We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as bad as previous reviews” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlton Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not as bad as previous reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

After reading the reviews "after" we had booked this hotel, we were not expecting that much at all.

Yes it is at the edge of a caravan park and yes it is near a housing estate but that didn't bother us. However, I can see that the caravan park could be regarded as an "issue" during the summer months.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were fine. A little bit of TLC is maybe required in some places, but we didn't have an issue with it.

The breakfast was very good and one night we had dinner there which was very good.

Overall a satisfactory stay, albeit not excellent, but it is no way as bad as some people have discribed.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djpulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    66
    31
    21
    15
See reviews for
61
90
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
corby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2008

Don,t bother, I've stayed in Lowestoft several times and this Hotel should not be rated 3 star, definately 2 star at best.
Yobish, loud music in the bar and poor quality furniture and fittings throughout.
Take my advice and check into a proper 3 star hotel on the seafront. This place is miles away from the sea and seems to be in the middle of a caravan park!! AVOID

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Like a night club with rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sahammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

We were hoping to find a hotel near my parents which we could return to time and again. A hotel with personality, friendly local character, with an understated charm. Unfortunately we chose the Carlton Manor. The check in was bright, cheery and pleasant, unfortunately checking and checking out were the highlights of our stay.

Understandably with the hotel catering for a wedding the staff were a little harassed. However, this was no excuse for the frankly shoddy, surly and unprofessional service which we experienced during our stay.

Our dinner order was taken down incorrectly, wine was opened away from the table and seemed suspiciously different to the bottle selected, and the food which we ordered was inexpertly and sometimes frankly bizarrely prepared. The scallop brochette manages to pack the scallops in a pallid and congealed breadcrumb coating more reminiscent of an Asda smartprice scotch egg. The steak and ale pudding with cabbage and roast potatoes was a riot of grey, it's dullness on the plate only matched by its blandness on the palate. None of this would have been good value for money at a tenth of the price.

After waiting for 25 minutes as staff ignored us and the two other occupied tables, crashing and banging around the dining room as they set up for breakfast the next day, we simply gave up on waiting for someone to ask us if we wanted and pudding, to take away the flavour of our main courses. I was delighted to receive an inaccurate bill, less pleased to have it updated and topping £80. We nursed our frustration at the bar before retiring to our bed and the thin, unwelcoming mattress.

Checking out was a singularly unedifying experience, eventually after ringing the bell and waiting for 10 minutes one of the guys tidying up the function room went and got someone to enable me to leave. His friendly and personable demeanour was completely at odds with the rest of our experience, he will either be the new manager or end up in the scallop brochette within the week.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRGHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

We stayed here for one night after a last minute search for accomodation nr Suffolk or Norfolk. The hotel describes itself as being set in rolling country side but is actually next to several new housing estates and its own caravan park. It obviously prioritses the 'function' element of its business and prides itself on the food so despite a recent rennovation cheap furntiure and a quick coat of paint are good enough for the bedrooms with more thoght in evidence throughout the downstairs areas . We only had breakfast, which was fine, so can't comment on the eveing menu. For some reason they play fairly loud music in the bar and restaurant which spoils what should be a nice area of the hotel.
If you can avoid it don't have a room at the front of the hotel as you can hear other (quite loud and drunken) guests returning, or sneaking a fag, during the night.
I've stayed in worse places - the room was clean enough - but I expected more for the money charged.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — False impressions about location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonersb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2007

I recently spent a two night break at the Carlton Manor Hotel Lowestoft and had a great stay, I have stayed in other lowestoft hotels and this is by far the friendliest and nices by far. I was given a double room which had been recently refurbished and with beautiful taste in decor, I found the room to be off good size, bright and very clean. I hadnt booked dinner but they managed to accommodate us, the restaurant was very busy yet the service was still of high standard, My partner is a very fussy eater and we found the menu to cater for all tastes. The food was lovely. All staff from reception to bar and restaurant were above friendly and nothing would have been to much trouble. Would definelty recommend and stay again if in area.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Annonnymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
1.4 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
8.0 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
1.9 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Manor Hotel

Property: Carlton Manor Hotel
Address: Carlton Manor Chapel Road | Carlton Colville, Lowestoft NR33 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 3 minutes' drive from the Rookery Park Golf Course and 3 miles from the coastal town of Lowestoft with it's lovely sandy beaches, Carlton Manor Hotel offers elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi, ample free parking, a brasserie bar and Restaurant. The ever popular resort of Southwold is just ten miles away, and the historic city of Norwich is just a thirty minute drive. Each room at The Carlton Manor Hotel features an en suite bathroom, free Wi-Fi,flat-screen TV. A hearty breakfast made of locally sourced ingredients is available daily. The brasserie restaurant serves a seasonal range of food, and you can dine al fresco on the terrace. Our Restaurant is open Monday to Saturday 12-2.00pm and 6.00pm to 9.00pm & Sunday 12noon to 8.30pm. We operate our carvery menus on Wednesdays and Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Manor Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing