We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest disappointment for a family of Railway Buffs ever!”

Great Central Railway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Biggest disappointment for a family of Railway Buffs ever!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were charged full admittance even though the service during the Half-Term Holiday was drastically reduced and access to platforms and the shops refused because of "filming" and on complaint we were told that the filming gave them much needed income and we should have checked on the website for any curtailments. What about us and the income we gave them? We came all the way from Devon and received a fourth class visit for a first class amount of money. When purchasing the ticket we were not told of the curtailment of services and therefore felt cheated!!! Would you expect Half-Term to be a reduced service with stations virtually closed? After wanting to do this visit for years we wish we had not bothered and stayed in Devon for the Half-Term and travelled on our own lovely steam railwaysinstead.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Angela I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    743
    205
    37
    13
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Walk or ride down memory lane”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Are you into the old days of steam trains. The smell of burning coal and soot. The woosh of steam the steam whistle blowing, the friendly train drivers on the footplate shovelling coal into the boiler. Well this is the place to come. You can ride from Loughborough getting your ticket as you go into the old wooden floored entrance. You can smell the history, and then walk down the large wooden staircase to the platform and you go back in time. Numerous films have used this location for its historical accuracy
Buster (1988)
The Secret Agent (1993)
Shadowlands (1993)
The Navigators (1999)
Enigma (2001)
The Hours (2002)
Cemetery Junction (2010)

Also many TV shows
She's Out (1994)
Woof! (1995)
Goodnight Mr. Tom (1998)
Take a Girl Like You (2000)
The Cazalet Chronicles (2001)
Casualty (2001)
Hawking (2004)
The 4:50 from Paddington (2004)
E=MC2 (2005)
The 39 Steps (2008)
Central Steam (TV Series) (2010)
South Riding (TV miniseries) (2011)
Top Gear (2011)[20]
Heston's Fantastical Food (2012)[21]
Our Story (2013)[22] - To be Screened on ITV in 2014
Great British Railway Journeys (2013) - First Screened on BBC TV in January 2014

The silver service buffet car events during the summer are a must to go on but book early to avoid disappointment. Have a peek at their website here http://www.gcrailway.co.uk

There are also themed events throughout the summer including wartime re enactments if you have children or are a big kid yourself make a day of if. Tea rooms also on the platforms and in loughborough you can even walk around the worksheds and see the ongoing restoration work on locomotives

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WATO1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level 6 Contributor
841 reviews
252 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
“Super 1940's Wartime Event”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I took my wife again as we did last year for the 1940's wartime Event on Friday last knowing that it is for the school children but it does not stop us from enjoying the singers and the military fashion show arranged in the marque in Quorn and Woodhouse station yard. Being a steam buff (I admit) I am lucky enough to enjoy both the event and also the atmosphere of the steam era but am sure everybody can enjoy both the pleasure and especially on the Saturday and Sunday special events.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“forties steam weekend”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Fantastic experience each station was different. home station.allied station and occupied station. actors dressed up as army,navy airforce..plenty of eating and drinking areas....something for everyone

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank franniepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“First Class Day Out”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Where do I start? The friendly staff? The beautifully restored stations and locomotives? Or the fact that the trains are on two tracks so can pass between stations like on a real mainline. It's a great day out. Highly recommend for a day out!

Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Central Railway also viewed

Newtown Linford, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Great Central Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing