We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sandcastle
Nearby Hotels
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Britten House(Lowestoft)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$93
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
69
24
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
24
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewroll top bathtop floorfull english breakfastwhite fluffy towelsshort walk to the town centrebigger roomboutique hotelreceived a very warm welcomeshower roomhomemade jamswelcoming hostsbreakfast was includedrooms were very cleanovernight stayfresh fruit salada lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked for a double room in the week before Christmas in order to stay overnight after a concert. We were upgraded on arrival to a superior room in this excellent Bed & Breakfast. In all honesty, this was more like a very intimate and superior hotel experience. The service was pleasant but not intrusive, the decor nicely themed in French Blue and the sea view was much appreciated. It would be very difficult to find a nicer place to stay in this part of East Anglia

Room Tip: Ask for the best suite!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I have stayed at the Sunny Sandcastle a number of times now and when I am in East Anglia.
I rather stay here than anywhere else especially those budget chain of hotels. A true home from home and are made to feel like one of the family. After a long day the beds at the Sandcastle are very comfortable and the Wi Fi means I can catch up on my work in the peace and quite of my room. The breakfasts really set you up for the day from local produce and is one of the best cooked breakfast I've tasted. Tony is really an expert in the kitchen. The rooms are kept spotless and are very tastefully decorated with up to date televisions so you can catch up with the outside world....if you have to. Both Tony and Susie are brilliant hosts and nothing is to much trouble. Its location means you are far enough from the town and close to the beach and some excellent places to walk. I cannot recommend the Sandcastle high enough. Top notch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank tortonrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have stayed at the Sandcastle a number of times as we own a house close by that was until recently let. We love The Sandcastle, it is far superior to any other B&B we have stayed in, and being a seafaring family, we have stayed in many. Susie & Tony are always very welcoming, nothing is to much trouble but they will leave you to get on with it, which is GR8. Breakfast is lovely, locally sourced foods, very yum. Rooms are very well furnished & spotlessly clean. We would recommend The Sandcastle to everyone & have frequently.

Room Tip: The family room 1st floor overlooking the Royal Green/Beach is superb, but can be a little noisy on a Friday & Saturday night as there is a nightclub not far away
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOWESTOFTSMUDGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Sandcastle is a little haven of peace and friendship. The house is beautifully presented with good quality linens and soft furnishings.
The breakfasts are just perfect and offer a wide variety of freshly cooked, local foods
The views from the house are stunning especially at sunrise on a sunny day.
The hosts Susie and Tony are a delight to be with and very knowledgeable about the local area.
We use The Sandcastle for short beaks and longer holidays and always reccommend it to friends who are travelling towards sunny Lowestoft.

Room Tip: Room 2,3 & 4 have a sea view. Room 4 is our favourite
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Squirrel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The welcome was genuine and stayed that way over our three night stay, always there if needed but not over familiar and that was lovely.
Fantastic locally produced breakfast menu and room quality for the price was very much appreciated.
I will look forward to another stay at The Sandcastle and I would advise all to enjoy the hospitality available at this great venue.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews