We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GN holiday 60's weekend” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A GN holiday 60's weekend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just back from another 60's weekend with GN Holidays, we went on a similar one in March 2013.
I have scored it average, but for value and entertainment I would give it higher.
We had chalet 214 this time and had a bad nights sleep the 1st night due to feeling every spring in the bed. Next day I asked if they could find a better mattress or put a duvet as a topper which they did to make it more comfortable.
The bathroom has a terrible problem with damp but you get what you pay for and this was cheap.
Entertainment is good though we were a bit disapointed with the MerseyBeats (more like missbeats) I think they are living on past glory. Sunday night was much better with Edison Lighthouse and of course the entertainment manager from GN Holidays (Maria) makes it.
Where else can you get 3 nights accom, half board and entertainment and drinks for 99p until 9pm for £100 ??
No way would I go here if it wasn't a 60's weekend for the over 40's but have booked again for next March 60's weekend
Some tips, take a tea towel and washing up liquid if you want to make tea or coffee or use the limited catering facilites. Take more coathangers, there were only 4 wire ones. Take a bathmat or towel to put down in the bathroom and if you bath or shower everyday take more towels as its difficult to get them dry at this time of year and they only provide one small bath towel and one handtowel per person

Room Tip: whichever chalet you get try the bed before bedtime so that you can do something about it if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelaslongasican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    402
    222
    149
    250
See reviews for
591
350
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frinton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just got back from Pakefields sixties weekend, absolutely brilliant for entertainment, chalets were clean, water piping hot,and radiators hot, very comfortable considering we were only in the rooms to sleep, as all the food was provided, and plenty of it, a varied choice for breakfast, and 3/4 choices for evening meal, all buffet so you could eat as much as you liked, plent to do in the daytime with quizzes and fun games, bingo, cards etc. very good compares, Irene and Hayley,
altogether great value at £99 for three nights, with drinks at 99p form 6pm till 9pm.
ps, large indoor pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My partner and I stayed 13 October 2013 for three nights .After reading some reviews bit mystified, my partner and I are partially disabled and stayed in chalet 84. No problems we had a few problems with bath our disability was the problem. But overall good weekend food was ok second helpings too if you wanted . Think as a few others have said what do you expect by the reviews I was expecting a nightmare but was very pleasantly surprised so going back November . Seems if you want 5 stars you have to pay more for it.

Room Tip: Give it a break you get what you pay for and a bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was the third time my mum and I had stayed at Pontin's at Pakefield this year and yet again, we enjoyed our stay.

We were surprised on arrival, at how few other guests there were and we were told that there were approximately 100 of us staying Monday to Friday, but mum and I think this made the stay better.

The specially adapted chalet for wheelchair users was ideal for me as a wheelchair user, as there was sufficient room to manoeuvre my wheelchair around, the beds were low, enough to get in and out of safely and without fear of falling and the wet room has grab rails by the toilet - which are ideal when I needed to use the toilet.

The food was good and varied and the tables cleared quickly and efficiently.

As there were so few guests staying and not everyone went to the entertainment, the entertainment was held in the Queen Vic bar. This was ideal, as we would have been lost in the other rooms. The Bluecoats on duty while we were there - Callum, Beth, Wendy and Emma, were good, as always and we hope that they are retained for another year if they wish to return, as they are real stars.

We look forward to returning to Pontin's Pakefield in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Was bit worried if chalet was going to be warm enough, also, about what food we could expect. ----
Chalet was on tap warmth, food was all you could eat, really great choice, and for the price we paid, was top notch, couldnt fault it.
Staff were friendly & helpful, all in all, faultless. Wouldnt hesitate to go again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pleasecabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked through the sun £9.50 holidays and so based on the fact we paid less than £40 for 4 nights stay (plus service charge and passes) the place is fab lots of organised activities to keep the kids happy, there was of course with any holiday park nearing the end of season a few areas that could have used a coat of paint the crazy golf for example but thus was free so cannot complain too much the staff were great had a few minor issues with a rubbish shower but staff were quick to fix it and even washed and dried the towel I'd used to mop up the leaked water the Cabaret shows were very good we especially enjoyed the Halloween special!

The food was lovely and there was certainly plenty of it! We would go again maybe next time a bit earlier in the season though

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tezmumtolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

just got back from a lovely break at pontins. The chalet was Spotless.The food was lovely especially the choice. I am a vegetarian and had plenty to choose from. The trays were quickly replenished once emptied and food was piping hot. Credit to the restarant staff. I
actually thanked one of the ladies clearing the tables and told her how nice the food was. She seemed quite taken aback. The 99p bar was a disaster,not enough staff. We ended up taking in our own booze from the shop. Don't be put off by some of the harsh reviews. There are some great value weekends on offer,give it go.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirty58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park

Property: Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
Address: London Road Pakefield, Lowestoft NR33 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established, friendly holiday park with many amenities for both young and young at heart. please note all rooms are non smoking for our guests' comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Pakefield Hotel Lowestoft
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing