We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place for lunch.”
Review of Duke's Head

Duke's Head
Ranked #55 of 173 Restaurants in Lowestoft
Price range: US$63 - US$63
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Beccles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place for lunch.”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stopped by for an impromptu lunch after a lovely walk at Herringfleet. Had heard the place had changed hands, so not sure what to expect.
We were really impressed: the decor is lovely and the service was really friendly and efficient. There was a good choice on the bar menu. We both had the fish and chips, the fish was really fresh and perfectly cooked, the chips were probably the best I've ever had! Prices about average.
Good to see a range of beers from the main local breweries to choose from too, we enjoyed a perfect pint from the Grain brewery.
Will definitely return, and recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank likesomecatfromjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    63
    35
    24
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oulton Broad, Suffolk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I'm definitely going back.”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We've had lunch twice here in the last month after walking our dog. It was excellent. So we decided to desert our other regular every Friday for the last 5 years St Olaves restaurant and give the Dukes Head a try for the evening meal. My partner had the sea bass. I had the belly pork. Both were the best meals that we had eaten out on a Friday night over that whole period. The bill was about the same as we have paid at the other place. I am deliberatly avoiding naming the other place, but there is an establishment of the same name where you would perhaps go to dry out. The beer was also excellent as was the dry white wine. We will go back very soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fizzioKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Refused food”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Well after eating at this pub several times in the past , we walked there today (over 5 miles) which we quite often do. Four of us arrived at 12.10 ( the pub opens at 12) and were told that no we couldn't get ant food as the pub was too busy !!!!! There was only a few people in there . After suggesting to the pub manager that it wasn't good practice to turn away customers and we only wanted a quick bite to eat not a full 3 course meal , he still refused and said the kitchen was at capacity.
I have worked in the pub industry for over 10 years and would never ever tuned away custom .
If the pub only has certain kitchen capacity then they should state this on their website , and state it is essential to book otherwise they may be unable to serve you .
Was most disappointed with the staffs attitude , which is a shame as in previous experiences the food has been excellent ,but sadly they won't be getting out custom again, I suspect there are few and far businesses out there in this day and age that are willing to turn down revenue.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tracey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“new management”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

the dukes head has now been taken back into the estates hands and has a new manager who has a michelin star background. the restaurant is re-opening on 17th jan 2014 and i think will show great improvements.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food but kept waiting AND waiting”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

In October 2013 we booked a table for 13 ( including small children) for 1400hrs. It was for a special occasion and booked as we had visited many, many times and always experienced the highest quality and service. How disappointed were we. Our table was ready for us 1430hrs. Food was served 3/4 hours after ordering- one meal was wrong. Glasses were dry. Limited wine selection. Bill was wrong and not itemised. No apology. However food was excellent. Apparently the Dukes Head has changed owners. The new owners need to look at what used to work because there new model clearly does not.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 007Liz006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke's Head also viewed

 
Lowestoft, Suffolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Duke's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing