We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apologies for the cliché but this really is a hidden gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Apologies for the cliché but this really is a hidden gem.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked after searching on line for somewhere to stay near Beccles and what a good choice Carlton Manor turned out to be. Booking by telephone was simple and fast thanks to Jo being very efficient and helpful, as she was when checking us in the next day and then showing us to the room. In the public areas the décor was very impressive - modern, stylish and comfortable without being too much. Our room was equipped to good, contemporary standard with a good sized TV (often much too small these days), tea and coffee tray, huge bed and excellent bathroom with bath and shower, all very modern and sleek.

Dinner in the main restaurant, Vitis, was controlled by Russell who, like Jo, takes his role very seriously as demonstrated by his warm, friendly manner and great attention to detail. Our waitress (I am sorry that I did not get her name) was equally friendly and efficient. Our meal was very good and the wine suggested by Russell, excellent. The menu is not huge but good for such a small hotel. We spent a comfortable and quiet night and the next day enjoyed a full English breakfast (not included).

In the past we have paid much more for a lot less and have certainly had very much poorer service from apparently 'better' hotels. The staff make a good hotel great and the team here certainly do a fantastic job of that. We will definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending Carlton Manor to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyOldGet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    77
    36
    22
    16
See reviews for
69
103
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were greeted by the receptionists warmly and shown to our room.The quality of the room was of a good standard only being opened for 9months.A number of points were lacking, the room price doesn't include breakfast,.no milk or bottled water in room .Breakfast was over priced for standard and portions served. Booked in for evening meal with friends, having been reassured from both management team and food and beverage manager we would not be disappointed.following the breakfast. The meals price point was high and not matched by the quality. We were incorrectly served one of our meals, lack of standard.
(The restaurant had only our table plus one other).
When settling the bill the wrong bill was raised plus no receipt given. we found the total experience lacking in attention to detail clients expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just returned from having Sunday lunch here and we were so disappointed. The service was so poor we waited 30mins for our second course to arrive,then had to remind them we were still waiting. When our mains came one had no brocolli which the others did and portions were of differnt sizes we thought, but then realised childs portion had been served to an adult.They gave us wine & coffee free but when you are taking the family out you do not need this type of service or stress.Wish I had looked at other reviews before booking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JVF885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We visited the hotel for a wedding and were extremely impressed with everything about it.We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who could not have been more helpful.The room was very clean and offered all the facilities that you could wish for. The only slight problem was that a ceiling light had an emergency light that was quite bright and was on all night! The food was all excellent including the Full English breakfast. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penlivi39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We went for a midweek break for 2 nights. This hotel is excellent all round. The receptionist was friendly, very helpful and made us feel very welcome. Bar and restaurant staff excellent. We only had lunch but the food was very tasty and more than enough. Room was of very high quality and faultless. It is central to all attractions. We was very impressed by this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

A room had been arranged for us to spend our wedding night in. Very impressed with the room. Was a lovely size, nice and clean and had everything we needed. Staff were very helpful when we arrived, took us to our room and said if we need anything just ask. Would highly recommend a stay here

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the bank holiday and we were very impressed. The staff immediately make you feel very welcome and showed us to our room. I had to ask if we had the correct room as it looked well above the price we had paid but it was our room. The room was done in dark wood and looked beautiful. The bed was just awesome. You literally sank into it. Could of done without the 15 tog quilt though when the temp outside was nearly 27! Our only disappointment was the restaurant. The menu was limited and a bit over priced. When our food came it was luke warm and tasteless. The service was good though.

Room Tip: I travel a lot for my work and always stay at the branded hotels but this is the type of place I wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
1.4 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
439 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
1.9 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#4 of 10 in Lowestoft
336 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
400 reviews
8.0 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Manor Hotel

Property: Carlton Manor Hotel
Address: Carlton Manor Chapel Road | Carlton Colville, Lowestoft NR33 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 3 minutes' drive from the Rookery Park Golf Course and 3 miles from the coastal town of Lowestoft with it's lovely sandy beaches, Carlton Manor Hotel offers elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi, ample free parking, a brasserie bar and Restaurant. The ever popular resort of Southwold is just ten miles away, and the historic city of Norwich is just a thirty minute drive. Each room at The Carlton Manor Hotel features an en suite bathroom, free Wi-Fi,flat-screen TV. A hearty breakfast made of locally sourced ingredients is available daily. The brasserie restaurant serves a seasonal range of food, and you can dine al fresco on the terrace. Our Restaurant is open Monday to Saturday 12-2.00pm and 6.00pm to 9.00pm & Sunday 12noon to 8.30pm. We operate our carvery menus on Wednesdays and Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Manor Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing