We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Place in the North-east of England”

Somerleyton Hall and Gardens
Ranked #5 of 28 things to do in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Craiova,Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magnificent Place in the North-east of England”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Somerleyton Hall and gardens is situated near Somerleyton village which is different from all the other villages in England. The houses look different, so that you are the feeling of being in a fairy tale. Magnificent! The estate is not far from the village and it has a beautiful garden with huge old trees. Something in the architecture of the house remind you of the charming royal Sandringham.
Inside the house you can visit few rooms only, as the house is a private property, but all of them are wonderful: the Oak Room, the Library, the Ballroom, the Dining Room with the exquisite cristals. On the top of the staircase a beautiful portrait of Phyllis, wife of first Lord Somerleyton enchants the visitor's eyes. Another portrait of hers (wearing a beautiful ball dress) can be seen in the dining room (or in the library,where there is her desk, I am not very sure). Other beautiful paintings are the portraits (at different ages) of the beautiful Belinda Maris Loyd, OBE. In the last room a natural huge polar bear (which was hunted in an expedition at the North Pole) can be seen and a skin of a large tiger. Taking photos is not allowed inside the house, unfortunately, but anyway the visitor is charmed by the unusual wonderful things that can be seen at Somerleyton only.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank carmen-rodica d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    116
    30
    16
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Stunning hall and gardens”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Called here after reading reviews and was not disapointed..we were lucky to have a beautiful sunny day. Took the 12 noon tour and were shown round by Barbara and Christine the two tour guides who spoke really well with passion and knowledge. The hall was interesting but not many rooms to view. The gardens were interesting with some beautiful trees on view. We got lost in the maze which was great fun. The coffee and cake was delicious and the catering staff were so friendly..a lovely place to visit

Helpful?
1 Thank solzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful hall and gardens”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited here with my husband and mum in a wheelchair. The driveway upto the hall was long and picturesque. The gardens are well maintained and beautiful, the walk down to the hall was really pleasant with lots to see and statues, the hall itself inside was excellent the tour guides were exceptionally informative, it had tracks down in all the rooms to protect the carpet with wheelchair users and the tour guides were always on hand to help with the wheelchair. The sunken garden was a pleasant surprise, we went to the tea room and had an excellent afternoon tea with home-made cakes and hot chocolates. The maze was good and was a treat at the end to see the pentagon in the middle.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lacecarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a great few hours wandering around the beautiful gardens and visiting the historic house. The guides were amazing with plenty of knowledge and stories to tell.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a rainy day venue”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were stuck in Lowestoft without a car on a rainy day. The train journey to Somerleyton was short. There is absolutely nothing at the station and about 40 minute walk to the hall; a brisk walk in the rain so we weren't hanging about.

The grounds were lovely, on a dry day, but no where to shelter. Any green houses were out of bounds. We could not go into the house until our timed guided tour, 11.30. We had tea and cakes in the cafe which was very nice and staff were lovely. Unfortunately the roof leaked in more than one place so you had to dodge the wet areas.

The tour was swift. There was two guides. Although they would answer questions we felt our group was herded through at a pace. We have been on much better guided house tours.

I would not recommend it on wet days or with 'bored' teenagers

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaser D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Somerleyton Hall and Gardens also viewed

 
 

Been to Somerleyton Hall and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing