Moorhens with chicks, Green Woodpecker, Blue Jays, Egyptian Goose and lots of ducks and rabbits (in between rain showers!). The entertainers were very enthusiastic and talented, and put on some good shows. It was our first time at a Warners, and we were very impressed with the standard of food at breakfast and dinner. If you want lunch there is a café, but the type of food on offer here is very basic and nowhere near the standard of the other meals. As we were in new accommodation it was of a high standard, but standards of cleanliness in general are variable. In the public areas it can look rather grubby, and for instance the menus in the café are filthy. The ceilings in the spa (which you see if you have a treatment), are dirty and coming apart. It needs someone to go around and look at everything with a guest's eyes, and make small improvements. The staff are almost all very pleasant, efficient and smiley and a credit to the company. I suspect the one waiter who had a bad attitude won't be staying long anyway, as he clearly dislikes working with the public. The best thing was being able to have a holiday during school holidays without screaming kids (or barking dogs).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lebs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear “Lebs3”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent holiday at Gunton Hall and I am extremely pleased you enjoyed staying in our new garden lodges. I have taken board your comments about the spa treatment rooms and pleased to share the news that they will be refurbished over the summer months.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our group of 7 ladies have just returned from their third annual visit to Gunton. This year was a bonus as the sun shone! The food was good, entertainment as slick as ever with this years comedienne better than last year. Whilst our standard chalets was clean, it did have some mould on the bathroom ceiling, but the rest of the chalet was good. We didnt make use of the site facilities except for the pool & steam room, which we used on our return from our days out. The local area is very beautiful & we enjoyed our visits to Southwold & Somerlayton to mention just 2. Next year we are having a change of scene, of to Bembridge, but that doesnt mean we wont be back to Gunton. Special thanks to Connie, our waitress, who made us laugh as she thought we were "posh".

Room Tip: Bear in mind the rooms are spread about a lovely park, so if walking a difficulty check where your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tixielix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear “Tixielix”

Thank you for the review on Trip Advisor and I am happy that theannual holiday to Gunton Hall with the "ladies" was lots of fun. Whilst I am disappointed not to host your re-union next year I am positive you will have a great time at Bembridge on the Isle of Wight.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a hen night for 22 ladies on 24/5/14 at Gunton Hall. The evening was arranged by James Green. We had a 3 course meal which was served by Katie. The food was very good and lot of choice. James had then arranged a master class in cocktails, which was done by Jonny, Daniel and Matt, which we all enjoyed because we had to watch them making the cocktails then we had to remake them. The we got to make our own cocktails which the bride-to-be had to judge! We then danced the rest of the evening to the band of The New Jersey Boys. It was all well worth the money and would recommend it to anyone who wanted a well organized evening out. Well done Gunton Hall!

Room Tip: We didn't stay the night but everywhere looked very clean and tidy and well looked after as were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear “Julie H”

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am pleased you enjoyed the food, entertainment and the cocktail making experience from the bars team.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed in the garden lodge 8 and 9 with an interconnecting room between as I was with my very elderly mother with limited mobility. It had a walk in shower( not a wet room), but we did manage . The toilet was very low and my mother could not get on and off it without help, after a couple of days I discovered you could borrow a raised toilet seat raise which really made a difference ths was arranged from reception.With most of the guests being 60 plus there should be plenty of adapted accomodation and wet rooms etc. The rain was extremely bad and if mobility is poor this is a problem getting back to your accomodation parts are hilly if you are pushing a wheelchair and was very slippery.We also found a lot of doors difficult to open with a wheelchair especially if no one was around to help there were no hooks to latch the doors on to help.The food was very good,with a good choice.Our chalet was spotless but it was only a year old, so nice and new.The entertainment was quite good but shows started a bit late for us other guests said the same baring in mind they were older guests.The accomodation by the lakes were very peaceful .All in all a pleasant holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanneNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunton W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear “Joanne”

Thank you for the feedback about your holiday with your mother and I am glad you had a “pleasant stay”. The lodges with interconnecting doors have proved very popular with families and friends going away for a short break holiday.

Kind Regards
Simon Haslam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
2.9 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
20.0 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village
Address: Gunton Avenue, Lowestoft NR32 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lowestoft
#6 Family Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every break at Gunton Hall includes hearty hot and cold buffet breakfasts and delicious three-course dinners. Lots of daytime activities and leisure facilities including swimming,archery and salon spa.A unique and dazzling schedule of entertainment and dancing is also included in your holiday.The Hotel organises shopping trips to Nowhich, Bure Valley steam trains and Broads cruises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunton Hall Hotel Lowestoft
Gunton Hall Lowestoft
Warner Leisure Hotels Gunton Hall Coastal Village Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing