We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new management showing its stuff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Came here a year ago and it is very clear that the new management is improving things. The penny pinching on the food has stopped: there are now fried eggs rather than cheap scrambled eggs (I assumed they were buying cracked and broken eggs), the bacon is not the odd cuts that they had before, they have fresh rolls rather than bread that was past its sell by date. Food is amazingly good for the price.

They are investing heavily in the rooms which are really comfortable. This is incredibly good value. In fact at the price we paid it is hard to see how they can manage it. However we went before Easter in cold weather and the duvet was so thin it was impossible to keep warm despite having the electric heaters on. Supplies gave us a thin blanket which made little difference. Had to get another one.

However there is a cost to this. If you cannot bring your own linen you have to buy it which of course saves them a fortune in washing, allows them to buy huge quantities at low prices, and does not increase the headline price of the holiday. Very clever strategy. I would not be surprised if they start charging for parking - £1day? This would all be a pity since it would alienate their traditional market and add significantly to the cost.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AramLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
There are newer reviews for Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,193 - 1,199 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

Quite how you can supply 3 meals a day for the price is beyond me! The quality may not be quite Gordon Ramsay but it is edible (especially the breakfast). Not quite hi de hi entertainment but for a relaxing break at an amazing price this is the place to be

Room Tip: Some are a bit of a trek from the centre but they lack people walking past the door!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just got back from a 3-night, half board stay at Pontins Pakefield. Quite a lot of things to say about this holiday park.
Accommodation:
Our classic apartment is just alright for the family, 1 double bed and a bunk bed for our two boys. The mattresses were uncomfortable, didn't have a good night sleep. There was a microwave oven, kettle, toaster and ironing board which was unexpected but good to have. As for cleanliness, it's 4 out of 5 for me. Expected worse due to some past reviews but our room was alright.
Restaurant:
Breakfast is at 8.30-10.30 but doesn't really start on the dot. Personally, I find this a bit late especially if you have things planned for the day. And this time was never mentioned anywhere, not in the website or in any of the letters. We just found out on the day we checked in. We almost missed our 10am booking at Bure Valley Aylsham station because of this. Dinner is at 5.30-7.30. There was a very wide assortment of food and the dessert included ice cream which was really great! You can have as much as you want. For coffee people like me, there's nowhere in the park where you can get good coffee!
Activities:
Not all activities posted in their website were available! Bike hire not available. Go-kart not available. Giant chess not set up. And the list goes on.
Reception:
Don't get me wrong, Pontins people were friendly and accommodating. However, it's so frustrating that people from the reception don't seem to know a lot of things. Like if you ask them one thing, they'll have to ask someone else then get back to you. You ask again, and the same thing happens. Really frustrating!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank what-a-wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just spent 4 nights at Pontins, Pakefield, near Lowestoft, Suffolk. We had a renovated apartment which was a great deal better than previous stays there. The apartment contained a double bedroom and a small bedroom with bunkbeds, although there were only the two of us (classic accommadation). Strangely the apartment contained a sink. a microwave and a toaster plus cutlery cups and plates for four people. I can only think this is going to be there version of self catering in the future, which I would find claustrophobic to say the least, there would not be room for 4 people to sit and eat as there were only the beds to sit on.
Anyway that apart, we had full board and the food was basic but plentiful. and for the money paid it was a great deal.

Room Tip: There is no room service and you have to pay for bedding and towels or bring your own.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Food and room good for the price but half the camp booked by a Private Country and Western group, so the rest of the facilities allocated to us were freezing cold with entertainment/activities nonexistant. Duty Manager couldn't care less, and a polite request to the Country and Western Organiser for permission to sit in their lovely warm bar was denied unless we wanted to pay £70 per head to upgrade! So a warning to all to check carefully what other groups are using the camp when you book! We came home Saturday afternoon, disappointed but wiser.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

don't book to early,we booked in january and paid £124.44 each,we had the same accomadation of those who booked at almost half the price via a newspaper add at £98 and even £69
I can recommend the breakfast and the salads otherwise forget the food,all chalets are being equiped for self catering so in place of a wardrobe you get a microwave and a toaster even though we were full board,you have to supply you own linen and pay card fees even with a debit card.this resort is not for the over 50 but for young families willing to buy micro meals from the nisa supermarket,there are much better resorts very near to pakefield who welcome the over 50.

Room Tip: You would need to UpgradeTo Get a Room With Hopefully A Wardrobe..
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIANEESSEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Have just returned from Pakefield Pontins after a wonderful dance weekend organised by Hepcats. The majority of the staff at Pakefield are cheerful,hardworking and on the whole,helpful. However don't ask for an extra pillow (surplus to the one each allocated to your room) as you may be accused of being 'demanding ',and please go into your room with a sense of humour, they have installed a hanging rail over the top of a sink unit which if we hung clothes there we could not used the sink, we felt this area would have been better used for a wardrobe,as there wasn't one. Beds and pillows are thin as said in other feed back, but rooms were warmer than expected.The bathroom was huge and we had no problems whatsoever with hot-water this is always a bonus on a dance weekend. We found the food was reasonably good, plentiful and hot, could have done with a change of towels as mandatory rather than having to request them....'demanding' again!!
All in all good weekend

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187047Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
353 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
1.9 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
468 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
502 reviews
11.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park

Address: London Road Pakefield, Lowestoft NR33 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Lowestoft
Price Range: £46 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established, friendly holiday park with many amenities for both young and young at heart. please note all rooms are non smoking for our guests' comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Pakefield Hotel Lowestoft
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing