We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly adequate”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good value room and comfortable bed. Cleanliness of room was fine but the corridors smelt musty and the hotel was a bit shabby. Creaky floorboards in room above mine meant I was woken at 2 a.m. by people walking about. Overall the hotel obviously needs investment. The welcome at reception on arrival was not particularly friendly, but other staff were pleasant. Breakfast was very disappointing. The Cedars charges the same - £7.50 - for both full English and continental breakfast, while most hotels charge less for the latter. This seems very expensive for a continental breakfast consisting of tasteless coffee out of a general self-dispenser flask; hot, rather than boiling, water for tea, also from a self-dispenser flask; choice of cereal; pain au chocolat in plastic wrappers; and a choice of jams but no marmalade. Some fresh fruit but bananas had all gone by 8.30 a.m. We went elsewhere for our evening meal but other guests commented that the dinner menu was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieN48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    180
    147
    67
    69
See reviews for
113
165
61
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed over for a 3day course at Loughborough Uni. Very decent location. You get easy access to to the city centre and the Staff were very nice. The rooms were decent and the food was amazing. Apart from the limited parking space, everything was on point.

Room Tip: Shower wasn't that powerful. So heads up if you're not into that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in family room visiting with friends. The room was a little outdated and indeed of a revamp the bathroom door and sink taps were very loose and a light was out in the bedroom. You could also hear people walking along the squeaky corridor quite loudly. The most disapointing part was that the room smelled heavily of cigarette smoke even though the hotel is non-smoking. However the room was clean and the beds comfy and I had a good nights sleep.

The cooked breakfast was adequate and the service from the single waitress was good. However when we got to breakfast a large proportion of the tables were still dirty from previous guests and it was a while before all guests could sit down and order. This problem could have been solved if there was at least 1 more waitress/waiter on duty.

Overall it was an average stay for a single night but I would choose something more updated if I were to stay for longer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Good value and quiet hotel. Friendly service, hot breakfast and comfortable room. Could do with a decor update and had to get to the graden through the car park. Room big and comfortable but condensation mold and no toilet roll holder in the shower room. Towels a bit threadbare too.

Room Tip: The family room was big
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Suited me just fine as an overnight stop whilst on business in the area. Service was ok, food was actually quite good and well-priced. The room was comfortable and has everything one needed and it all worked ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maximus26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Overall good and fairly clean hotel. The bathroom needs remodeling badly and the hallway floors make noise so when people walk on it, it woke us up a few times. The quiet location was a big plus on the other hand and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It's a lovely place to stay, room is clean, the surroundings are nice. The staff are friendly as well. The price is fine. Me and my friend are both happy we choose Cedars. But it's a pity that we didn't try the meal, maybe next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bailing W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
144 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
573 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Loughborough Central
Travelodge Loughborough Central
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
695 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#11 of 12 in Loughborough
655 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Cedar Road, Loughborough LE11 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedars Hotel And Restaurant
Cedars Hotel Loughborough
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant Loughborough, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing