We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining with friends”

The Old Bull's Head
Ranked #36 of 270 Restaurants in Loughborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$34
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled in Woodhouse Eaves, a pretty English village on the side of Beacon Hill, we are the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Our traditional pub building has been stylishly refurbished making it the ideal place to find a cosy corner and take time out whilst enjoying some of our Chefs seasonal dishes and our great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Inside you will find roaring log fires, comfy armchairs to while away the afternoon and an open bar with a unique dining room. So, whether it be a special celebration, a mid week treat, or an impromptu dinner we are happy to help you arrange the perfect occasion.
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I visited the Old Bull's Head with a few friend including some visiting Australians on the evening of Friday 4 th July!

We all had a fun and our Aussie friends said what a good time they had! The food, wine and ambience at The Bull were great and we were waited on by Jade! She's was very attentive, friendly and provided excellent service! All in all, a fun evening!! JW

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

What a lovely review, thank you.

It is great to see that you and your guests had such a great time whilst at The Old Bull's Head.

Jade will also be delighted with these comments; I will be sure to pass them on.

We can't wait for your next visit.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

679 - 683 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived at the OB's Head after a long walk in the country during which I suffered an insect bite, arriving at the bar with a fast- swelling hand! The staff were excellent and sorted out ice for it immediately- offered before I asked. Then we had an absolutely lovely meal, served in a friendly but also thoroughly professional manner. The cuisine here has improved dramatically from a few years ago, and the whole place manages to balance "excellence" with "relaxed, laid-back and friendly".
Brilliant. If you haven't been, give it a go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank manna43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback.

Firstly, I was delighted to read that the team were quick to respond when you arrived following an insect bite; I do hope your hand is feeling much better now.

It was also a pleasure to read that the remainder of your visit was so thoroughly enjoyable.

I will ensure the team see your comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

we went to the bulls head woodhousd eaves for a fathers day meal wowhow lovelywas our experience! The food was superb the staff very polite and attentive and the decor very tasteful. We shall be telling our friends about this little gem in the countyside

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for this lovely review.

It was great to read that you had such a great experience with us.

We look forward to your (and your friends) return visits.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A party of us went here for my friends birthday, we had a lovely meal. The staff where excellent, very attentive. Service was good . It was really good value for money. We where not rushed . I highly recommend
This for a great meal and night out.

Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much for your great review.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you were looked after so well.

Myself and the team can't wait to welcome you again.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Lunch for 11 on Wednesday, despite having pre ordered all 11 starters and mains, service was very very slow , almost one hour wait between starter and mains, nice food, nice atmosphere, just not the usual standard of service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardanthony, Guest Experience Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for leaving your feedback.

I was disappointed to read that the service speed let you down on your last visit; as you mention, this is not the usual standard of service we aim to uphold. I can assure you this will be addressed, and I hope you will return again in the future, giving us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

I was however pleased to read that you enjoyed the food served to you and the atmosphere at The Old Bull's Head, I hope on your next visit we can ensure you enjoy all aspects of your experience to this extent.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Bull's Head also viewed

Quorn, Loughborough
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Barrow Upon Soar, Loughborough
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Old Bull's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing