We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quorn Country Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Called yesterday for afternoon tea.
Any one else going please keep your money in your pocket.
Wine was not served on arrival, had to ask.
The food served up was the worst standard to ever be served to me.
Old dried scones, three of the smallest finger sandwich each, no choice.
A cut up waffle to bulk up the plate presentation, two off horrible short cake biscuits.
Sorry but had to walk out. Picture of food to be on offer for tea was fraud.
Seating area left to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JACKCO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    148
    119
    101
    78
See reviews for
155
245
17
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Recently went for Sunday lunch with my family. The food was lovely with plenty of choice. The service was good and the staff were all nice and friendly. We are all looking forward to going back again soon. Thank you.

Room Tip: Try the chocolate brownie!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_McCristal, Manager at Quorn Country Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience.
The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your day.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I recently came to the Quorn Country Hotel for an afternoon tea. One of the best afternoon tea's I have had. Me and 3 friends came and the service was efficient and the staff were very friendly. There was a big range of cakes and sandwich fillings, and we had to take some home with us as we couldn't finish it all. I would 100% come back to this hotel as i received excellent food, excellent service and had a fantastic afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lisa001Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_McCristal, Manager at Quorn Country Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you your for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Despite having pre booked our stay and receiving confirmation and a reminder the day before, on arrival we were told there was no booking. Your receptionist was adamant there was no booking until I showed her the booking confirmation email I had. On the positive side she offered a reduction of £30 off the rate, as we were attending a wedding at the hotel.

The bars were poorly stocked and one had no lemons for drinks

The aircon wasn't put on until late at night, yet it had been around 28/30C for much of the day.

Breakfast staff were ill-prepared and poorly trained; 30mins to get served, we had to chase for toast and tea despite being informed on arrival for breakfast that some will be round to take your requests, reminder for toast. Our second pot of tea never arrived.

Most of the staff lacked interest in their jobs to the point where they are either rude or careless.

This is a great location in the heart of the Leics countryside. I urge the owners to set changes in motion to improve the hotel ASAP!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desertfox50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_McCristal, Manager at Quorn Country Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. All your comments have been noted and changes have been made where neccessary.
We always look to deliver a high standard of customer service and we aim to ensure it is as it should be in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Loughborough hotels

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked an overnight stay, including evening meal and breakfast to celebrate our friends 60th birthday. The hotel itself and the surroundings were impressive but the service and the food were a real let down. There was a small wedding and a murder mystery also taking place, yet only one person serving behind the bar - as a result we had a long wait for drinks. Our evening meal was booked for 8.30, we waited an hour to order our food, we were served flat beers as they were left to stand on the bar for ages and our main meals did not arrive until 10.30. Whilst the starters were lovely, the mains were dreadful, tough, dry ribeye steak - not cooked as requested, the well done was pink! One of our party did not get their meal as the chef misread the order. The air con in one of the rooms didn't work and to add insult to injury the breakfast appeared to have been per cooked and heated in the microwave, it was swimming in grease and all 8 of us left our food. On leaving we only paid 50% of the bill and suffice to say we won't be returning. It was one of the worst hotels we have experienced and we would not recommend it for any kind of visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_McCristal, Manager at Quorn Country Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
We offer our sincere apologies that on this occasion we did not deliver our usual high standard of service, however all of your comments have been taken on board and the neccessary actions have been taken.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have stayed here twice recently and was disappointed on both occasions. While the hotel and surroundings are very nice there is something wrong behind the scenes, I would say definitely a management issue. Breakfast was so under par I did complain at check out and breakfast staff rushed and not attentive. Evening meal was small but good quality but if you are hungry eat some where else. Rooms lovely bathrooms lovely. Could get this right so easily but at the moment not even average.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chairman1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_McCristal, Manager at Quorn Country Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank for leaving us your feedback. Going forward we will ensure there are sufficent staff to give our guests the service they deserve at Breakfast and In the Evenings.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from Sunday lunch where service was slow and food very basic. The pork was served without stuffing and apple sauce (on asking for apple sauce they hadn't got any!) The chicken also had no stuffing or trimmings. Even at the Groupon price it was very poor value for money. I have had a lot better Sunday roasts and drinks half the price at Pubs.
Very disappointing for a hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_McCristal, Manager at Quorn Country Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologise on this occassion that we did not meet your expectations. Going forward we will ensure a better standard of service and have only quality meals sent to the tables for our guests.
Again thank you for your feedback and we do hope you will return to us again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughborough
0.4 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hunting Lodge
The Hunting Lodge
#8 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.4 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
#1 of 12 in Loughborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quorn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quorn Country Hotel

Property: Quorn Country Hotel
Address: 66 Leicester Road | Charnwood House, Loughborough LE12 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quorn Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award wining hotel, originally known as Charnwood House, dates back to the time of the Doomsday book. The hotel is created around the original 17th century listed building. The outstanding cuisine, the delightful surroundings and the tranquility of the gardens leading down to the River Soar are appreciated by many of the guests who return time and again for either business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quorn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quorn Country Loughborough
Quorn Country Hotel Loughborough, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing