We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Pontins, Half Board is worth it !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
Greater London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Standard Pontins, Half Board is worth it !”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Good location, Beach access, clean rooms, every possible facilities to keep the kids occupied. Breakfast and Dinner offered were not to shabby. We got a good deal on ebookers but worth checking the price at multiple sources before paying.There is a bus stop just right outside if one is keen on public transport and 61 can take you upto Norwich via Great Yarmouth and also to Southwold.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idealistmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    419
    231
    158
    266
See reviews for
622
370
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

i really dont get all of the bad reviews?!
we have just got back from 2 nights (fri-sun) and had a lovely time. kids (7 and 4) didnt want to come home.
we arrived around 4pm and parked in a free space (spaces are numbered to your apartment). we then went to get keys, which there was no queue for. got keys out to see where we were staying and luckily we had parked in correct space. we had apartment no.18, which was to the left of the park, right at the back which we liked as we didnt get woken up by people leaving the club late, and was only a few min walk to the centre anyway.
the rooms are small but were fine for us. very clean. we were told we had a classic apartment, but actually ended up in a club apartment.
we queued for dinner around 5pm which we didnt mind doing. we got a drink from the queen vic while we queued and asked my husband to get me an energy drink, which the bar tender gave us for free! food was ok the 1st night and really nice the 2nd night. the jacket potatoes were very good! what no one explains though, is, if you want soup, thats directly in front of you when you enter. if you want the salad bar/pasta/jacket potatoes, then you queue up in the first section to the left. the main food is set up in 3 sections along the rest of the room, which all had the same food. none of us realised this and we were all queuing in the 1st section.
the park area was very good, although the trampolines and bouncy castle are only open certain days.
we hired a dino car which the kids loved and also went on the quad bikes. a tip though...make sure you have change for the token machine which is at the hire place otherwise you have to walk to the shop to get change.
the blue coats are very good. we went to princes bar the 1st night where they played games with the kids like musical statues etc. we then went over to the main club area. the 1st night they had mk1 from x factor which i didnt think were that good to be honest. the 2nd night they had a magician which was quite good. we were very lucky with drinks here aswell as we jot a jd and coke free with some other drinks we had ordered, went back later and he gave us an extra shot for free.
overall for a weekend away in august, for the price it was very good value for money!! we usually go to butlins or haven, but i would definitely say its just as good as haven and we would go again!

Room Tip: not a room tip, but.....make sure you have change for the token machine which is at the hire place o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_Love_Disney39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We visited Pontins on bank holiday weekend and it was so bad we can home a day early. The 'apartment' was dirty, there was cobwebs and even a dead bug in the corner, and mould around the shower. It was extremely basic, the bed was hard and lumpy so had a terrible nights sleep both nights.

The canteen was beyond a joke. There was a big queue at every meal, and when we did finally get the food it wasn't very nice. The worst one was on the Sunday morning- we queued for breakfast for 45 minutes, and when we got to the front most of the trays were empty. I was so hungry by this point I felt a little ill. The people behind the counter were very slow and didn't seem to care about the long wait or lack of food in the trays. There seemed to be no organisation or management throughout the whole park, especially in this area. We decided to go out for dinner in Lowestoft on the Saturday night as we couldn't be bothered to queue for the awful food. We went to a Chinese restaurant called Gourmets which was amazing.

Despite it being the bank holiday weekend, quite possibly the busiest weekend in peak season, the trampolines were closed and the big bouncy castle was not blown up. This to me just seemed ridiculous! The place was full of kids! Another example of how they lacked organisation. There was no atmosphere. The 'arcade' was extremely hot and half the machines didn't work. There was rarely an attendant to ask for help. The kids loved the 2p slot machines but for us adults it was no fun whatsoever.

The pool... We went for a swim on Sunday lunchtime only to find we weren't allowed to use the pool because they had a little inflatable slide out. Our 4 year old got into the baby pool, only to be told to get out because when the slide was out, everything else is not in use. We were utterly shocked and annoyed by this. The slide took up less than half of the pool, there were 3 lifeguards on, and our 2 girls had life jackets on yet we were not allowed to use the pool for another 40 minutes until the slide had finished. So as you can imagine it was a nightmare getting then dressed again as they were both wet and wanted to go swimming.

The most enjoyable thing there was the mini golf. I have no good things to say about the place! It looked like it was built in the seventies and stayed that way. Total disappointment and waste of money. So do not go there, you will be disappointed !!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Olivia718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lowestoft hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Lots of good points but some bad. 4 adults 3 children half board Arrived April 2014 after driving 5 hours. Waited a while at reception before any one came to desk. Not told about the evening meal finishing so missed it. So communication I consider poor, also not made to feel very welcome.
Entertainment well we missed the first nite as we had to eat out. Second night was disgusting mr Stevie pink very rude NOT family appropriate. Third and final night excellent.
Food lovely lots of variety it is very canteen style, but it was better than I expected after reviews.
The resort lovely all the children loved it and didn't want to home. Lots for them to do they never got bored.
The rooms are very basic not very big but to be fair we had lovely weather so we only used the room to sleep and get changed. The garden are outside the rooms were nice adults enjoyed having a glass or two while the kids played or had a afternoon kip.
The blue coats are AMAZING they work so hard they really did put on a show after the very very poor entertainment from Stevie pink( Britain's got talent there's no wonder he didn't win).
Overall, this is aimed at children and it is brilliant I personally wouldn't do it as a main holiday. Will I return, even though there were issues these were dealt with and I had an apology so yes I will return after all everywhere deserves a second chance.
Remember you get what you pay for if you are expecting and all inclusive luxury break with all the bells on then you will disappointed. If you want a break for children to love and let off steam then it's ideal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Went last week as a family of two adults and two children, 6 and 3. On the plus side is the evening entertainment etc which we all enjoyed, meals are ok but no real care put into the prep of the food, some stuff undercooked and meats that were like cardboard. Acomodation was were the park really fails. Tiny rooms, tv that doesnt work, dirty bathroom and the most uncomfy bed in the world. If you do manage to get to sleep it wont be for long. We could hear the three adjoining rooms plainly. Could even hear someone snoring. We didnt spend any of the days at the park we went out in the car. We had a holiday inn booked for our journey home and that was amazing. £45 for a night with the full use of gym, swimming pool and spa.the wife and I agreed that next years holiday we will have a holiday inn for 4-5 nights instead.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraint T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I'd read the reviews after booking 3 nights half board for myself and my partner, and even he seemed worried before arriving too. Well, talk about unfounded! We arrived on the Friday, about 4 ish and queued for a couple of mlnutes and got the keys straight away. Found our chalet and walked in, to be pleasantly surprised by the room. Yes it is small, double bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers, small kitchen area and large toilet/shower room and tv. However, it was spotlessly clean. The kitchen white goods looked almost brand new. The shower was hot and powerful. We then walked up to get our evening meal. Yes there was a queue to get food, but it was August bank holiday weekend, I didn't expect anything less, and as my partner said, when you walk into a restaurant, you expect a wait for food when you order it. So what's the difference? The food was constantly being replenished, and the tables were always being cleared of dirty plates etc, so there were always tables available for new diners. After our meal, we went into the main entertainment hall and played bingo and watched all the evenings entertainment. We really enjoyed ourselves. The ents team try to keep things going as much as possible, involving the children and adults. We also went into the amusement arcades, where I had my one small criticism. A lot of the machines are ticket prizes only. I know it's easy money, but I like to win cash and not 1000's of tickets to exchange for a pen! Anyway, there were plenty of other machines scattered around the park, so we were happy with those. We stayed for the while weekend, Friday to Monday and we only paid £120 for both of us, so it was a real bargain. We both agreed that we had a good time and that the food and entertainment was worth enjoying. We will most certainly be going back and I will recommend to my friends and family too. Thanks Pakefield team for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tobytots69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent 2 nights at pakefeild and found it fantastic for the money. The chalet was basic but very clean and well equipped with fridge microwave and full cooker and plates cups etc. Beds fine pillows and quilts provided just bring your own covers and own towels.

The food was OK but for the money its good. The park is in a lovely setting right on the coast with a lovely beach. Great playground for kids tennis golf football indoor pool with slide and toddler pool you can hire bikes so plently to do. Theres a choice of bars the seaveiw bar lovely and quiet and yes it does have sea views.

All in all could not fault it and I have travelled 5 star all over the world so I could be a snob but if you just want a bargin break which offers you more than you can imagine for the money give it a go if you have kids they will love it and we will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
2.2 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
1.8 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
430 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
465 reviews
1.9 mi away
Carlton Manor Hotel
Carlton Manor Hotel
#6 of 28 in Lowestoft
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park

Property: Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
Address: London Road Pakefield, Lowestoft NR33 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established, friendly holiday park with many amenities for both young and young at heart. please note all rooms are non smoking for our guests' comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Pakefield Hotel Lowestoft
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing