We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and we really enjoyed it.
First of all, the only fault we had with the rooms was that there was a few little cobwebs but that didn't bother me.
The entertainment in the evening is brilliant, and there is always a range of shows for everyone to enjoy! I applaud the Bluecoats because i never saw one of them without a smile on their face, they put 100% into everything that they do and they make Pontins pakefield a happy atmosphere! On one of their days off, one of the bluecoats was still on stage doing the party dances when he had his family over to visit. They're all really nice people!
The daytime entertainment is great too, it was rainy one day we were there and cricket was planned so it couldnt go ahead, instead of just leaving it the Bluecoat team put on and indoor show in it's place last minute in the cabaret lounge to give the kids something to do and they even joined in with the games- one of them being a sack race and the sacks only went up to the bluecoats knees. They make lots of laughs and make everyone smile whatever they do because they come over to talk to people, they always have time to stop and talk if they're stopped and they definitely earn their money. In fact i honestly think they deserve more because even on his day off one of the bluecoats was interacting with children and even giving out advice on how to play guitar off his own accord. Always willing to help and they are great people
As well as the bluecoats, the kitchen staff and everyone else that works at Pontins Pakefield are friendly and helpful.
Location is perfect! the complex backs onto the beach and the scenery around the area is pretty. The beach isn't very small either so there is lots of room for children to play.

The play areas- there is one that needs weeding etc, but there is also a brand new one not far away with is spotless. Even if the weeds aren't anywhere near the frame where children will be playing, theyre around the sides. As we were leaving that looked like it was being sorted out anyway.
There is a mini golf course which is clean and fun, music plays out of speakers around it which adds to the parks theme.
GoKarts and family bikes are available to hire to ride round the site at a low price which is another thing to do (they're quite a bit of fun)

The food is good, there is always a selection of things to chose from including salads, jacket potatoes, cakes, puddings and hot food. Not much time at all to wait in a small queue to get the food and boat shaped tables in the restaurant makes it fun for the children

Overall i think Pontins Pakefield is very good, i really don't understand the bad comments because i didn't find anything wrong with it. If you want something better you'll need to pay more, although this holiday was alright for me.
Really fantastic atmosphere around the complex and i praise the bluecoats greatly, they made our holiday worth while.

We were there- 29th July- 2nd August

Room Tip: The chalets are probably the quietest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ambah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,175 - 1,181 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

if like me you are on here reading up on Pontins and what to expect... let me help! We have just returned from a 5 day break, and i was dreading it! info is limited and the check in rushed, but once you have your challet key you basically figure it all out for yourself. we have used Haven in the past where you have to pay for activities and use of the pool... here its all included (unless stated). The Pakefield park is in need of a major revamp! its dated and tired and accomodation very basic. we ordered the linen bundle ....DONT BOTHER! if you can take your own! The challet wasnt the best if i am honest! Very compact. sort of...walk in the door and fall on the bed! There is no way a family of Four could use the challet as self catering! Having said this you dont need to as the self service restaurant (if it can be called this) is all you need. BE PREPARED TO WAIT FOR FOOD ....its like a school dinner hall! food was edible and if you like salad and jacket spuds you are well away! The food is ok....but take munchies.... The swimming pool is old but clean! as are the grounds. Having said this they are revamping as i type!
Now on to the good points! THE BLUE COATS MAKE YOUR HOLIDAY ONE TO REMEMBER!!!!! With out these amaizing people Pontins would be in a mess! The first nights entertainment the 2nd 3rd and 4th too will stay with me forever! to see how happy and energetic they were and how they made my 2 children feel (ages 8 and 6) was a sight to remember! Well done to them all Especially Matthew! Captian Croc and his team are simply great! How you get them to dance the way you do and have so much fun is brilliant! Basically had it not been for the Blue Coats.... NO i would not ever recomend a Pontins to ANYONE! But Give it a go! I did! and have some great memorries of a traditional British Summer Holiday! Hi de hi !

Room Tip: if you have children be near the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maz_lewszuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just returned fromn Pontins Pakefield and overall was excellent value for money. Staff were very obliging and food basic but plentiful, also entertainment was also brilliant. However, the chalet was awful. It was dark, owing to large tree outside, it smelt damp. Couldn't put clothes into drawers as dirty and smelly so lived out of suitcase Bed had springs coming through it. The bathroom was old, but clean and penty of hot water, although it was a push button for the shower, we didn't find this too much of a problem. However, overall we thought the chalet wasn't very clean and spent as little time in it as possible. Opened all the windows each time we were in the room due to smell. Overall the camp has a lot going for it, but certainly not with accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandS950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have been to Pakefield camp many times and keep returning because it is excellent value for money. On our recent visit in July i was mortified by the long queue forming at reception to complain- mostly by people who expect 5* accommodation. I booked one chalet for myself and my teenage daughter and an adjoining one for a friend and his two teenage daughters for 4 days half board for only £177. How many nights in a travel lodge without any food included would you get for that price??? Yes the sight maybe tired but it is in a lovely spot and backs directly onto a beach. In July i was pleasantly delighted to notice the improvements made to the chalets- new carpets, fridge beds etc. Yes it is still basic accommodation but for the price (which works out at £35.40 per person for 4 days) is outstanding. The pool was always clean, but yes -the changing facilities need updating, but at the end of the day you make the most of it- and to be honest the girls would just go back to the chalet and enjoys the powerful hot showers. We never tired of things to do and spent virtually nothing whilst we were there. The entertainment is deafening and too loud to have a conversation over but seemed to suit the packed room. The food is superb for the amount that the camp cater for. I leave the dining room a little bit embarrassed by the amount I've consumed- There's always fresh salad, jacket potatoes and meats, a choice of main courses and even pouring cream for the hugh selection of cakes and puddings and ice-cream, coffee, tea fresh orange juice, cooked breakfast, kippers etc- the list goes on- and you can eat as much as you want! I really don't know how they make any profit at all out of my £35.40 for the 4 days i paid. So any of you 'whingers' out there that 'slate' the place- I say - "get a grip!!" Its a fabulous treat to not cook and to eat so well! I can't wait to return in Oct. And my friend's teenage daughter who don't normally look up from their lap tops loved it! They played table tennis, went on the beach and swimming - and loved the kiddie bingo! The 'So cool' teenagers -with the sluggish approach to life was soon gone and was replaced by happy laughing children who had long forgot how to just play! Keep up the good work and hats off to the long working always pleasant staff

Room Tip: Don't go budget - or what ever they call the basic accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dawn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

we stay here several times a year , our last visit was new year and it was so good we did not think it could be improved but we were wrong .

accomadation --- our chatlet has had a mini kitchen added which was a great advantage . even though we stay half board the adition of a small fridge and pots etc was a big advantage .

entertainment ---- we were worried that as a lot of last years blue oats had moved on the new members would not be as good because last years were the best we had ever seen .
there were harry , matt and wendy left from last year . the biggest surprise was matt , while we were there last time it was his first week and while he was a really nice guy he was a little timid but wow the change is remarkable he has stepped up so much he is in our view one of the best blues we have ever seen .also Robert the entertainment manager was better this year as he is now bringing his many years of experience to the front and is spending more time interacting with the guests which is a really good thing
the only thing we hated was the guest entertainers funky monkey over loud distaughted sound so you could not understand what they were saying/singing the only reason I can think of that they were booked is that they are relatives of the booking agent , were working for free, or they bribed their way in. they were just not suitable for the audience
tim and tony strange strange by name strange by nature not suitable for a family audience very littie talent we walked out after 20 minutes , as did a big percentage of the audience .
there was a vent act , sorry forgot his name , on the first night of our break , who was quite good
the rainbow show --a good act for the family audience but mainlt the same act they have done for the last 2 seasons please keep them on but lets have some different content in their act .

food ---- we quite liked the new style where more of the food is availiable for self selection .and the quality and variety of the food seemed improved on last season too

we are at a loss to understand why so much of the time at the park is now for seniors only , even during the school holidays .I feel this is a very backward step . we understand that out of school holidays need filling but please limit select breaks to out of school holidays pontins

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve_and_oli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Couldn't agree more with the last person. I also came home on the 2nd Aug. I will add that it's a disgrace that you have to pay for bedding, the games room was closed early in the evening and the food was sub-standard. The only saving grace is that the location is great for going to better places off-camp. Been going for 10 years and watched the place rapidly decline in that time and won't be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJM1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just got back from a dirty disgusting holiday at Pointins pakefield. The chalet were smelly and uncleaned, the bathroom is about twenty years old, moldy tiles, old fashioned taps and the shower you had to keep pushing the shower button for the water to run this lasts about 5 secs so you are permanently keeping one hand on the button ( very frustrating) the bathroom smelt and was covered in dust and cobwebs, I had to sweep the place from top to bottom before I could unpack, the beds are uncomfortable as the mattresses are plastic, I noticed lots of chalets were empty and these were the newly refurbished ones, when asked to upgrade I was told they were fully booked, this was clearly untrue. The dining room was very canteen like, very noisy hectic and hot, there was no air in there and it was unbearable, one of the days the kitchen had major problems and no food was being served until later on that evening, it was absolute chaos. the food was disgusting, do not stay !!!!! this place is def a health hazard, even the entertainment lounge chairs were all covered in Stains.
The daily entertainment is diabolical especially when it rained for two days, there is nothing to do but go swimming and that is very dated. everything else you had to pay for which was getting very expensive as was trying to keep the kids entertained. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful and worked hard and some were just dame right rude. All in all a very dull boring depressing place to be.

Room Tip: Dont stay here, just awful !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 848sarah111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
364 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.4 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
434 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
513 reviews
5.3 mi away
cortonvillas
cortonvillas
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park

Address: London Road Pakefield, Lowestoft NR33 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Lowestoft
Price Range: £43 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established, friendly holiday park with many amenities for both young and young at heart. please note all rooms are non smoking for our guests' comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Pakefield Hotel Lowestoft
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing