We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed over a weekend with four friends, we were doing a boozy tour of Southwold (home of the Adnams Brewery!) and picked this place as our crash-pad. We got a reasonable deal for two twin rooms through booking.com (something like £77 per twin room).

They let us check in a few hours early, and also booked a cab for us to get to Southwold, which was waiting at exactly the time we asked for. Customer service seemed very good in this respect.

Only minor niggle was that we booked two twin rooms - one of us got upgraded to a "family suite", but this then meant there was a scrap over the double bed, and the loser (me) had to sleep on a sofa bed with a noisy fridge in the corner. Not the end of the world as I don't actually remember getting home, but worth bearing in mind if you're planning a less inebriated night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ripuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    75
    35
    21
    16
See reviews for
69
97
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was one of a group of sixteen on a pre-booked visit to Carlton Manor Hotel for lunch today. We were quite a diverse group with sixteen different ideas of what comprises a good lunch but the hotel and the staff met the challenge well.

Those having a starter were served promptly, some had mains from the à la carte menu but the majority had the carvery which we later discovered was discounted as an opening offer. The roast meats were beef, turkey and ham with the usual selection of vegetables, gravies and sauces. My hot roast ham was excellent and the mix of vegetables were an ideal choice for a carvery where they must be kept warm and palatable for a period of time.

Only a few of us had desserts after which a further challenge was issued to the staff. The total bill for the meal was brought to the organiser but It appears that the original booking had asked for individual accounts to be rendered to each diner. Unfazed our waitress went away and soon returned with a list from which she was able to let each of us know what was due, to my mind quite an achievment to be able to produce it so quickly.

Convivial company, unobtrusive staff, good food and a very reasonable price making it a joy to dine out. We must do this more often!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBumble45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Having been let down by other exceptionally busy eateries, we decided upon visiting the Charlton House Hotel having seen a local advertisement, we were so glad we did.
We were greeted by a very attentive reception and shown to a table, drinks were severed promptly and a good choice was offered. We both opted for a carvery (a very good choice on the main menu was also available - though cannot comment on those as only saw carveries being severed). Three joints of meat plus a good selection of vegetables on show, it was exceptionally good! The beef and gammon were cooked to "my" perfection.
Two clean plates later, we chose our deserts (again good standard selection) Lemon Meringue Pie or my wife and Salted Chocolate Brownie for me ordered.....Needless to say it's my new favorite!! All this plus drinks for under £25 (Friday night), we shall be returning....very soon, thank you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Excellent carvery, meat cooked perfectly, lovely vegetables and homemade Yorkshire puds. Property has been very tastefully upgraded inside and out. The staff were very friendly and the service was good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Manning62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Just fancied a nice roast dinner so we tried the Carlton Manor which has been promoted locally.
Arrived at 5.50pm on a Monday and a little worried that there was only one other table occupied.
Pleasant girl took our drinks order. Friendly lad carved the meat.
Beef was perfect for me, slightly pink. Wife had roast gammon. Lovely selection of fresh veg including my favourite red cabbage, and boiling hot gravy - essential!
Deserts fair price, as was the draught Aspall Cyder.
When we received the bill I was amazed to see the £6.95 / head reduced to £10.95 for 2 for the carvery.
Have often used Toby, Crown and the local Castle chains of carveries, but for me this one is the best.
That said, I am glad we didn't arrive at 6.50 as I fear everything would have deteriorated due to the lack of customers.
Will return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TractorBoy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights over Easter and had such a great stay. Reception were really helpful and couldn't do enough for us.
We had dinner at the hotel on the Friday night and the food was really good and service excellent.
The room was lovely and really clean.
Overall we had a great couple of days and couldn't fault it.
Will definitely be staying again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night here with my partner, it was a surprise treat for me and overall was very impressed!

My partner booked a room with a four poster bed but on arrival we were allocated the bridal suite ( a little embarrassed )
The room was beautiful, very well set out, roomy and a jacuzzi bath! Although I did think for a bridal suite it lacked a little romance. The colour scheme was black, purple and green and did look very plush!
We weren't told about the wifi and the pillows were too soft for my liking. The bed was very comfortable but unfortunately we didn't get a good nights sleep.
There was an annoying green light in the ceiling that lit the room up all night and the noise from the caravan park right behind our room was annoying!

We didn't eat or drink here but the staff we did deal with ( reception ) were very pleasant and friendly.
Overall, pleased.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
1.4 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
8.0 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Manor Hotel

Property: Carlton Manor Hotel
Address: Carlton Manor Chapel Road | Carlton Colville, Lowestoft NR33 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 3 minutes' drive from the Rookery Park Golf Course and 3 miles from the coastal town of Lowestoft with it's lovely sandy beaches, Carlton Manor Hotel offers elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi, ample free parking, a brasserie bar and Restaurant. The ever popular resort of Southwold is just ten miles away, and the historic city of Norwich is just a thirty minute drive. Each room at The Carlton Manor Hotel features an en suite bathroom, free Wi-Fi,flat-screen TV. A hearty breakfast made of locally sourced ingredients is available daily. The brasserie restaurant serves a seasonal range of food, and you can dine al fresco on the terrace. Our Restaurant is open Monday to Saturday 12-2.00pm and 6.00pm to 9.00pm & Sunday 12noon to 8.30pm. We operate our carvery menus on Wednesdays and Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Manor Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing