We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute booking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke's Head

Duke's Head
Ranked #56 of 169 Restaurants in Lowestoft
Price range: US$61 - US$61
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Last minute booking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Booked at 1900 for a table at 1930 on a Saturday night which was surprising but anyway excellent service food great we had the sea bass ! Yum all good would highly recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    62
    33
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A stop for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

An excellent pub just off the broads but not far to walk with an excellent array of real ales. The service was good and we had baguettes with various fillings which we all enjoyed. This is an old fashioned type of pub which unfortunately is fast disappearing. Very tranquil setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavPet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Duke”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had revisited The Duke after 2years the staff previously where just simply amazing and really friendly and thought lets go have a nice family lunch at The Duke.

On arrival we told them we had not booked and the welcome was frosty and unwelcoming. The same staff where not there.

We where given a table in the bar area we had our children with us and we where given some childrens menus we asked one waitress for crayons or pencils and she said we do not have any.

We then went to order and the waitress said let me bring over some crayons for the children very odd i thought maybe they do not communicate with eachother.

The service was poor and felt the whole time we where there they constantly stared at us making us feel very uneasy. We did not finish our food we just left and will not return to this unwelcoming family pub.

Shame the old staff are not there as this was a great pub.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boris1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Came here on recommendation from Fritton House and was not disappointed. A warm friendly welcome from the young staff was appreciated and the service was excellent. Starters of Local asparagus with poached egg and Blue cheese walnut salad were very good. Mains of Belly Pork with tasty cracklings and Salmon cooked to perfection made this a great dining experience. The room is light and airy with plenty of space. No room for deserts , and very good value for money. Would have cost us a lot more in our part of the world...The North Norfolk Coast. Would go again when we are next in this part of the country

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 205peterp205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We'd been recommended this place and tried to get in when we stayed nearby last year but it was fully booked. So this time we booked ahead, but needn't have bothered. The beer was served with bits floating in it, the salmon was undercooked, and the menu left a little to be desired. Whilst it's a pretty place to sit out in the garden, I wouldn't bother going back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke's Head also viewed

 
Lowestoft, Suffolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Duke's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing