We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
1 review
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Overall good and fairly clean hotel. The bathroom needs remodeling badly and the hallway floors make noise so when people walk on it, it woke us up a few times. The quiet location was a big plus on the other hand and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    179
    147
    67
    69
See reviews for
112
165
61
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It's a lovely place to stay, room is clean, the surroundings are nice. The staff are friendly as well. The price is fine. Me and my friend are both happy we choose Cedars. But it's a pity that we didn't try the meal, maybe next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bailing W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After having a very long day after breaking down and getting to the hotel after 9pm the owner very kindly took my order for dinner over the phone and had it prepared for me after the kitchen had closed. The staff and waitresses were very polite and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast is good too. Will be staying again when I am next in the area

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Positives - friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bar and lounge, large car park, free parking, close to town centre.

Negatives - small rooms, narrow corridors, in need of facelift, window of groiund floor room left open all day by room service, toiletries not refreshed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Cedars hotel and Restaurant is a good place to stay if you want somewhere quiet and peaceful, at it is located in a leafy area on the edge of Loughborough.

I was staying in a single room, it had a TV, it was warm, the only thing I would say id that the decor wouldn't be a bit dated, but the place was clean, it took a minute or two to get the shower going (get the warm water to come through) but when it did, it was nice and warm.

The staff were friendly and helpful, I ate at their restaurant every night I stayed: Their Salmon is great, their Burgers are really nice, their beer battered Cod, tasted okay, but not as nice as the other two.

As for things to do in the town, there is an antique railway, and you can take rides on it, it isn't that far from the hotel. There is a bar inside the hotel too, and there is bars up the road, 10 - 15 minute walk.

I was staying primarily for the WSB at Donington, I flew over into East Midlands, there is a bus service that runs into and through Loughborough, called Skyline, its really efficient, and pretty cheap, runs twenty four hours a day.

Overall, I thought that this was a pleasant place to stay in, and would wholly recommend it, price was reasonable as well. You should also check out the scenery in the local area too, it is really nice!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night, the staff were friendly and one staff member was very helpful when we decided to go for a little walk, pointing us in the direction of a lovely lake. Steam trains passed very near to the hotel, but these were through the day and were not disturbing. The bathroom needs a little updating, however the room was clean and just what we needed for the night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandancer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I know there were minor faults in the rooms such as lack of towel rails or whatever but the staff here were friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and cosy and it has a nice atmosphere.
The garden is really pleasant, lovely trees and birds.
They serve san miguel in the bar, definitely something to recommend them!
I didn't eat here but did look at the menu and noticed a lack of vegetarian dishes.
Overall good value for money. I would come back here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
143 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
573 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Loughborough Central
Travelodge Loughborough Central
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
693 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#11 of 12 in Loughborough
654 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Cedar Road, Loughborough LE11 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedars Hotel And Restaurant
Cedars Hotel Loughborough
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant Loughborough, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing