We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what views!”
Review of Winelodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lowestoft
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Winelodge Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow - what views!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed overnight for my sister's wedding reception & we knew of the chain as my sister was using the function room at the Oulton Broad site for the reception.

We were allocated apartment 3 on the first floor & were given directions by helpful staff - the apartments are located about 100 meters further along from the bar. First impressions were of the stunning view across the parade to the beach as you open the front door.

Two decent sized bedrooms with comfy double beds & lovely snuggly pillows & duvets. The front bedroom needs a Blackout blind if you don't want to be awoken at sunrise by the sun glinting off of the sea!

Back bedroom could do with a second bedside cabinet.

Kitchen / lounge area is fully equipped with TV, DVD player, microwave, dishwasher & ipod dock, however it is meant for four people but there were only 3 mugs & one bowl - needs to be sorted out for a long term stay.

Other than these minor points, I would highly recommend the apartments - there is a nightclub opposite the apartments on the Claremont pier, but there was no noise from it & we came back at 12:30am, but it's something to be aware of if staying at the height of the season.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    31
    30
    25
    69
See reviews for
11
74
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Fantastic value - £115 for 3 nights during August bank holiday. TV working fully with DVD player, very clean kitchen with all the facilities you would need for a weekend break. (kettle, toaster, microwave, oven, crockery, cutlery and saucepans, lots of storage space) Housekeeping came every morning to check room was okay. Very friendly staff.

Our room was at the front, very close to the nightclub. Could be noisy but was barely heard with the windows closed. Door staff were always available so no trouble.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel makes the impression of having tried quite hard to get a modern, sleek look - and then just stopped caring. We stayed in Room 3. Room is okay but not great. There was an odd smell, I think from the carpet. TV remote was missing and we asked at reception, apparently there was no spare.Bathroom towels were pretty knackered, and the only hook for towels was broken out of the door.
Staff was nice and friendly but not overly attentive.
Housekeeping seemed to have quickly rinsed out our used teacups and put them back, there were still tea stains and the spoons didn't even get that treatment.
Breakfast was not great either.

The worst thing about this place is it's opposite a night club and as there is no double glazing, a good night's sleep is not what you can expect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ines W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

This is the first review I have ever written. It was our 3rd visit and to say what a difference 2 years make is an understatement! My partner and I had booked the penthouse apartment as we had previously, as soon as you walked through the door the musky smell hits you. A little taken aback but thought we could just open the patio doors to let in fresh air.
Basically the list of things that are negative are as follows:
Stains on carpet/sofa
Filthy stained rug
Dirty fridge
Stained dirty ironing board
Wet stains in wardrobe
Decided we couldn't stay as I was thinking of buying cleaning products and sheets for the sofa! So after telling the girl downstairs that we couldn't stay n why she had offered to have the apartment cleaned. Which tbh should've been done BEFORE you have guests n some things were past being cleaned, they needed to be thrown away!
So disappointed as we had spent time there in 2010 and it was immaculate, a little noisy and not picturesque but now the apartment is obviously not been taken care of at all....very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lowestoft hotels

Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Winelodge accommodation to be found at Oulton Broad in Suffolk is in an excellent location for the broads and railway travel. Not far from Great Yarmouth either.
We managed to get an excellent deal from a website doing late offers and got it for £40. We knew where it was so drove straight there. Good parking facilities but you have to get in quick as the the parking bays serve other businesses, too.

The staff also run the Winelodge restaurant which was good value 2 x £7.95 meals, can't be bad. Drinks reasonable. Going back to the staff, considering their age, very young, they coped with giving out our access cards to the accommodation and serving about 30 people, food and drinks very well. There was only two staff and this was Saturday 27th July at 2.30pm.

We had to go though a security door, good idea and go up two flights of stairs NO LIFT, with our luggage. Lucky we didn't bring a lot. The stairs, walls, skirting board looked as if they had not been cleaned for sometime and I was dreading the room. Finally got to our floor.

Walked through a door and fell down a small step. No warning on the door! Walked along the corridors which was lit be sensored lighting. Walking along activates it. Black for the first half of the many corridors until the second half and then the lights came on.
Came to our room which was with a shared bathroom. No problem, we were only there one night.
THE ROOM WAS IMMACULATE. So for all my misgivings it was lovely. Only a bed, TV and a frame to hang our clothes on but perfectly adequate. There were fingermarks on the door........but I wasn't going to moan as everything else was pristine.
We went to our event in Great Yarmouth and returned to a heaving mass of youngsters all out on the town with their glad rags on. No trouble, quite a bit of noise but, thankfully, we were at the back so heard nothing.
So beware, make sure you are at the back and not overlooking the road. You might have had to join the youngsters all having a good time!

For the price and location no complaints but we know to make sure which side you have to stay on.

Room Tip: Get one at the back away from the nightlife. Lots of youngsters all having a good time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed for one Saturday night with family. The rooms looked really good on first inspection but on a closer look noticed some small areas needing attention. Clean enough though.

Stayed in a room on the ground floor which was fine but there was a lot of noise from people outside in the early hours - but what do you expect staying right by other bars and nightclubs.

The location was great for the beach and pier, very easy parking as well.

Staff were great although very hurried - there only ever seemed to be one working at a time who had to work on reception, the bar and the restaurant.

We ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast - pretty good, food was average pub-style food. The full breakfast OK (apart from the bacon).

Would return based on its location!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Dirty, shabby and worst of all staff have an attitude problem. Don't expect to get any sleep as there is a nightclub opposite. Luxury room was small and damp. Stay anywhere but here! KFC next door and could offer a far better quality meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs wall w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
1.5 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
0.8 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#8 of 28 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winelodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winelodge Hotel

Property: Winelodge Hotel
Address: 58 Bridge Road, Lowestoft NR32 3LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Winelodge Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing