We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Pub Grub around!”
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #46 of 200 Restaurants in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Village pub and restaurant on the East coast of Suffolk offering great food, lagers, spirits and local ales. Dog and family friendly.
Restaurant details
Description: Village pub and restaurant on the East coast of Suffolk offering great food, lagers, spirits and local ales. Dog and family friendly.
Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

I have now been in The White Horse twice and I most definitely will return! The food is absolutely wonderful, as a vegetarian I find it very hard to find a good vegetarian burger and I was not disappointed with this delicious veggie burger! The staff are fantastic and very friendly, you always feel welcomed and their patter is on point! If you’re in the area I highly recommend, it’s a lovely clean, covid safe place to eat and have a drink. Next time I will definitely venture for one of their delicious looking cakes! Thank you very much to the staff of White Horse for making my time there absolutely fabulous!

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank natashamareew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

If you like chips this is the pub for you ..
Unless we had a limited menu , everything come with chips ..
Went on a Sunday afternoon , hoping for a roast dinner , but all had gone , which is fair enough , everything left on the menu was with chips … none with vegetables.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Wander57921032561
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2021

Don't know where to start the food wasn't what we asked for.they told me they had pies of you call
Cornish pasties a pie . ordered scampi got fried prawns we paid bill left its the worst place I've ever been the smell wasn't very nice .

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank 678frederickm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bev C, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2021

Hi. As previously stated to you, Scampi is prawn wholetail. We gave you the option of several different pies as well as the cornish pasty. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the meal with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2021 via mobile

Booked as a family on arrival shown to our table initial drinks order taken within 10mins and delivered shortly after, food order taken and delivered about 45mins later. All in all most meals were disappointing, chips were dry inside, chicken wings and ribs were awful other meals were mediocre. Asked a waitress if we could order more drinks, 45 mins later still waiting. Landlord totally ignored me when I asked if he could take an order.
As for Covid excuses made on other reviews by the landlady are just that excuses. Landlord has no mask when serving behind the bar or walking around the pub. Serving locals at the bar pretty sure this is against Covid guidelines. To top it off blatant drug dealing/use in front of everyone. Avoid this place is best advice.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank Stevepearce23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 June 2021

Father’s Day lunch was not at all tasty , wrong orders delivered. Drinks orders not taken for 20 mins after seated and over an hour wait for lunch to be served . Vegetarian option poor and burnt . Also piece of string found in roast dinner . And the male owner needs to attend charm school and wear a face covering whilst serving . If thinking of going .... I wouldn’t bother

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank B3888ODrobw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bev C, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

Thank you for your honest review. I can't apologise enough for the errors that lead to your delayed meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

 
Lowestoft, Suffolk
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.