We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
Suffolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My 10 year old grandson and I stayed here Bank Holiday weekend, 23-26 May, 2014 for 3 nights.
I hadn't been here for over 20 years and it was all a very pleasant surprise. Chalet 306 was lovely, microwave, toaster and cutlery. Bath and shower. It was near entertainment, next to swimming pool and not far from the restaurant. The food was very acceptable to my grandson. Starters for Dinner is only a choice of Salads or Soup, but considering what we paid, it was very good value. The swimming pool is fantastic, very big, and at deepest only 1.4 metres, my grandson enjoyed the big slide. We bought the bed linen. 2 x £5, but at least we now have them to take back next time, as my grandson is constantly asking when can we go back. The gardens are lovely, all the grounds well cared for, plenty of room for the childrens organised football, rounders, etc. The tots playgrounds for younger children looked amazing too. The enthusiastic Bluecoats work very hard all day to keep everyone entertained and occupied.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
I would like to thank you for your five star review, we feel that we are going in the right direction when we receive this type of report, as stated the bluecoats have really excelled themselves this season, both in approach and with their shows, A few weeks back they received a standing ovation for the strictly musical presentation. It is nice your grandson is looking forward to returning, these are child hood memories that should be savoured, we look forward to you returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    402
    222
    149
    250
See reviews for
591
350
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at Pontins a few weeks back for a 'back to reality' themed weekend. The park was lovely and quiet. The chalets were basic but adequate for our needs. Extremely clean and warm. As someone else previously mentioned the curtains were a little ill fitting, so not only did the sun wake us up at 5am, people can see in. Another problem for us was the positioning of the plugs, there was no plugs on the wall near the bed so we were unable to plug in our laptop or charge our phones without them being on the other side of the room. The beds were comfy and we bought our own bedding. The bathroom was spotless although the shower was rather annoying as it was like the ones you get in a swimming pool changing rooms where it goes off after a minute and you had to keep pressing the button.
The food was ok, there was always something i would eat on offer, even if it was fish fingers, chips and beans and the organisation of the self service runs smoothly. The only problem was the times of meals as 5-6pm for dinner is a bit early for me and my boyfriend. However there is a little cafe offering a selection of meals until late. The price of everything seemed reasonable eg the shop and drinks and the staff are extremely friendly and polite.
The park is fantastic distance to beaches esp Great Yarmouth which has a great Pier and gorgeous beach, and theres plenty of activities around the area. We had a brilliant break. All the little complaints didnt affect our holiday, just things that could do with improving. The only thing that let this holiday down was that we booked an adult only holiday so made the heartbreaking decision to leave our 4 month son at home, only to see more than 10 kids at the park which was really annoying. Other than that will definitely be returning :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks on our centre, we have over the last few months worked very hard to make your Pontins holiday an experience you would wish to repeat, I have passed on your comments on curtains to the accommodation manager, we are so pleased to hear you plan to return and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Had a great second short break at pontins pakefield. Accomodation was good with a well kept camp. Staff was great. Food was great but times of eating was very short of one hr at breakfast and tea so didnt give any flexability to your days planning.Possibly a little like school dinner times but Will go back again. Thanks to all staff

Room Tip: Take your own bedding as buying theirs possible wasnt best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Really pleased you had such a good time, that is what it is all about, we are getting some excellent reports on our park and staff, have passed on your comments on meal timings to the catering manager for his action. Do hope you return in the very near future, we have some real value for money offers on at the moment, so keep an eye on our web page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LTNJET
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Needed somewhere to stay when visiting my Son in Lowestoft, usually stay in a B + B but this time decided to give Pontin's a try.
Well, what a great find. The accommodation was clean and appeared to be newly refurbished, staff were friendly and helpful and the food was amazing considering what I paid for the three night weekend. HOW do they do it for £ 69 per person per weekend???????? The food was plentiful, lots of choice and in the main hot, you could not want for a better breakfast !
Entertainment was good and bar prices very good.
Will definitely be back.........................................................................

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LTNJET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
On behalf of the management and staff, we would really like to thank you for taking the time to sing the praise of our centre, and for the many kind comments you made, it is very rewarding to receive this type of feedback, this allows us to know what we are getting right, and areas we need to improve on. Our aim is to get this kind of review, Pontin's value for money breaks ensuring enjoyment for all, is what we work for at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Another fantastic weekend at pakefield, improvements are being made all the time, the food as always, lots of choice, everybody we spoke to was friendly and helpful, the bluecoats work nonstop, even when the main act on friday didnt show up, the bluecoats put a show together within a few moments, special mention must go to bluecoat Beth whose voice is great, also special mentions must go to Neil in the games room, Bee in reception & Viv in the shops & of course Robert who seems to be everwhere, FANTASTIC

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
I have passed on all your kind comments to the individuals concerned, I agree the bluecoats did a fantastic job when the lead act failed to appear, I do hope the gesture of the 99p bar helped in some way, It is so really nice to receive 5 out of 5 on reviews, Britannia have spent a lot of money on improvements, and continue to do so both on facilities and accommodation, Should you return to Pakefield, please make yourself know to me on arrival, so I can thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Clacton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just got back from another short break at Pontins Pakefield around the world such great value for money ,food was as good as always (well apart from Mondays which was not as good as usual) but the breakfast made up for that, can't believe how much food you get.The entertainment was very good 3 tribute acts and of course the fantastic Annie.Was so good have booked up another break in june can't wait well done Pontins .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your very good review on our park, Annie as you say is a stalwart and a very valuable asset to Pontin's, we have over the last few weeks had some really good comments from departing guests on their comments forms, now and a again we find areas that need improvement, but I am pleased to say our general manager is normally there to action at once and ensure no re-occurrence of the problem, we work to ensure our guests get the holidays that deserve at a very reasonable price, my promise to you is, we will strive till we have that right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I just got back yesterday from Pontins Pakefield.Had a lovely time.Accomodation has improved from my last visit 2 years ago.Food very nice allthrough could of done with a bit more choice,a couple of nights there was the same items for dinner.
The grounds are realy nice.The only thing i wasnt keen on was there wasnt much going on after bingo duing midweek untill caberet, id like to of seen maybe games.hows like the Mr &Mrs game show on the saturday night

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
It Was really nice to receive your comments on our park, thank you for your 4 out of 5 review, I have passed on your comments on both food and entertainment to the respective managers for their action, it is most important that we receive this type of information so we can ensure we get it right next time, I am sure from your visit you have seen that we have spent vast amounts of money on improvements, and continue to do so, our biggest asset are our staff, we are very proud of their dedication to duty and their willingness to assist guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park

Property: Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
Address: London Road Pakefield, Lowestoft NR33 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established, friendly holiday park with many amenities for both young and young at heart. please note all rooms are non smoking for our guests' comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Pakefield Hotel Lowestoft
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing