We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Came in for a drink a few weeks ago with friends. We entered the hotel expecting much more then what we had received. Very poorly run, management didn't seem like they knew what they were doing also very in polite and a lack of experience with all staff. Highly disappointed with what seemed to be a promising hotel. Will not be coming here again.

Room Tip: Don't bother save your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darren t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    75
    35
    21
    16
See reviews for
69
97
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now for work purposes. The hotel is clean and modern. The price I believe was good value for money and free wifi was included which is helpful. The bar staff and reception staff were helpful and there was no waiting. I have not eaten at the restaurant so I can't comment on this. My only negative is the rooms can get quite warm and be a little stuffy, but this is probably due to the hot weather. Recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank drjdentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a weekend exploring Suffolk. I cannot fault the hotel: spacious bedroom and en-suite bathroom, very clean, comfortable and modern, in a wonderful, quiet location. Unfortunately the catering services leave a lot to be desired. We chose to dine at the hotel's bistro on Saturday evening and the service was terribly slow even though there was only another couple in there. The waitress was terribly polite but seemed terrified by every request - clearly very inexperienced. The bar/bistro manager was engrossed in conversation with a friend all evening and too busy with this to ensure his customers were served. We were starving by the time the food arrived and completely bemused by the service all evening. The food was fine, slightly overpriced for what it is.

As the breakfast is not included in the price and VERY expensive we had to leave hungry the next morning and go looking for cafes (in a country location)! Having read other reviews, it is a shame that the same experiences are being repeated at this beautiful hotel. I would be reticent to return due to the lack of good catering service staff and breakfast not included in the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We visited Carlton manor last Sunday with an open mind as to what to expect.
Warmly greeted on arrival by assistant manager and on understanding it was our first visit gave us a comprehensive information on the set up of various dining options.
Bar staff were efficient and restaurant waiter and waitress very helpful.
Food absolutely delicious and we decided this was one of the best eating experiences we had had recently.
Plan to revisit soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Revisited hotel for an evening with friends. There was one female older/retirement age barmaid. Even though there were only a couple of people seated in the bar lounge and we were the only people at bar, she ignored us for several minutes whilst cleaning bar area. She made no eye contact. My friend's wife giggled nervously whilst we were being ignored and we felt embarrassed as this was our suggestion as a good meeting place. We were on the verge of leaving when 'frosty' barmaid said she would soon serve us, then continued to slowly wipe bar top.
Older barmaid was very frosty and aloof to us and definitely did not believe in service with a smile.
We intended to stay and eat, but did not feel welcome and the atmosphere seemed cold so left after drink and had a good meal and received very friendly service at The Crown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camelot2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have not stayed here but have been a couple of times for a drink and to something to eat. Hotel is under new ownership and recently renovated.

However, the service was very poor. We arrived at the bar and waited for ages to be served even though was only one other customer and two bar staff. In the end I had to call one of the the other bar man to get served as the bar staff had disappeared. The bar staff are less than friendly and this really impacted our overal opion of the place.

If this place is to be sucessful then I'd sack the bar staff and employ people with a good personalities, who enjoy the job and who want to server you (with a smile!). I suggest that this poor service is reflected by the lack of customers in the bar and resturant. Expect new owners again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank V8CXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed one night at the end of May. We were placed in the very large family room at the front of the hotel. Service etc all fine and the decor very good. Cleanliness excellent. However the room itself had two major issues.

1. - No air conditioning and the windows are sealed shut. This could become unbearable on a warm day.

2. - There are halogen downlighters in the ceiling. One of these downlighters has a bright green LED light - I can only preume a modern safety feature such as showing that this is an emergency light or such like. However it is so bright that it is akin to sleeping with the light on. Probably one of the worst nights sleep we have had. We would not stay again until we could be guaranteed this had been remedied.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nrc77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
1.4 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
8.0 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Manor Hotel

Property: Carlton Manor Hotel
Address: Carlton Manor Chapel Road | Carlton Colville, Lowestoft NR33 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 3 minutes' drive from the Rookery Park Golf Course and 3 miles from the coastal town of Lowestoft with it's lovely sandy beaches, Carlton Manor Hotel offers elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi, ample free parking, a brasserie bar and Restaurant. The ever popular resort of Southwold is just ten miles away, and the historic city of Norwich is just a thirty minute drive. Each room at The Carlton Manor Hotel features an en suite bathroom, free Wi-Fi,flat-screen TV. A hearty breakfast made of locally sourced ingredients is available daily. The brasserie restaurant serves a seasonal range of food, and you can dine al fresco on the terrace. Our Restaurant is open Monday to Saturday 12-2.00pm and 6.00pm to 9.00pm & Sunday 12noon to 8.30pm. We operate our carvery menus on Wednesdays and Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Manor Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing