We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quorn Country Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked through a Groupon deal staying the weekend of 5th April.
If you're staying here hoping to get massive portions with your meal then you are going to be disappointed.The portions are smallish but the food is good.
However,don't let that put you off staying.The reception check in / check out is excellent, very polite staff and a welcoming atmosphere.The staff can't do enough for you and nothing is too much trouble.You are treated as a 'person' as opposed to a 'guest'
Rooms are an excellent size and well presented.
Breakfast is very good.The food is good and the waitress really works her socks off.
The bar area is spacious and a very relaxed atmosphere.
The grounds are tidy and well kept, with a good size car park.
Special thanks to Paige for excellent service andmaking us feel welcome and to Rebecca and Laura for going the ' extra mile'.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerQuorn, General Manager at Quorn Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your weekend break with us. I have shared your thanks with Paige, Laura, Rebecca and all of the team who were part of your stay. Our guest's experience is very important to us and this has been proven during your time with us. The team & I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
There are newer reviews for Quorn Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Arriving by car and from the road the hotel did not look to fancy, but getting into the parking area the building looked very nice. Warm welcome in reception, shown to the room as there were a number of stairs and rather difficult to find. Smal room looking towards a brik wall, not tonice. Did have a very nice afternoon tea with all sorts of cakes mums. Did dine in the restaurant, good Atmosphaere but only a few guests. Staff very proff, starter and dessert excellent but the meat was not good at all! Good nigth sleep and looking forward to the breakfast in the morning, but a bit disapointed, had to wait long for the cooked and waitres came back , they had forgotten what i ordered, tried wonce more and the plate came with out the ordered bacon !!!!. Not sure if i would stay here next time, a bit over priced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerQuorn, General Manager at Quorn Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of discovering how the hotel's buildings & riverside location literally unfolds once you leave the road. I am delighted that a warm welcome at reception followed a nice afternoon and a great atmosphere during dinner in the Shire's Restaurant. The team work hard to ensure this 4 star experience is delivered to all. It is clear that you felt this was not continued through to breakfast and for this I would like to offer my apologies. I have shared your comments with the breakfast team for review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We got married here in 2010 and I thought I'd finally get round to writing a review. The place is great but they did have a few minor annoyances with little hiccups on things. For example the morning after our wedding they had a power cut (which is fair enough) but we ensured that each of our guests settled up their rooms and got confirmation of this but they did follow up saying some guests hadn't (this follow up was over a year later...).

We went for afternoon tea recently (took the Mrs for the memory of our special day) and again the food was great but they didn't have our booking down. Not a problem as they fitted us in but just little things that caused annoyance.

Overall it's a good hotel, fantastic food and atmosphere and they did good job overall.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senorbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerQuorn, General Manager at Quorn Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and thank you for returning to Quorn Country Hotel as husband & wife. I am pleased that a booking oversight was quickly rectified and your visit was thoroughly enjoyed by you both, with fantastic food & atmosphere. I am delighted that the team did a good job overall & I have shared your review with them all. Please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have eaten here twice now using vouchers for discounted food. The service and food have always been excellent. We eat out at least once a week and I'm hard pressed to think of any better restaurants in terms of food quality we've eaten at in Leicestershire. If it wasn't so far away from us we'd go there a lot more often.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Fozzo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerQuorn, General Manager at Quorn Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive experience. It is clear that you enjoy dining out and have many experiences in which to compare our food & service to, therefore your comments are truly valued by myself & the team. We very much hope you will visit us again when you are next in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We purchased a Groupon for high tea sadly the experience wasn't good enough to warrant a second visit esp. at the full rate. The spread was very small, the scones were like buttons and the cream wasn't clotted it tasted like it was double cream with sugar in - yuk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerQuorn, General Manager at Quorn Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your review which has been shared with the Head Chef. It is clear that our home made scones did not 'hit the mark' due to their size & this has been under review since your visit. I am pleased to confirm that we now serve larger scones and these have been enjoyed by our guests since. The team & I very much hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were brought a groupon tasting menu voucher as a Christmas present and was really surprised by the quality and the amount of food we received. The staff we all friendly and helpful and the service overall was excellent. We found the drinks to be fairly priced for a hotel and even though there was a wedding on this did not cause any issues in the restaurant. We are already looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Faye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerQuorn, General Manager at Quorn Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your review. It was great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your recent visit and I am delighted to learn that you are already looking forward to returning. The team & I very much hope that this will be in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had our wedding here including the ceremony, reception and evening do. We had an amazing time and the while day went without a hitch thanks to the master of ceremonies who was brilliant an made us feel welcome and looked after, he even helped entertain the kids. The hotel was perfect and the bridal suite was excellent. The breakfast was good with a good choice.
We had our perfect wedding day and all the guests commented on how beautiful the hotel and surrounding grounds were. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay or get married here.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kezzad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerQuorn, General Manager at Quorn Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Many congratulations to you both and thank you for finding the time to leave a review. We were delighted to host your special day & I have shared your kind comments with the Master of Ceremonies, Head Chef and the entire team. From day one, the team work hard to ensure this very important day is perfect and I am pleased that you & all of your guests had that perfect day to treasure always. The team & I wish you the very best in your new life together & we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughborough
0.4 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
368 reviews
3.4 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
720 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
168 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
#7 of 12 in Loughborough
577 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quorn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quorn Country Hotel

Address: 66 Leicester Road | Charnwood House, Loughborough LE12 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Loughborough
Price Range: £61 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quorn Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award wining hotel, originally known as Charnwood House, dates back to the time of the Doomsday book. The hotel is created around the original 17th century listed building. The outstanding cuisine, the delightful surroundings and the tranquility of the gardens leading down to the River Soar are appreciated by many of the guests who return time and again for either business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quorn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quorn Country Loughborough
Quorn Country Hotel Loughborough, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing