We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I had heard from friends who went last Christmas how terrible it had become, but the price influenced us to go for a w/e. How pleased we were that we hadnt booked for longer the Chalet is not designed for longer than an overnight stay, compact with no wardrobe @ door hanging off chest of drawers, windows ABSOLUTLY filthy, on going back to reception we were informed a wardrobe would be delivered after 1 hr went back to reception was then told no spare wardrobes available, asking if we could be moved to a 2 bed chalet and pay the difference MANY OPPOSITE) we were told these were being refurbished today, Reception were far from helpfull in their attitude to our requests by the manner in which they conveyed themselves. and during our time there no work was carried out to the 2 bed chalets. NEVER AGAIN PONTINS shame because as kids we had many a great time there. K. Mikulik

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,185 - 1,191 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

Just got back from and 4 day stay at Pakefield and found it great value.
The food was excellent,(half Board) and staff were very helpful.
We have booked 3 rooms to go back again in Sept 2013 for another 4 days.
The two rooms had everything we needed including a full size fridge.

Nick Clay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Hi Nick,

Thank you kindly for your 5 star review and I was especially pleased to read that you have chosen to come back again in September. That says volumes, so thank you very much...

I’m glad you mentioned the new petite kitchen as our entire apartments now come with fridge, sink, microwave, kettle, toaster, etc. In fact we just launched this weekend our all new self-catering apartments with the addition of cookers.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Pontins Pakefield this September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We have just got back from a 4 night stay at Pakefield we had a great time been going for the last 9 years.The chalet was clean and comfy,they are being refurbished and if you find any little fault they come and fix it within the hour,the food as always was amazing for the price you pay,the entertainment was more about the kids than our age so would like a bit more for adults.going again in september can't wait.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Hi Pam,

Thank you kindly for your 5 star review and I was especially pleased to read that once again we were able to do everything we could to ensure you had a brilliant holiday with us.

Pam you are totally right, we are refurbishing our chalets, but also the entire park, with an ongoing rolling programme in place. It was also pleasing to read you comments on our half/full board food operation and how it offers great value for money. Over the winter the team worked very hard improving the offer we provide and the team will be so please by your comments.

Finally I just thought I would let you know that we do offer breaks that cater solely for adult throughout the year and we call this “select Holidays”. Information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Pontins Pakefield this September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We went on a 3 night Abba Mamma Mia weekend with GN holidays (£298 for Club chalet). All much as you would expect from a Pontins holiday. Good food, self service, worth having a look at what is on offer before choosing your food, on the first night we messed up and started at the salad bar before getting to the hot food. Night one was chicken chasseur, night two was Scampi, night three was roast turkey. All hot and plentiful. Breakfast was excellent, hot and topped up constantly, look for the toast in the middle of the serving area, we found that on second morning. Bed was comfortable but made alarming spring noises when moving. Bath was very odd, half size with a seat taking up half of it, shower overhead is fixed into wall. If the main entertainment isnt to your taste there is an excellent keyboard player in the bar by the restaurant. The 99p bar is frustrating, spent from 6-6.30 waiting to get drink before dinner and at least half an hour per bar visit every time we wanted a drink due to people buying multiple drinks because it was only 99p up to 9pm. The entertainment didnt start until 10pm, bingo was taking place most of the time before then.

Room Tip: We booked a club chalet but after looking through windows at the basic chalets the only difference s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TerryFEssexuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Me, my husband and my 14 year old stepson spent the weekend of 21st to 24th June 2013 at Pakefield and we had a great time. The chalet was OK, not 5 star admittedly but we hadn't paid 5 star prices! There was plenty of food at breakfast and dinner times, equally not 5 star but we didn't go hungry. We went off of the campsite on the Saturday and Sunday, exploring Great Yarmouth and Banham Zoo which is about 30 miles away. We really enjoyed both days out and felt we'd had a decent long weekend break. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Hi Carole,

Thank you kindly for your review of your holiday here at Pontins Pakefield and also for recognising that the holidays we provide really do represent good value for money which is extremely important during these particularly trying economic times.

You are also right; the surrounding area is beautiful and lots to do, from Africa Alive, Banham Zoo, Pleasure Beach, Great Yarmouth and lots more. For more ideas visit our website

We look forward to offering you more value for money again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

When hubby said pontins I had my doubts but oh was I wrong. We had a brilliant stay. Our room was clean, the activities where none stop, all the staff were very friendly, the food was good and the blue coats were lovely. Breakfast was so gut busting I didn't need lunch. My 8 year old had a wonderful time, my ill mother enjoyed the great evening shows, my 16 month old loved the playgrounds and my husband and I grabbed a few minutes together trying bingo. I am completed converted and can't wait for our next family break. Thank you to all the staff at pakefield

Room Tip: Get a room close to all the facilities, don't bother to self cater, the food is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Hi Nicola,

Thank you kindly for your 5 star review and I was especially pleased to read that we have managed to convert you to hopefully joining our many other regular guests that come back time and time again, for our value for money holidays.

It was interesting to read about your initial doubts regarding Pontins, but over the last few years we have come a long way improving the parks as promised by Britannia Hotels when they purchased the parks back in 2011 and your kind comments is a testimony to this ongoing development programme.

Nicola, you are right regarding breakfasts and it was our intention to offer a great start to the day, including full English breakfast, Cereals, Yoghurt, Tea, Coffee, Juice, all buffet style, all included within the half/full option.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

3 nights half board accommodation for £59 per person, what more could you ask for? Food was varied and plentiful, accommodation was clean and central.The entertainment was of a good standard, in the 3 nights we were there we had a singer, comedian and a magician. Pontins is what Pontins is, a good cheap family holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Hi Sue,

Thank you kindly for your review of your holiday here at Pontins Pakefield and also for recognising that the holidays we provide really do represent good value for money which is extremely important during these particularly trying economic times.

We have worked extremely hard improving the park, from good food selections to quality entertainment and probably most importantly clean well presented accommodation. Its seems we are getting now getting there, so once again thank you for your kind review as this helps us to continue to improve our offers and facilities to our guests.
,
We look forward to offering you more value for money again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
364 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.4 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
433 reviews
5.3 mi away
cortonvillas
cortonvillas
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
62 reviews
3.8 mi away
Waveney River Centre
Waveney River Centre
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park

Address: London Road Pakefield, Lowestoft NR33 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Lowestoft
Price Range: £44 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established, friendly holiday park with many amenities for both young and young at heart. please note all rooms are non smoking for our guests' comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Pakefield Hotel Lowestoft
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing