We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winelodge Hotel(Lowestoft)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$92
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,562)
Filter reviews
1,562 results
Traveller rating
315
467
260
190
330
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
315
467
260
190
330
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue coatsjacket potatosalad barclub chaletqueen vicquad bikescrazy golfgames roomtable tennisself serviceporridgeevening mealentertainment managerhalf termfamily holidaybar pricesnight break
Filter
Updating list...
1,068 - 1,073 of 1,562 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Had the most fantastic time this weekend. Motown weekend. Chalets are fine. You are only using them to sleep. Prices are value for money. Shop cheap. Bar resonable.this weekends entertainment fab midnight soul sisters. Four tops. Lionel ritche tribute act. Danced the night away. Bluecoats freindly. Happy. Joining in. Working extermely hard. Non stop all day everyday. I have to day how impressed I was with bluecoat calum. He is a joy to watch superb dancer. A real entertainer. Talks to everyone all of the time evan if its his day off. The Bluecoats made.my break with my friends so much more. Thank you. Be back soon

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinky1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, Public Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

I have been asked by our park manager to reply and thank you for all your kind reviews on Pakefield, we take great pride in our selection of staff, we are very lucky this year to have real dedicated bluecoat team who go that extra mile for guests, as you say Callum is a great asset, again we take pleasure in providing great themed breaks on centre, with the best entertainment on offer, we look forward to your return and hope you again have an enjoyable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We went for a cheap break weekend, only about £50 per night for 2 people half board. Chalets are very tired, think they are the same ones I stayed in as a child in the seventies, but were clean & tidy. Bedding was okay but glad we took our own towels.

Food was okay & we made sure we went after the opening rush, no problem getting a table. Take your own teabags, the ones they have are awful.

The short adult entertainments in the evening were good & drinks are reasonable price, even a happy period until 7pm with beer at £1.90 a pint.

We caught the bus to Yarmouth on Saturday - £12.80 for 2 return tickets - wish we took the car, only £5 to park all day.

We were told by people with kids that they were glad to be going home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to place your comments on trip advisor, we are and have been upgrading both facilities and accommodation, this will continue until we get the site updated, I have passed on your comments on teabags to our catering manager for his action, we are pleased that you enjoyed both the food and entertainment, it is only through people such as yourselves, who inform us of what we are doing right and what we need to improve on, that we are able to rectify faults and improve the park for the betterment of all, and for that we again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at this Pontins site for the bank holiday weekend having found a last minute deal for the 3 nights half board. We brought our own bed linen & towels etc rather than hire some. We were pleased to find the electricity free rather than on a meter in our chalet which was obviously recently decorated & clean. The thing that struck us as night fell was that the curtains did not obscure the view of the room including the bed (see pic). The tv was old & gave few channels all of which were unclear, as if the aerial was pointing the wrong way. The kitchenette area was clean, modern & well equipped. The shower room was basic but, served our needs however BE WARNED therre is a sign above sink that says 'caution hot water' they are not joking! The water is scolding hot & burns will occur if you are not careful. It is a shame they cant channel some of this hot water to the swimming pool as it was barely warm, so much so that we decided not to enter it beyond our toes. The park itself is clean & tidy with most things being reasonably priced, the shop is not expensive to use & bike hire is available at a fair cost with the crazy golf being free at the time of our stay. The food was plentiful & the entire dining area was kept clean & tidy by the many staff, they were busy but, efficient & thorough. The entertainment was good although we felt the main attractions could have stayed on for longer or done 2 sets, was also a shame to go from a soul band to a dj playing the latest top 40 on the 70's night just as everyone was getting into the spirit. Overall we would return on a deal but, not at full rates or school holiday prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavePearce71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks, it really does help the park to receive this type of feedback both constructive and complementary, this assists us in our move forward to improve the park within our upgrading programme. As stated we do very often put out late value for money deals, it is always worthwhile to browse the web site for these deals, or even better telephone our receptionist at Pakefield for up to date offers as they arrive. I have passed on all your observations to our management staff for their action. We look forward to a return visit from you in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We managed to get a late booking for 2 nights at a very reasonable rate for 4 of us including food. I wasn't expecting luxury as i have stayed at Pontins before. The chalet was better than expected, double bed in lounge area and bunks in the bedroom. Linen and towels provided as well as a kitchenette area with kettle, toaster, iron, microwave, sink and fridge. It was clean and tidy. Poor double glazing which allowed for alot of draught and noise from people walking past, which was annoying at 11pm but then i guess it is a holiday park so it will be noisey.
The bathroom needs to be updated. Pontins need to install proper showers, not the push button ones you get at swimming pools. It's highly annoying when the shower water stops when you have a head full of shampoo! They also need to sort out the water pressure. Ours was non-existant! I had to stand 1/4 inch from the wall to get a drizzle of water on me. I managed to shower on both days though, not sure how?
Breakfast isnt great, cheap ingredients and not kept as hot as it should. They do cereal which you can't really go wrong with, but i avoided hot breakfast, wasn't very tasty :-(
Evening meal was good, lots of choice, kiddies food area, salad bar, jacket pots etc so can't fault that. Not sure how they can get evening meal right but fail at breakfast!?
The complex has lots of play areas for kids. The arcade is mainly 2p machines and ticket machines. The evening entertainment is so-so. Bingo and hoy, doesn't start until 9pm tho, by that time you have grumpy tired kids... why not put on a mini disco for the kids at 7.30pm? Im sure they would love it and it would keep your bored looking bluecoats busy, Pontins?
Overall, i would go back if i got it cheap enough, 2 nights would be long enough and i would only use it as a base, we visited pleasurewood hills and africa alive during our stay. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhi0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Whilst I would agree with a number of your comments, I do feel this centre offers more than a base in which to visit local attractions, of course this is an added bonus with pleasurewood hills and Africa alive just down the road.
This park has been undergoing a major upgrade over the last twelve months on both facilities and accommodation, bathrooms are still to be done, but work has started on these and will continue until complete.
We are lucky enough to have a good sandy beach accessible from the cliff path, and many more attractions crazy golf is being re-furbished and the pitch and put is now in use, football pitches and grass areas have been cut on a regular basis since spring, quad bike bouncy castle and trampolines are all ready for the summer season.
I do now feel that we have a great deal to offer both young and old alike, with value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

we took our grandson to pontins for a weekend break, The camp was a bit dated but all you would need was there. Our chalet was in need of a re vamp but basic and clean. we had paid for half board. The restaurant was busy and was a bit like a free for all. The camp club was in need of a overall update and in need of bringing up to the times. However you get what you paid for. Plenty for kids to do.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glynne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

As stated in your review we are in need of some refurbishment in some areas, since we have been taken over by the Britannia group, they have spent many thousands of pounds on both facilities and accommodation, this programme will continue till all is upgraded.
We have many thousands of visitors every season, we provide a family value for money holiday at very reasonable prices, this will continue with all the tradition of the Pontins holiday, with our bluecoats supplying their usual first class entertainment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews