We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Barry J S
Colchester, United Kingdom

A great Improvement at Gunton Hall.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Apr 2024
Four days of the most wonderful Country & Western Music with Dancing and Acts that actually play their Instruments, with great singing voices providing the type of Entertainment we all all need under one roof at the brilliant Hotel of Warners ,Gunton Hall. The DJ was truly superb with his choices and the team providing all the Acts also did a great job.
Warners accommodation clean and so comfortable and the wildlife also entertaining.
The food this year has vastly improved and can only thank all at Gunton Hall for listening to our previous rants as all is so much better.
Therefore, booked again for next years after Easter Festival for Country and will look at further bookings with Warner, as Cruising fast becoming over indulged with too many restrictions and late alterations and the Dollar too important to the owners.
I would have have given 5 stars, but feel all the drinks are way too expensive and need to be more realistic as for instance paying nearly £6 for a Coffee Latte, when I can drive 3 miles and get a Costa for £3.85. Also consider supplying Adnams House Wines which not only taste great but represent better pricing and a local Company which helps local business.
PS : Staff excellent in all departments.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: There a nice choice of locations for what ever type of Chalet you choose.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warner Leisure Hotels, Other at Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall, responded to this review
Responded 10 Apr 2024
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We're pleased to receive your feedback and it's great to hear that you had a good stay overall.

Do come and visit us again, and thank you again for your review.

Regards,

Jodie
Guest Experience Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Lowestoft hotel exterior
PremierInn.com
£49
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Trip.com
0.5 miles from Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £86
  • eDreams
1.3 miles from Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £97
  • Booking.com
2.7 miles from Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.8 miles from Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £80
  • Booking.com
2.4 miles from Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
Best Western The Hatfield Hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £69
  • Booking.com
2.6 miles from Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.9 miles from Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £95
  • Booking.com
0.6 miles from Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
3.0 miles from Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £59
  • Booking.com
2.3 miles from Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Lowestoft
Reviews (2,532)
Filter reviews
2,535 results
Traveller rating
1,067
791
401
159
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,067
791
401
159
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden lodge premier chalet royale room main building overlooking the lake our waiter evening entertainment entertainment team rifle shooting tribute band plenty of choice swimming pool self service indoor bowls night break table tennis great weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 2,535 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2024

Had a great stay at Gunton Hall.

First impressions - The grounds were lovely but because of the weather we didn't explore as much as we could have. It would be nice to go back in the summer. Check in was quick and easy. The lady's on reception were helpful and cheerful.

Entertainment - Badness as aways were brilliant and their turn as Shamaddymaddy was also good. I wasn't over keen on the other entertainment. No complaints about the singing, just not my taste.

Activities - we did Archery with Jason which was a good laugh and Rifle Shooting with Jake - again great fun. Just the right level of competitiveness and we got to talk with other guests. Also had a couple of games of pool in the sports hall. I enjoyed the quizzes, especially Ollie's. He was very funny.

Accommodation - we stayed in a standard chalet Greenwood 7 which was a few minutes walk from the centre. It was roomy with a walk in shower and nice decor. Would have liked a fridge like we have had in other standard chalets at Warners, but I appreciate that isn't in the room description so it's an observation rather than a complaint. Couldn't work out how to turn off the bathroom radiator so it did get hot in there. The bed was super big and comfy though I did need a step ladder to get on it lol. We booked a late check out so we could relax after our breakfast and let the traffic clear a bit. The housekeeping lady was very nice.

Food and drink - food was good. Enough variety for three nights. Liked the chocolate fountain! Some strawberries for it would be good. Our servers Joel and Toby were polite and pleasant. There were special cocktails for Easter but I only got to enjoy one because they ran out of the ingredients. We used the app a lot to order. It was disappointing that not all the cocktails on the menu were on the app. Other than that, it worked well and generally service was quick.

Finally, there was a gift of some cream eggs waiting in the room on Easter Sunday, which was an unexpected but much appreciate treat!

Thank you to everyone for all their hard work for giving us a fabulous weekend. We will definitely go again.

Room tip: There's a tesco next door to get your petrol for the journey home
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pudnpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warner Leisure Hotels, Other at Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We're delighted that you've had an enjoyable break.

It's great to know that you found many things to have been positive during your stay including the variety of things to do, along with the entertainment.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards,

Jodie
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

We love going to Warners hotels. We were unhappy to find upon going Gunton that the restaurants other than drinks, are now self-service. Very disappointing. The food was still good but the personal touch was lacking. However we still had a lovely time.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank davidjG6775YI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warner Leisure Hotels, Other at Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting a review.

We're sorry to read that our dining offering at Gunton Hall caused some disappointment, however we are pleased that you had a lovely time overall.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Regards,

Jodie
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024

First time with Warners and certainly wont be the last. Stayed in a lodge suite by the lake, accommodation smashing and view superb. My wife tells me I am so fussy on food (probably true) but no problem here it was excellent in choice and taste. Plenty to do all included and the staff so friendly. Enough said just do it. Stay was at Gunton Hall but will try others to see if they can match it.

Room tip: No just do it, you will love it.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warner Leisure Hotels, Other at Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Dear Guest,

We’re grateful for you taking the time to leave us a review.

It's wonderful to hear that you've had a perfect break and enjoyed everything on offer at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Regards,

Jodie
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2024

We stayed in a garden lodge it was excellent well worth the money.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Food was a little bit of a let down what was there was nice but very limited in choice! Salad could do with maybe potatoes,different meals seafood even.

Room tip: Pool is nice attendant was really nice .
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warner Leisure Hotels, Other at Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Dear Guest,

It's excellent to read you had a wonderful stay with us at Gunton Gall Coastal Village overall, and we have noted your comments regarding your dining experience.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, hope to welcome you again soon!

Regards,

Jodie
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

great food and reasonable depth of selection - we really enjoyed meeting Ron in the dining room - he was a real star - noting was a problem for him as he so much fun and enjoying his role int he dining room. Staff were excellent, polite, courteous and of course Ron had a great sense of humor. Entertainment was good and pitched right for the guests. We had a short break just 3 nights and wanted to do our own thing, which suited us during the days and we enjoyed the evening meal - buffet style and the relaxing entertainment- the pool was good and well cared for along with the sauna room which we used. overall it was a lovely weekend break, i would sa however that the afternoon tea which we booked was in my opinion overpriced and not good value for money- a little more imagination for the sandwiches could have gone a long way and the cakes were a bit basic for the cost - shame really cos i reckon it could be a highlight for a afternoon for a lot of guests- good selection of tea's to choose from and again the service was outstanding - great place , good atmosphere and lovely food - oh yes , don't forget Ron in the dining room. He was a hoot. !! He is an asset to the business and worked so hard every day. We would go back again should we decide. I should say you have to pre book the afternoon tea so it is a bit of a stab in the dark as to what you get on the day - lesson learnt -

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbobcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warner Leisure Hotels, Other at Warner Hotels - Gunton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review.

We're delighted that you've had an enjoyable break with us. We appreciate your feedback about the things you enjoyed, such as the service provided by the team, although we're sorry some aspects of your afternoon tea experience were not as you expected.

Your comments have all been noted and we're hoping that we'll have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Jodie
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews